Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Usual Rough Guide strengths
We often buy the Rough Guides if we're going to a new country, because they provide an awful lot of information across a range of subjects and are always well written and easy to navigate. This is no exception; it highlights the must sees, and gives very useful travel, language and food information. It's excellent background reading before you go and should prove useful...
Published on 23 May 2009 by Paul Gothorp

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good tips, but needs updating
Some of the information was useful, however I think that a lot of the information provided is outdated and needs updating. Useful, but not to be relied on!
Published 15 months ago by Ms. A. Lyons


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Usual Rough Guide strengths, 23 May 2009
By 
Paul Gothorp (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Bulgaria (Rough Guide Travel Guides) (Paperback)
We often buy the Rough Guides if we're going to a new country, because they provide an awful lot of information across a range of subjects and are always well written and easy to navigate. This is no exception; it highlights the must sees, and gives very useful travel, language and food information. It's excellent background reading before you go and should prove useful when we get there (holiday planned for July). Only criticism of a single guide is that it cannot do justice to such a vast country and information is limited on any one location - but hey that's not the purpose of the book. A great buy overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have if looking around Bulgaria, 22 Jun 2009
By 
Bruce E. Riches "Rilvis Bruce" (norfolk england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Bulgaria (Rough Guide Travel Guides) (Paperback)
A must have addition to your luggage when visiting Bulgaria & hiring a car,lots of interesting places & routes to follow,with very important local hints & tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Bulgaria (Rough Guide Travel Guides) (Paperback)
Rough guides are always pretty good and this was no exception. The guide is comprehensive and we used it a lot during our visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some good tips, but needs updating, 10 Jun 2013
By 
Ms. A. Lyons "AL" (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Bulgaria (Rough Guide Travel Guides) (Paperback)
Some of the information was useful, however I think that a lot of the information provided is outdated and needs updating. Useful, but not to be relied on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Looks good, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Bulgaria (Rough Guide Travel Guides) (Paperback)
This was purchased for my daughter but having looked through it found lots of information which I myself found very interesting. Easy to follow and very good reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Rough Guide to Bulgaria, 6 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Bulgaria (Rough Guide Travel Guides) (Paperback)
The Rough Guide to Bulgaria (Rough Guide Travel Guides)

Excellent book, Rough Guide Travel Guides have a great reputation and this one certainly lives up to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really usefull for recent trip to Varna, 21 Aug 2009
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Bulgaria (Rough Guide Travel Guides) (Paperback)
I recently used this trip for a weeks holiday in Varna, on the Black Sea Coast of Bulgaria. The book had a reasonably large section on the city, with a very useful map. The restaurant recommendations were definitely the highlight, and meant that we didn't really have a bad meal out there! The prices that were quoted in the book however did seem to be slightly out of date - for example the city museum cost 10 lv instead of 4 lv that it said, but then again I wasn't expecting it to be too accurate, as prices do fluctuate. All in all I had a wonderful holiday, and the book was very helpful, obviously this only counts for the section on Varna, but it was informative, and gave us plenty of ideas of what to do, and where to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rose coloured, 31 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Bulgaria (Rough Guide Travel Guides) (Paperback)
This guide views Bulgaria through rose tinted spectacles. Whilst it does not exactly lie neither does it exactly tell the truth. Rough guides etal are usually keen enough to point out what is poor and ugly about the UK so a bit more honesty about Bulgaria would have been welcomed. Anybody who has been to Plovdiv,for example, and compared reality with description will know what I mean. Take the guide with a pinch of salt and you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rough Guide to Bulgaria (Rough Guide Travel Guides)
The Rough Guide to Bulgaria (Rough Guide Travel Guides) by Dan Richardson (Paperback - 2 Jun 2008)
Used & New from: £17.11
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews