Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent starting point for enthusiasts, 30 Oct 2006
By 
Steve (London, UK) - See all my reviews
The British we're never as receptive to Modernist architecture as many of our continental neighbours and the U.S., and the movement was largely ignored through the 1920s. Perhaps this explains why it can be quite difficult for an enthusiast like me to find a decent book on the subject, but this one does not disappoint. There is brief coverage of the history of the movement but the bulk of the book concentrates on selected buildings throughout the country, including work by such luminaries as Walter Gropius, Marcel Breur, Berthold Lubetkin and Wells Coates.

Perhaps the most interesting aspect of the book comes not in the coverage of these well-known modernists, and famous buildings such as Highpoint and the Lawn Rd flats, but in the relatively unknown architectural gems it uncovers (including many private residences) and the lesser-known British architects and practices of the era.

There is also an excellent selection of photos for each building, most commissioned expecially.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medieval Modernism, 11 Oct 2007
By 
Robin Benson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
What really made this book sparkle for me were the wonderful contemporary photos of the houses by Morley von Sternberg. The (mostly) dazzling white of so many of these properties set against greenery and a blue sky makes them look quite remarkable.

Throughout the book the up-to-date photos seamlessly blend in with period images, floor plans and Alan Powers excellent text. His introduction is a concise overview of 1930 to 1940 Modernism in Britain and then the bulk of the book is a comprehensive listing of the architects who designed these fascinating buildings. The majority are homes with commercial and public buildings making up the total. Each architect, or practice, has some general text then long captions to each of their buildings. Nicely, someone had the bright idea of putting all the historic reference notes about each house with the relevant architect so no flipping backwards and forwards to back pages.

Not every existing Modern building in Britain is covered but surely the relevant ones are included here. Buildings no longer standing get a mention like Pleydell-Bouverie's wing shaped Ramsgate aerodrome or Emberton's Blackpool Fun House. Another book: 'The Modern House Today' (ISBN 1901033724) by Nick Dawe and Kenneth Powell has much photo duplication with Powers book but has some other homes displayed with the same dazzling style photography.

'Modern' is well printed (175dpi) with Karen Wilks doing a beautiful design job and with Alan Powers fine text the short-lived Modern movement in Britain gets a reference book it deserves.

***FOR AN INSIDE LOOK click 'customer images' under the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful introduction to Modernism in Britain, 30 Mar 2010
By 
A customer (Asturias) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern: The Modern Movement in Britain (Paperback)
This is not a complete guide of all the Modernist buildings in Britain but an introduction to the concept of the Modern movement and has a collection of over 40 significant buildings and their stories.

The book is printed in high quality paper with very good BW and colour pictures.

There is an extensive reference guide in the back of the book for further reading.

It contains many blue prints and photographs of building that might be helpful to people involved in restoration and extension projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully illustrated, 30 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Modern: The Modern Movement in Britain (Paperback)
I'm a general reader, not completely au fait with architectural terms, and in the past have found books on architecture somewhat impenetrable.
But not this one. The photographs are stunningly beautiful and, as other reviewers have remarked, it is fascinating to see so many private houses covered as well as famous large scale projects.
This had me sighing over desirable properties ... and googling estate agents/holiday lets that specialise in Modern homes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beutiful, 30 Mar 2010
By 
Jon 1980 (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Modern: The Modern Movement in Britain (Paperback)
This is an extremely well written book with wonderful illustrations. I think the thing I like most about this book is the fact that so many domestic properties that you wouldn't otherwise get to see are photographed here in considerable detail. A brilliant achievement and highly enjoyable read. One slight criticism is that the book was very south-east centric; partly a function of where modern movement biuldings were constructed, but also I think for want of looking becuase modern movement biuldings can be found all-over the uk. I hope the authors consider writing a second volume on the post-war expansion of british modernism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Modern Movement, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern: The Modern Movement in Britain (Paperback)
This book Is a great entry level to the modern movement in Britain
and a gateway to further reading fantanstic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good-lots of buildings I haven't seen before, 18 April 2013
By 
ROBERT Timms (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good ,but I am a boring old architect and need full plans ,sections,elevations etc for every building.Suprising how boring alot of early modern was.Integration with the outside was generally poor.Don't know what to make of the Gwynne house.Modern Houses (ie recently built) are so much better.Meier anyone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Modern: The Modern Movement in Britain
Modern: The Modern Movement in Britain by Morley Von Sternberg (Paperback - 16 Aug 2007)
£12.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews