Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for horse and art lovers
This book is lovely! Beautiful and often unusual images are combined with truly authoritative writing on both art and horses. Clearly the author knows her subject well and it is fascinating to have the rich relationship between horse and man so intelligently highlighted. Whether your interest is in horses or art, you could not fail to enjoy it. It would make a great...
Published on 28 Nov. 2006 by Drus SW

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Arrived early but damage on cover was more pronounced once the wrapping was off than it was described on website. Still not sure what to do as this was to be a gift
Published 20 months ago by HJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for horse and art lovers, 28 Nov. 2006
By 
Drus SW (England, UK) - See all my reviews
This book is lovely! Beautiful and often unusual images are combined with truly authoritative writing on both art and horses. Clearly the author knows her subject well and it is fascinating to have the rich relationship between horse and man so intelligently highlighted. Whether your interest is in horses or art, you could not fail to enjoy it. It would make a great Christmas present too (though I could not wait that long!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beauty!, 22 Nov. 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A coffee table treasure of a book on horses through the ages, from every artistic perspective. The author has put together a fabulous array of pictures, in full colour and at good size with just the right amount of information about each work's background. But it's the pictures that are the real stars and rightly so. 5 stars indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 4 Jan. 2008
This is such a beautiful book and a fabulous present not only for art lovers, but for anyone who loves horses. It's well written, easy to read and filled with lavish illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL BUT......., 28 Jan. 2009
By 
M. lyle (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Beautifully produced, a pleasure to own but some of the technical commentary on aspects of the history of the horse are woefully inaccurate. Some very basic inaccuracies need to be corrected and when I have time I will submit a commentary to the author.

However it is a pleasure to own and to compare the artistic commentaries with other authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horse and Art, 7 Oct. 2008
By 
C. L. Adams (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having been impreseed with Ms Pickeral's Horse Lover's Bible in respect of Horse Care and Management I purchased this book for my partner as a gift purely on the basis of Amazon Links of the Author. Ms Pickeral certainly knows her Horses and Art and it is a fantastic book to relax with. It is one friends seem to be drawn too on the coffee table so am now going to order the Dog in Art book that has just been released to see if it as good and provides as much enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For horse and art lovers..., 3 Sept. 2014
By 
Deidre Carson (Suffolk , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Horse: 30,000 Years of the Horse in Art (Paperback)
This is THE most delightful book... I bought two copies- one as a gift and the other for myself. Perfect for sitting by the bed, by the loo or on the coffee table. The image quality is excellent and the snippets of information about each picture and its subject(s) make it easy to pick up and put down as and when you get the chance but feel as though you have learnt something new and interesting.
Great price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book. Great for a coffee table or just for reference., 21 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Horse: 30,000 Years of the Horse in Art (Paperback)
Includes hundreds of fabulous prints. Goes through many well known and some lesser known paintings with horses in which narrate history. Very visual, but also informative with a lot of useful information. A must for any educated household. Also makes a great present!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 20 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Horse: 30,000 Years of the Horse in Art (Paperback)
I am a history of art student and needed books on horses in art for my dissertation, this is a perfect book to be used for studies but would also really interest any horse lover. Really really lovely book, huge pictures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 9 Aug. 2014
By 
Suzanne (Varese, Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Horse: 30,000 Years of the Horse in Art (Paperback)
This is quite a beautiful book, and just what I was looking for, as I wanted inspiration for a mosaic of a horse I'm planning. Many of the art works pictured in the book are ones I was unfamiliar with previously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a wonderful overview of the very best of equestrian art over the last 30,000 years. The large format enhances the superb reproductions and the accompanying text is informative and erudite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Horse: 30,000 Years of the Horse in Art
The Horse: 30,000 Years of the Horse in Art by Tamsin Pickeral (Paperback - 1 Oct. 2009)
£15.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews