Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can "history" really be this interesting? Hooray!
You'll be fascinated to hear what Scots people have been up to all this time! This is a GORGEOUSLY illustrated and funny book. A real treat and a great way to get your children involved in history without realising it! I reccommend it to anyone - Scots or not.
Published on 7 Feb 2000

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not well done
The book doesn't feel good and the story and all are told in a not-engaging way.
Sometimes it is a caricature, sometimes a school book of little interest.
Wouldn't buy it again
Published on 8 Oct 2012 by Sisi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can "history" really be this interesting? Hooray!, 7 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Story Of Scotland (Paperback)
You'll be fascinated to hear what Scots people have been up to all this time! This is a GORGEOUSLY illustrated and funny book. A real treat and a great way to get your children involved in history without realising it! I reccommend it to anyone - Scots or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A humorous look at Scottish history.......from Richard Brassey and Stewart Ross., 13 Dec 2006
This review is from: The Story Of Scotland (Paperback)
1999 Hardcover/Orion Children's Books/TED SMART (The Book People) edition.

From the back cover:

'As fascinating as it is fun to read, here is all of Scotland's exciting and eventful past captured in one colourful, concise and comic volume.
From the Ice Age to the Romans and from Robert the Bruce to Mary Queen of Scots, every page is packed with famous Scottish characters and incidents, and even the Loch Ness Monster makes an appearance.'

Durable board covers open to 33 high quality pages written in a child-appealing way, aimed to make history much more fun.

Colourful illustrations and cartoons throughout, interspersed with 'Top Scot' summary boxes, e.g.:

'Sir William Wallace (1270-1305)
Perhaps Scotland's greatest hero - even though he was eventually defeated after the Battle of Stirling Bridge.
He was captured by the English in 1305 and taken to London where he was hanged, drawn and quartered.'

and bite-size 'Fact boxes', e.g.:

'EDINBURGH
ROYAL MILE
The 17th century writer Daniel Defoe called it `the largest, longest and finest street...in the world'.

Inside cover pages have 2-page spread maps:

one of 'The Lowlands', at the front
&
one of 'The Highlands and Islands' bringing this super book to a close.

The last piece of text, before the one page concise index:

'........No people are prouder of their native land than the Scots, wherever they may live.
In 1997, the London Government finally realised this and asked the Scots whether they wanted their parliament back.
The answer: a resounding.......
'AYE'!.....'

Other titles in the series currently include IRELAND & LONDON
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Introduction to Scottish history, 27 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Story Of Scotland (Paperback)
I was looking for a book that the kids (5 &7) could read and/ or leaf through while on holiday in scotland. It worked very well: they enjoyed it and we all learnt a few basics on Scottish history in a fun way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars History Made Simple, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story Of Scotland (Paperback)
Book is interesting great illustrations , explained easily both for Adults and Children. Great for children to take with them to school gives access to info quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the kids, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story Of Scotland (Paperback)
A fantastic book for the kids to begin to introduce them to Scottish History. It's full of interesting information they'll love and hopefully remember before heading to school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Know nothing of Scottish History?, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story Of Scotland (Paperback)
Actually purchased this for my partner who is English and who was going on holiday to Scotland but knew nothing of its history. She loved it, saying it was enjoyable to read, but was not too stuffy or boring like reading a text book. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy-to-read basic history!, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story Of Scotland (Paperback)
Just before travelling to Scotland, I wanted to get some background info. For anyone who has tried to decipher Scottish history and all of the clans and rivalries and comings and goings, this book was really a great simple way to get the basics. I had also bought several detailed books to read prior to my trip, but reading The Story of Scotland first just pulled all of the names and places together in one cohesive version that worked out perfectly for me, so in reading the other books, it was more of an aha! than a Who-on-earth-is-this-again? (since so many of the more recent characters have multiple titles and, hence, multiple names).
Of course, I am a timeline-friendly type of gal.
And, on the plus side, my 10-year-old son picked it up and read through it, too!
Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book to give a general view of Scottish history, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story Of Scotland (Paperback)
I sent this book to my grandchildren in New Zealand so that they could learn a bit about Scottish history. Its great for giving an overall knowledge of where and what happened at different times in our history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gift, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of Scotland (Hardcover)
bought as a gift for a friend in america, shes never been to scotland and this is a quick way of her learning about our history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book story of scotland, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story Of Scotland (Paperback)
I bought this for my granson who lives in Wolverhampton, and is doing a project at primary school on the history
of Scotland, and he has researched a lot of information from this book, excellent value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Story Of Scotland
The Story Of Scotland by Richard Brassey (Paperback - 4 Feb 1999)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews