Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true delight.
Sumptuous, clever, gorgeous. This book is everything it says it attempts to be.

So many "inspirational" garden books disappoint as soon as you open them, blighted by too many words and the ego of the author on a subject which was ever, and will always be, subjective.

In this book, Andrew Lawson's beautiful and evocative photos pack the pages. A...
Published on 11 Feb. 2009 by Garden Bird

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Same old, same old
Dream Gardens is a book that appeals to people that only like cottage gardens, there is absolutely no variety and each page you turn looks like you are still in the same garden.
The title of the book should be changed to 'dream cottage gardens' so people know exactly what they're getting before they buy!
Published on 11 Mar. 2013 by Andrea richter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true delight., 11 Feb. 2009
By 
Garden Bird (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
Sumptuous, clever, gorgeous. This book is everything it says it attempts to be.

So many "inspirational" garden books disappoint as soon as you open them, blighted by too many words and the ego of the author on a subject which was ever, and will always be, subjective.

In this book, Andrew Lawson's beautiful and evocative photos pack the pages. A multitude of garden styles are captured at their very best by someone who very clearly knows their plants, and fully comprehends the context.

I believe this is Tania Compton's first book, but her contribution is wonderful. Almost understated, she gives concise descriptions of exactly the information you want to hear - a little historical background, especially the ethos of the garden owners; precise details of relevant planting.

Few garden books manage to convey mood so well.

As a source book, this truly achieves what it sets out to do... And it's just a pure joy to pore over.

I'd recommend it to garden lovers and designers everywhere, and I look forward to the authors' next collaboration.

I know for years to come I will treasure this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You should buy this book because..., 8 Feb. 2010
By 
Anita Tovell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a wonderful book. It will appeal to you because:

1 The photographs are superb
2 It will give you great ideas on how to photograph your garden
3 Even with a small garden this book gives you ideas
4 When there is snow and ice on the ground you can curl up in front of the fire with this book and dream of gardens.

Once I bought this book I had to look for other books with photos by Andrew Lawson.

But beware - once you are used to the photos in this book it ruins you for the photos in most garden books .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what is says on the tin, if you want to pore over photos rather than read then this is the one, 22 Feb. 2010
By 
T. Vaughan (Rutland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dream Gardens: 100 Inspirational Gardens (Paperback)
Photos galore of 100 inspirational dream gardens. Easy to dip into, lots of great photography of plants, ornament, and planting styles. The only text is a brief description of each garden and it's design, I'm sure if you wanted to know more you could research a particular garden, but this is great for just poring over the pictures. Deducted one star because I wish it had a hard cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly northern european, 6 Dec. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dream Gardens: 100 Inspirational Gardens (Paperback)
A beautifully presented book with informative text and fantastic photographs. A real source of inspiration and a good base from which to explore the ideas of the garden designers shown.

However - I bought this as it was described as showing 'gardens from around the world' and was disappointed that with a (very) few exceptions the gardens are all northern European. If you are looking for inspiration for, say, a mediterranean garden, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Same old, same old, 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dream Gardens: 100 Inspirational Gardens (Paperback)
Dream Gardens is a book that appeals to people that only like cottage gardens, there is absolutely no variety and each page you turn looks like you are still in the same garden.
The title of the book should be changed to 'dream cottage gardens' so people know exactly what they're getting before they buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 12 May 2010
One of the best illustrated/coffee table garden books on the market at the moment. Great photography, stunning gardens, beautiful production. The perfect gift for any serious gardener in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Inspirational Book, 20 May 2011
This review is from: Dream Gardens: 100 Inspirational Gardens (Paperback)
I purchased this book for my boyfriend, he loves it. And I have been reading it constantly too. The gardens in this book are beautiful. And I love the way it has been divided into different seasons.
Really wish I had spent a bit extra and bought it in hardback though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful. Great book. Excellent value., 23 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A superb book. Great value. Excellent photography and a wonderful amount of images to inspire and provide reference. Does not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dream Gardens: 100 Inspirational Gardens (Paperback)
I love this book and have glamps through it many times. I always discover something new. Fantastic pictures and not to many written words. Wish you have more books like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super photos, 20 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dream Gardens: 100 Inspirational Gardens (Paperback)
If you love creating or visiting gardens, then you will enjoy this book as it contains many superb photographs of inspirational gardens throughout England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dream Gardens: 100 Inspirational Gardens
Dream Gardens: 100 Inspirational Gardens by Andrew Lawson (Paperback - 23 Feb. 2009)
£16.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews