Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars8
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2009
This book presents a comprehensive review of the science, the social and environmental issues and the debates surrounding climate change, as well as reviewing various proposed ways of addressing the issues. The book is very accessible and well structured. It also deals with the common sceptical arguments thoroughly. The media tend to deal with issues such as climate change by presenting the case for and the case against as though they had equal backing, even where this is clearly not the case. This book provides a thorough review of the overwhelming scientific concensus that climate change is happening and of its causes. It leaves you with little doubt that the planet is warming and that this is caused by human activities. My only criticism would be that, after having clearly set out the enormity of the challenge facing humanity, the chapter about what we could do personally felt a little flimsy and left me feeling that global action is highly unlikely to be swift and far-reaching enough to address the problem.
22 comments7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2009
This book was my big summer read and I'm a great fan of it. Particularly good if you want to know the state of the science on climate change (second edition published January 2008), whether it's studies on why air travel is so damaging, to the massive upwards uncertainties about how fast the Arctic is melting and how high sea levels could rise. I work on some aspects of climate change but needed a much broader overview - this book has given it to me in an accessible way. The tone is balanced rather than polemical and packed full of information. The visuals and the writing style are great and break it down into bite-sized chunks. It shows you how big the challenge is, and it also takes you clearly through the steps that governments and economies will need to make, and the climate reasons why the timetable is tough. The steps on individual action are not really the focus of this book but are very practical.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
I bought this book as i have just finished my a levels and am interested in studying a related subject at uni. The book is small enough to carry round in your bag and really interesting, it is split into approachable sections and has good font size with the right amount of pictures. It provides a level of info that anyone could read but covers much more than the basics. The narritive is easy to read and various case studies put the science into great context. I would definately recommend it. Though it appears quite a small book i have spent many hours reading it and am only about halfway through, it is definately great value for money giving you a detailed overview of the different aspects of climate change whilst also providing other sources such as book titles that you could explore if you wanted more detail on a subject.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2012
The book is a "must" for everyone who want to know more about climate change (reasons and consequences). You can find plenty of useful facts. Author used the latest scientific results and described latest developments in this field (pro, contra, lobbyist groups). At the same time style used is easy to read and understand.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2012
This book is packed full of information on the topic of climate change.
It leads one gently from the basics to a more in-depth coverage of the subject.
Yet, Robert Henson holds ones interest throughout his intriguing work.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2011
I'm a big fan of the Rough Guide reference series and already own a fair few (which are great), but this one stands out amounts them.

Robert Henson has done fantastic job, he covers almost all of the issues related to climate change from science to politics and unlike the name suggest it is hardly a rough guide and goes into quite a lot of detail.

If you are interested in CC I strongly recommend this book. The Rough Guide to the Energy Crisis is a good follow up/complementary read. I'm off to buy the Rough Guide to Weather.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2012
The title of this book is misleading: it should read Global Warming, because this is what the author promotes in an unambiguous fashion. He says it is the biggest issue facing Mankind, but I think there are many more pressing problems (poverty, inequality, economic depression, war and terrorism, for example). He follows the dubious advice of the various IPCC reports, but is honest enough to admit their well-known failings. Most serious of all, it is the computer models of world climate which have been criticized for their inbuilt bias and neglect of the very large effects of water vapour and aerosols (or clouds). It is these models which are at the very heart of the poor science used by Henson and the IPCC and others to justify absurd and regressive carbon taxes which will affect energy prices if they are allowed to proceed unchecked. The same or similar computer models are used for weather forecasting and we all know how unreliable they can be. Moreover, misuse of computer models lie at the heart of the ongoing financial crisis for their abuse in derivatives trading and elsewhere in the economy. The Chinese revolution is based on cheap coal, and the warmists allege that C02 is the culprit in warming the planet. The theory is quite unproven and based on a string of unverified assumptions, such as the alleged long residence time of about 100 years of the gas in the atmosphere, and the rates of production of the gas from natural and artificial sources. Other climatologists (Carter for example) argue a much shorter residence time, as one might expect since the gas is very water soluble and washed from the air very quickly. It is a greenhouse gas but much less important than water vapour, as any infra-red spectrum of air shows. On flimsy evidence, the warmists propose a drastic reduction in fossil fuel usage using carbon taxes as the preferred mechanism, despite the fact that there is no worldwide agreement. The largest countries are against it, including his own country the USA as well as most developing countries. Instead he suggest renewable energy, but they are very expensive and produce very costly power. Thus wind power is so costly that it needs vast subsidies to survive at all and is dependent on the wind blowing at specific speeds. The reader should seek help elsewhere such as in the books by Plimer Heaven and Earth: Global Warming, the Missing Science and Carter Climate: the Counter-consensus (Independent Minds) if he or she wants a balanced view of climate change.
1515 comments0 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2009
I never realised that the subject of climate change could be so boring. The first half of the book is fact after fact after fact. It does pick up a bit in the second half, but like many proposals to deal with global warming, it was too little, too late.

This book is clearly targeted at a British and American audience which is probably why every measurement is annoyingly given in both metric and imperial units
0Comment1 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Goldman Sachs on how businesses can help address climate change.
  -  
Check Out the Rough Guides eBooks Find the Best Places to Travel!