Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad
Bought this before a trip hoping that it would be a useful guide to the country and the main cities that I wished to visit.

Main problem with it that I found was that it failed to mention the city train routes (So in another words, it will point out the main sites in a city but no clear indication of how to get there something that rough guide books generally...
Published on 8 Dec 2008 by Gogol

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate but not impressive
This is standard Rough Guide fare, with all the features you would expect; basic information, followed by a place-by-place guide to things to see and do, plus accommodation, food and entertainment options, with a `contexts' section at the back giving more detailed historical and cultural information. There's also a language section.

There are colour photos...
Published on 6 April 2009 by BookWorm


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad, 8 Dec 2008
By 
Gogol (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this before a trip hoping that it would be a useful guide to the country and the main cities that I wished to visit.

Main problem with it that I found was that it failed to mention the city train routes (So in another words, it will point out the main sites in a city but no clear indication of how to get there something that rough guide books generally do (I have a rough guide to Turkey that does tell you which bus stop/train to take to get from one tourist site to the other))

A positive like all rough guide books is that it is sensitive to the country it covers and gives you all the info you really need to have an enjoyable holiday visiting the main cultural sites. It has the usual history language guide etc.

Recommended, however not as good as some of the other rough guide books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate but not impressive, 6 April 2009
By 
BookWorm "BookWorm" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is standard Rough Guide fare, with all the features you would expect; basic information, followed by a place-by-place guide to things to see and do, plus accommodation, food and entertainment options, with a `contexts' section at the back giving more detailed historical and cultural information. There's also a language section.

There are colour photos only at the front in the highlights section, the rest are black and white. I was also disappointed with the lack of detail in some of the travel information - considering Rough Guides are supposed to be aimed at independent travellers, they could do with including a bit more. There is no section for solo travellers at all.

Luxembourg is given scant coverage, with major monuments in Luxembourg City, such as the War Memorial, not even mentioned. This is frustrating given that Rough Guide do not provide any other more in depth guides to the country, so you would hope they'd make sure this one was more comprehensive. Some of the information is also inaccurate, such as the room numberings in the section on Brussels' Museum of Fine Arts. The maps aren't always easy to read and need more landmark information to help the traveller on the ground navigate. Some of the street names didn't seem to match up either.

It's just about small enough to fit in a handbag, but not a pocket. I found it intermittently useful although I disagreed with the author over a lot of the recommendations and comments on sites. However overall I wasn't that impressed, for saying this is a guide for an increasingly popular destination (with rising numbers of travellers looking for lower-carbon, lower-cost breaks), by one of the big players in the Guide book market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An accurate and revealing guide., 24 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Belgium and Luxembourg: The Rough Guide (Rough Guide Travel Guides) (Paperback)
A well-written and often humourous guide which helped us discover a side to an area so often overlooked. The information was precise, and in my opinion very well researched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It is convenient to carry of course and pretty useful for reference and good to read, 5 July 2014
By 
T. Ogden (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first time that I have bought a Kindle edition of a Rough Guide or any other guidebook. It is convenient to carry of course and pretty useful for reference and good to read. The big downside on my Kindle Paperwhite is that the maps have too low a resolution to be very useful - for example the numbers showing restaurant locations on the maps are illegible on the Kindle and my laptop. However, using the Kindle app to read on my smartphone overcomes this, and I expect the same would be true for tablets or other touchscreen devices.
As to its usefulness as a guidebook, I would give it five stars. As usual with Rough Guides, it has everything I need in a general guidebook, although for art and architecture I also like to have the Blue Guide if available. I find Rough Guides match my requirements better than Lonely Planets, but that must be largely a matter of what information you want and how easy you find the books to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As useful and reliable as always!, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always go for Rough Guides wherever in the world I'm travelling and once again, it was a great choice. I was especially impressed with the section on Art Nouveau architecture in Brussels. The Contexts part is as informative and interesting as ever and the practical info is up to date (apart from prices, which seem to be going up all the time - but the guide book serves as a rough guide where the prices are concerned :)).
All in all - recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good recommendations., 24 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My sister's lived in Brussels for about 15 years so I've visited quite a bit but went there on holiday recently with this guide book, and to a few other parts of Belgium and it came in very handy, lots of good recommendations and suggestions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for history, bad for practicality, 4 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Belgium and Luxembourg: The Rough Guide (Rough Guide Travel Guides) (Paperback)
As with other rough guides, this has no colour maps nor does it have the maps in one section. You constantly have to cross reference between sections.
for example: you've just been to see X and now you want to find somewhere to eat
No fold out maps either.
One of the places we went to had closed (permanently) and another had such poor directions that we could not find it.
however:
It does have good historical information and general information about culture, society and so on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 14 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bit vague in places, could have done with a bit more detail. Some surprising omissions re WWi sites etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Belgium and Luxembourg: The Rough Guide (Rough Guide Travel Guides)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews