Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rough guide to The Caribbean
In common with most other Rough Guides, this one gives the reader an introduction to each country, with an overview of each island's history, geography, weather, transport etc., as well as a few 'must do's for each one. This guide covers the whole of the Windward and Leeward Islands chain, together with such places as Puerto Rico, Cuba, The Bahamas.

The bigger,...
Published on 2 Oct 2010 by T. Wilyman

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Overview
I bought the Lonely Planet equivalent at the same time; and the L.P. guide is better, overall. It`s well laid out.
Published 7 months ago by Borritt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rough guide to The Caribbean, 2 Oct 2010
By 
T. Wilyman (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rough Guide to the Caribbean (Paperback)
In common with most other Rough Guides, this one gives the reader an introduction to each country, with an overview of each island's history, geography, weather, transport etc., as well as a few 'must do's for each one. This guide covers the whole of the Windward and Leeward Islands chain, together with such places as Puerto Rico, Cuba, The Bahamas.

The bigger, more popular islands get more space than the smaller ones obviously, but some more detail on 'how to get there' would have been useful for the smaller islands, for example which airlines serve them, where to get ferries or connecting flights from, etc.

There are reviews on hotels, restaurants and attractions, with plenty of phone numbers and web addresses included.

As in other Rough Guides, there are few photographs, with the emphasis being on facts and figures and maps.

The Rough Guide to the Caribbean will help the reader to choose his destination, and give useful links to sources of additional information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2008 But Still Relevant, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to the Caribbean (Paperback)
A great book for anybody thinking off or about to set off on their first trip around the Caribbean. It will give you plenty of ideas for things to see and places to go all with a good dose of local insight to make getting around that little bit easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good copy, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to the Caribbean (Paperback)
Very good price for a used copy in almost new condition. Not the latest version but the caribbean doesn't change that much and it gives you a good reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You just can't go without it!, 31 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to the Caribbean (Paperback)
I buy one Rough Guide each time I travel to a different city and I absolutely love it! I used to buy American Express and Lonely Planet and I like better Rough Guide. The guide has wonderful descriptions of the sites/cities, timetable and prices for museums, fabulous tips/info and schemes of the main sites with precious notes. It's a fact that doesn't have many photos, but you won't need it! Once you're there you can have your own photos! And if you have doubts about the place, have a look on line! The descriptions and tips will compensate all of that! Also it's a light book compared with American Express
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST HAVE, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to the Caribbean (Paperback)
I am always really impressed by the 'rough guides' much more so than lonely planet, if its available from both i always choose rough guide! This was a great book, i have visited Trinidad and tobago previously using this and the dedicated book to t&t and i could not fault it, the precautions were perfect and we did not encounter any trouble at all. We found it a fab guide to carnival and all the preceding fetes etc, as well as places of interest such as pigeon point, pitch lake, the rainforest and swamp trips. We packed in a great deal that we would not have known about if it hadn't been for the books.
Most recently we used this book to visit Barbados for our honeymoon, the island is a stark contrast to T&T and this book covered it extremely well, all the main attractions and 'don't misses' are in here, like the Oistins fish fry on a friday night etc. the book is very well laid out and you can't go wrong if you buy it, particularly if you are planning on visiting many islands or are doing a cruise with day stop off points, it will definitely help you plan to make the most of however long you have on the islands.

Rough guides really are the best and this does not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Overview, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to the Caribbean (Paperback)
I bought the Lonely Planet equivalent at the same time; and the L.P. guide is better, overall. It`s well laid out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rough Guide to the Caribbean
The Rough Guide to the Caribbean by Rough Guides (Paperback - 3 Nov 2008)
11.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews