Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful update
Having dug out my old Rough Guide to the Greek Islands I realised it was time to get hold of the updated version ahead of our forthcoming family holiday. I am so pleased I did as these books just get better and better. The descriptions are so informative and the photo's are stunning. We cannot wait to go now having read all about where we are staying, where we are...
Published on 24 May 2012 by keith319

versus
30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing addition to the Rough Guide series
Having just returned from 2 weeks in the Cyclades we realised after our second island hop that the Rough Guide to the Greek Island was out of touch with our wants and needs. The guide appears to be suited to the impoverished backpacker who would rather be discovering untrodden paths in a far flung part of the Indonesian archipelago rather than in a well developed EU...
Published on 2 Jun 2000 by rkmmorris@hotmail.com


Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing addition to the Rough Guide series, 2 Jun 2000
Having just returned from 2 weeks in the Cyclades we realised after our second island hop that the Rough Guide to the Greek Island was out of touch with our wants and needs. The guide appears to be suited to the impoverished backpacker who would rather be discovering untrodden paths in a far flung part of the Indonesian archipelago rather than in a well developed EU member state. The authors were either not allowed to sample good food or accomodation, or were just in a rush to get something on the book shelves ahead of Lonely Planet. We tried several of the recommended restaurants and found them to be no more than average, the good hotels gave little to no detail apart from price. The places recommended to visit appeared to be based upon how untouched by tourism they were rather than on their beauty or interest. Frequently the most beautiful parts of the island were dismissed as 'best be avoided in season' by the authors in a manner that would suggest visitors to England would be best to avoid Bath, Oxford and Cambridge and seek out unspoilt towns such as Rochdale, Rotherham and Huddersfield which are less affected by crowds. Overall, this is the most disappointing of the Rough Guides I have sampled and 'best to be avoided'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Outdated Kindle Version, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is very disappointing as there are only a few very basic maps- no town maps at all.The info is very out of date. We have a paperback copy of the Rough Guide to the Dodocanese but didn't want to take the weight of it backpacking round the Greek Islands. We thought this would be a more up to date version too(although we only bought the paperback at the end of 2010 it's dated 2005)but it isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful update, 24 May 2012
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Greek Islands (Rough Guide Travel Guides) (Paperback)
Having dug out my old Rough Guide to the Greek Islands I realised it was time to get hold of the updated version ahead of our forthcoming family holiday. I am so pleased I did as these books just get better and better. The descriptions are so informative and the photo's are stunning. We cannot wait to go now having read all about where we are staying, where we are planning to go on day trips and where we intend to chill out over dinner each night. I really can't imagine going on a trip without one of these trusted guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but a bit superficial, 11 Oct 2009
By 
H. K. Watson "Woof !" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Greek Islands (Rough Guide Travel Guides) (Paperback)
Not really enough detail on each island. Better than the "whole-of-Greece" books though I would like to see a section on Athens added. Even though Athens is not an island (obviously) almost everyone has to pass through it to get to the islands at some point so a short section would be a useful addition.

Woof !
Xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best!, 31 Dec 2000
By 
kingswick2000@btinternet.com (Cambridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I find it remarkable that anyone would find this guide a dud. For me it is quite simply the best guide you can get. Best because it is full of pertinent, relevant and accurate information. And it is written by people who KNOW the islands. Space dictates brevity, and l would like to see a second version published - alongside this one - full of expounded text and masses of exquisite colour plates: like a full-size Eyewitness guide. The Greek islands are not just physical inorganic entities but four dimensional experiences. From the ravishing wind and surf of the impossibly beautiful and romantic Aegean, to the noisy ferries that ply the islands, The Rough guide graps at Zephrs to bring us a Meltimi of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ., 4 July 2006
Good general information on the Greek Islands. I own a few of the rough guides and have always found them very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rough Guide to Greek Islands (Rough Guide Travel Guides)
The Rough Guide to Greek Islands (Rough Guide Travel Guides) by Natania Jansz (Paperback - 1 Jun 2009)
Used & New from: £0.10
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews