Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New worlds
I must confess to not being a fantasy fan. I've read The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings but nothing more than that. I usually read Arthur C Clarke, Michael Crichton and sci-fi stuff so this is a toe in the water for me. However once I got into reading the conan stories in this book and in volume 2 I was addicted. The narrative and action in these stories is blistering...
Published on 16 Aug 2002 by Warren Stalley

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much of the same thing
Having read most of these stories a long time ago it was refreshing to see them in their original Robert E Howard formats. (The early ones were heavily added to, edited by Lin Carter et al).
The only problem I have with this volume is that the stories are all too similar - busty wenches, evil wizards, nasty monsters all met and vanquished by our hero. Volume 2 in...
Published on 10 Jan 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New worlds, 16 Aug 2002
By 
Warren Stalley (Bradford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Conan Chronicles: Volume 1: The People of the Black Circle: People of the Black Circle Vol 1 (FANTASY MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
I must confess to not being a fantasy fan. I've read The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings but nothing more than that. I usually read Arthur C Clarke, Michael Crichton and sci-fi stuff so this is a toe in the water for me. However once I got into reading the conan stories in this book and in volume 2 I was addicted. The narrative and action in these stories is blistering. I view Conan as a Dirty Harry of the dark ages. He has a code of honour but woe betide anyone who crosses him. Yes these stories are fantastic and I have seen the light. My favourite ones are the situations where Conan is at sea or in places unusual to his character. The best way to read this book I find is to read one story then read some other author and come back for another Conan story then another author and so on. That way the appeal stays fresh. My advice if you've not a fantasy fan is try here for something action packed and fast moving. Robert Howard is truly a gifted writer and deserves your attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantastic! The Complete Conan!, 9 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Conan Chronicles: Volume 1: The People of the Black Circle: People of the Black Circle Vol 1 (FANTASY MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
Conan rocks!
This is the first of a series of books which - for the first time ever - collects together every single story of Conan written by Robert E. Howard.
And arranged in chronological order too.
The book is nicely put together, being part of the Millenium Books "Fantasy Masterworks" series, and sports a great front cover. Reading through each story, you get a real feel for Conan and the legendary Hyborian Age. The quality of the stories range from good to excellent, and it's nice to be able to read each story in the order they happened in Conan's world.
Add this one to your collection, you won't be disappointed! This is how Conan should be read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, but..., 25 Sep 2000
By 
This review is from: The Conan Chronicles: Volume 1: The People of the Black Circle: People of the Black Circle Vol 1 (FANTASY MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
Even though I've always been a fan of early fantasy (Dunsany, Lovecraft, Ashton-Smith, etc) I'd never read the Conan stories before and I am VERY impressed, they have lost absolutely none of their punch after all these years and leave most modern fantasy absolutely nowhere. There are only two small comments I'd like to make about this edition itself.
The first is that reading ANYTHING in large doses means that sooner or later you start to spot the writer's pet hangups or literary tricks. After the third or fourth story you just KNOW that any woman in the story will get her clothes ripped off and that snakes will come into the plot somehow. It doesn't do any harm, but I think I would have enjoyed it a bit more if I'd read these stories a bit at a time. The originals were published in montly magazines and this would have made the occasional repetitiveness less noticeable.
Point #2 is that the publisher really should invest in a spelling checker. They don't cost much and they can probably find one as shareware. There is at least one misprint per page and this can make the whole thing a bit confusing to read and basically cheapens the whole edition.
I'm probably just being pedantic. Go ahead and buy this collection, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Howard is still the best!, 11 Feb 2004
By 
John Psinas (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Conan Chronicles: Volume 1: The People of the Black Circle: People of the Black Circle Vol 1 (FANTASY MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
Robert E. Howard, wherever you are, you are still king of "sword and sorcery."
Howard had a great pen and it shines with his depiction of his Conan, who must be one of the earliest anti-Heroes. The character fits perfectly in Howard's Hyborian world, a setting packed with murderers, thieves, deserters, back-stabbers, and cruel sorcerers. No Tolkien Hobbits here. No obscure Elvish languages to deal with. No old-English prose that you would find in Tolkien. Just high adventure, filled with beheadings, broken bones, lost cities and lust.
Finally, after 70 years, they have compiled Howard's Conan stories. Bravo!
I bought several copies of this book as a gift to friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Conan Chronicles by Robert E,Howard, 11 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Conan Chronicles: Volume 1: The People of the Black Circle: People of the Black Circle Vol 1 (FANTASY MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
I first encounted Conan back in 1969-70 and was intersted once seeing a paperback cover with the famous Rogues in the House Ape painting.I re-entercounted Conan for the first time in a reprint edition of Marvels Conan,The Tower of the Elephant and Lair of the Beast-Men changed my way of seeing heroic fantasy.For most of the 1970's I was a Conan nut.Roy Thomas and Bob Howard must have done something right-even passed mistakes and dated material,I travelled with Conan across an age undreamed of-until the coming of Darth Shooter.So now I have many various publications of this big Cimmerian.The Lancer/SpHERE editions,special Science Fiction Book Club editions,The Essebtial Conan and so on.And with the passing of L.Sprague DeCamp and Lin Carter-and dissappearce of Mr.Thomas,anything that keeps the Conan Mythos alive is well by me.And any Conan fans can e-mail me.Mr.Thomas as well.I approve the latest edition of this epic Robert E.Howard hero-despite the juggernauts like Ninja Turdles,X-Men,Pokemon and the like Conan survives-he carves his way back into our hearts and minds.And by Crom,he'll return again and again to comics and novels-despite Arnold and the latter half of non Roy Thomas Marvel rubbish.Read Conan for the first or again,by Crom and Mitra.You'll be glad you did-for Conan is not simply a dumassed barbarian adventure as some have tried to put it.Conan and the undreamed worlds of R.E,H, are intellectual heroic fantasy.Don't believe me-check old Savage Sword OF Conan letter pages and you'll see the fans are twenty times smarter than your average superhero comic fan and so on.After all Conan would frequenty say''I said I was a barbarian.I never said I was stupid''.Neither is he,nor his fans,authors or the publishers-well not all anyway.By Crom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last the original barbarian, 8 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Conan Chronicles: Volume 1: The People of the Black Circle: People of the Black Circle Vol 1 (FANTASY MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
Many people have heard of Conan but few have actually read the original REH stories. For the first time since the 1930s here they are, unedited by other writers. Conan stories have suffered from clumsy rewriting and editing over the years, now here he is back in the raw. You get 14 full stories and a few fragments and partially completed ones which were used by others to write full stories. It's top stuff, vivid, funny and imaginative. The descriptions are lovingly over the top at times, it has a definite style. The stories are short and fast-paced. You are spared the long rambling works that much modern Sword and Sorcery work has become. It's all fast and furious and Conan is superb. He doesn't think, he does. A lot of what we now think of as classic S&S elements appeared here for the first time. A hearty thanks to those who finally cut through the legal fighting that has stopped these stories being available for so long. Conan would have known how to deal with them. Crom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robert E. Howard Is simply the greatest natural story-teller, 24 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Conan Chronicles: Volume 1: The People of the Black Circle: People of the Black Circle Vol 1 (FANTASY MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
I recently took the risk of buying this book and I was very much impressed. Howards writing is like that of a visionary, telling of events he has seen. It was said by Howard that he felt Conan guiding his fingers over his typewriter and this is very evident when reading, he says so much with so little. The whole book shouts of flame and fury and fairly pulsates with life, not apparent in Tolkien or anyone else for that matter. To end, this book is the best way to be introduced to the visionary world of Robert E. Howard. All his origional words are reproduced here and for the first time ever the stories are completely untouched and in their correct order. There are some spelling errors but these are rare and mostly sum up to a few missing letters not, as has been stated on this page, filling the entire book. If you are tired of static unimaginative stories then Robert Ervin Howard's work is the greatest antidote. He is quite simply the grand master of heroic fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tales of High Adventure, 26 Oct 2008
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Conan Chronicles: Volume 1: The People of the Black Circle: People of the Black Circle Vol 1 (FANTASY MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
Conan the Barbarian is one of THE iconic characters of fantasy. Almost eighty years ago, he walked onto the pages of Weird Tales magazine and undertook many adventures in the Hyborian Age, ten thousand or more years ago when the world looked very different. Dozens of tales followed before Robert E. Howard committed suicide at a tragically young age. In the following decades the Conan tales were re-edited, revamped and new stories were written by authors such as L. Sprague de Camp and Robert Jordan. After fading from view after the early-1980s Jordan stories and the Schwarzenegger movies, Conan came back into the public eye around the turn of the century with a series of new collected editions intent on restoring the text to Howard's original standards.

This first volume of Conan's adventures is arranged in chronological, not publishing, order and takes Conan from a teenager through a period of some years until he is an more experienced adventurer. Most of these tales take place in the south and east of the Thurian continent (prehistoric Eurasia), with Conan equally at home raiding exotic Arabic-esque temples for treasure as captaining a pirate warship or fighting as a mercenary alongside a mighty host. The stories have a somewhat familiar structure: Conan becomes embroiled in some nefarious activity, bulldozes his way through it with no regard for subtlety, and bursts out the other side, usually laden with gold and a willing young lady on his arm. You can certainly tell the ones that Howard wrote for money, whilst the highlights - 'Rogues in the House', 'The Tower of the Elephant' and the story that gives the first volume its subtitle, 'The People of the Black Circle' - are altogether more interesting, with a bit more depth or humour to them.

For stories written the better part of a century ago, these tales are fiendishly readable and feel much more readable and recent than, say, the work of Tolkien, although they lack JRRT's much greater resonance and depth. There's still a fresh vitality to these tales that makes them compelling. However, in other areas they are very much of their time: female characters are generally walking plot coupons for Conan to rescue or fall in love with. There are a couple of exceptions, but some readers may find it a problem. Another issue is that whilst there are some outstanding stories here, there are a few more that are formulaic, and a couple that are incomplete. That feeling of familiarity can be off-putting, and makes it hard to read the book in one go. I've been toing and froing between other books and these stories for the better part of two years. Like a rich chocolate cake, dipping into it occasionally may be healthier than trying to digest the whole thing at once.

The Conan Chronicles Volume I: The People of the Black Circle (****) introduces us to one of fantasy's most famous and notable characters. The range of defiantly non-PC stories on display here may not be huge, but they are certainly a lot of fun to read. The book is available in the UK from Gollancz as part of the Fantasy Masterworks range, in a new edition and also as part of the complete Conan Chronicles volume. In the USA Del Rey currently prints Howard's original stories in three volumes, The Coming of Conan, The Bloody Crown of Conan and The Conquering Sword of Conan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great originals, 12 Jan 2002
This review is from: The Conan Chronicles: Volume 1: The People of the Black Circle: People of the Black Circle Vol 1 (FANTASY MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
Michael Moorcock, in his study of epic fantasy Wizardry and Wild Romance, lists Robert E. Howard as one of the best and most important fantasy writers of the 20th century. He rates the Americans like Howard, Leiber and Wolfe over the British tradition, both for their vitality and for their engagement. For Moorcock Howard is certainly as good as Dunsany, though a very different writer, and this is the raw voice of Depression America as authoritative and powerful in its own way as Hammett's was to the detective story. Pulp power. Moorcock says there are no pulp writers -- only writers who published in pulp magazines, often because their work was so offbeat, they couldn't publish in the conventional magazines. This was true of Moorcock, Aldiss, Ballard and Dick in the fifties, so he knows what he's talking about. This is not a knowing sophisticated tone addressing a middle class needed comfort and reassurance, as Moorcock argues Tolkien is -- this is as American, as vigorous, as smart and as savvy as the best American rock and roll. Take no substitutes. With Elric, Conan is the greatest single character in all fantasy!
And this is repetitive -- but so is rock and roll.
The best is in the second volume -- The Hour of the Dragon. Howard's only novel. And what a
novel it is! Don't judge these books by the dumb, dumb movies. Just as LOTR leaves out the
essential prose tone of the books, so did the movies leave out the sheer love of language which informs everything Howard writes. What a shame he
killed himself. If he had moved to San Francisco and met Hammett -- who knows what would have happened. After all he was first published in the same magazine which first published Tennessee Williams's short stories -- Weird Tales! This is
the original, full-strength stuff. Forget Jordan and Eddings. Howard's five times the strength at least!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much of the same thing, 10 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Conan Chronicles: Volume 1: The People of the Black Circle: People of the Black Circle Vol 1 (FANTASY MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
Having read most of these stories a long time ago it was refreshing to see them in their original Robert E Howard formats. (The early ones were heavily added to, edited by Lin Carter et al).
The only problem I have with this volume is that the stories are all too similar - busty wenches, evil wizards, nasty monsters all met and vanquished by our hero. Volume 2 in this series is a much better read, but that isn't to detract from what are arguably some fine old-fashioned pulp style hack and slash stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews