Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable history of the BBC in pictures ( by Shibley Rahman ), 1 Nov 2010
By 
Dr, Shibley Rahman "Academic" (Primrose Hill, London.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Story of Broadcasting House: Home of the BBC (Hardcover)
This is a fascinating photographic history of the BBC in recent years. I feel that the BBC generates so much goodwill because of its iconic symbols, and certainly the photos presented here by the BBC are distinguished and instinctive, representing a badge of honour. I would strongly recommend this book for anyone interested in this subject, even as casual coffee table reading. I strongly recommend it.

Dr Shibley Rahman from North London (relevance: I go past this building on the front cover in a cab almost everyday!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful volume on an iconic landmark!, 23 July 2009
By 
J. Braun "TopWebGuy" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Story of Broadcasting House: Home of the BBC (Hardcover)
In many ways, broadcasting was invented inside these walls. This book traces the history of Broadcasting House, Portland Place, London, through its planning and construction. And then, through its beautiful restoration in 2005-2007. Fascinating photos from the BBC archive and beautiful contemporary photos of the building post-refurb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The BBC story, 2 Feb 2013
By 
BeeJay "BJ" (Peterborough, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of Broadcasting House: Home of the BBC (Hardcover)
The BBC is a key part of UK life. Unbiased and descriptive this book brought the foundations up to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOOKS BRAND SPANKING NEW, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of Broadcasting House: Home of the BBC (Hardcover)
Bought this book as "used", but it honestly looks brand spanking new - not a mark or blemish!

- it's a wonderful book on the history of Broadcasting House; very detailed and with loads of high quality b&w and colour photos.

The seller is spot on - rapid dispatch - well packaged and a terrific price for such an immaculate copy.

I highly recommend this book and the seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of Broadcasting House: Home of the BBC (Hardcover)
Bought this as a present for someone who's father was in the BBC during the development of TV and outside broadcasting. Very pleased with the reaction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE ULTIMATE VOLUME FOR SWITCHED ON LOVERS OF THE BBC - An absolute classic, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of Broadcasting House: Home of the BBC (Hardcover)
I there are other BBC maniacs like me around, all I would say is 'get this volume now - you owe it to yoursefl!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For anyone who has ever worked for the BBC., 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of Broadcasting House: Home of the BBC (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book. Full of amazing history and photos of the early days of radio broadcasting. A nostalgia trip for all ex BBC staff and probably and insight for the new ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He loved it!, 13 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Story of Broadcasting House: Home of the BBC (Hardcover)
My son is a news director at Wisconsin Public Radio and I gave him the book for his 50th birthday. He loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Grand Old Lady of Regent Street, 8 Oct 2008
This review is from: The Story of Broadcasting House: Home of the BBC (Hardcover)
Great story, great illustrations, and a great time had by all at Broadcasting House when they showed the film this week!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Story of Broadcasting House: Home of the BBC
The Story of Broadcasting House: Home of the BBC by Mark Hines (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2008)
Used & New from: £4.43
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews