Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cock up with the architects, 28 Dec 2006
By 
J. C. Chamberlain (Manchester, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Moon Rising (Paperback)
If there ever were a Classic that put itself past all of the others without looking back this is it.

This book follows Prince Rupert of the Forest Kingdom as he is sent out to his death... er... I mean... sent out on a quest to find, slay and bring back the 'jewels' of a mighty dragon. A typical storyline for fantasy you might think. But then you meet him. He's as pissed off with it as you or I might be, especially as there's no one to help him except his moaning unicorn. To reach the mountain where the dragon lives he must pass through the Darkwood- Here be Demons it says on the map and it was right.

I won't take you through the whole story because I wouldn't know how to chop down this classic into less than half the total number of words in the whole book. There's truely something happening all the time. It's action, romance, comedy, polital intrigue, horror and war for all. The descriptions of the people and places are intricate without going on too long and you get completely engaged in the Forest Kingdom and its woes.

This is the first book by Simon R. Green that brings you into the Forest Kingdom and the other books will refer to events that happen in this book.

Good luck and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable, this really is a fantastic read!, 14 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Blue Moon Rising (Paperback)
Prince Rupert is an unlikely hero, surplus to requirements as the second son of the King of a small country, he is sent out on a quest to kill a dragon, a quest from which no one really expects him to return. But when he does return, and has not only the dragon but the princess with him as well, the people start to realise that he is something special. With the darkwood approaching and bringing the long night with it, Rupert is looked upon again as the saviour of the Forest Kingdom, and sent out with his new companions to find the High Warlock and bring the rise of the demons to an end before the Blue Moon rises, the high magic is unleashed, and all is lost. For all fans of fantasy, or anyone interested in finding out why it is such a great genre, I deeply reccommend this book, Blue Moon Rising, now available after a long run out of print, go snap it up before it is lost again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blame it on the minstrels., 19 Jan 2007
By 
E. B. Wheaton "Kisha-Ra" (England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Moon Rising (Paperback)
Prince Rupert does. When he was young he used to listen to tales of heroics and daring do. However on his quest he soon discovers that the minstrels never tell you the important things, like how to keep the rain out of your armour, or the best way to dig a latrine, or how to slay the dragon when you find it (because your heart is pure is not really a lot of help, he feels).

It starts out sounding like the archetypical fantasy right, Prince of to slay a dragon? Don't be fooled. Simon Green pokes fun at all the usual fantasy realms as he spins this tale.

If you like fantasy and have a sense of humour you should really read this at least once, and no, you can't borrow my copy. It's my favourite book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious! Exciting! Awesome!, 15 Jan 2007
This review is from: Blue Moon Rising (Paperback)
Blue Moon Rising is easily the funniest, most sarcastic fantasy novel I've ever read. It's a brilliantly written bit of fantasy that is really exciting, dark and painfully funny. The storyline itself is really good, it's a great story and has some really interesting ideas and it wasn't hard to get into. I found it had really powerful imagery, it was really easy to imagine and understand what was going on. Not a hard book to follow along with and not one that leaves you guessing for ages and ages, which I thought was great. The plot twists are often really unexpected and surprising. The characters are unique and all hilarious or annoying in their own way and I thought that was a real plus. I can't really think of anything negative about it, it's a great piece of writing by Simon R Green. Without a doubt the one thing that really makes this book stick out is how sarcastic and funny it is. One of the few books that will have you laughing out loud. Definitely one to read if you like fantasy or just want a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blue Moon Rising Review, 11 Aug 2008
By 
K. M. Knight "Kelvin M. Knight" (Cumbria, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Moon Rising (Paperback)
The main theme of Blue Moon Rising is about persevering through adversity, with tributary threads of honour, love and family loyalty - all displayed by characters who are not what you would expect, of course.

From major to minor, there is: Prince Rupert - a virgin who accepts his destiny as a superfluous second son; Princess Julia - not a fairy-tale princes by any stretch of the imagination. She is beautiful but feisty, loyal but intolerant of fools, and as keen a fighter as she is loving; Unicorn - a grouchy slave whose battle-lost horn becomes the catalyst for a terrible plague; King John - who works tirelessly, doing what he thinks will benefit the Kingdom, but in the long run his judgement is well off par; Prince Harald - Rupert's insufferable older brother, whose muscles, confidence, arrogance and perfect charm make him an instant hit with the court and a perfect choice to be King; Lord Darius - Minister for War, who would rather use his skills to be the Court Magician; Thomas Grey - Court Astrologer and reluctant magician; High Warlock - an excommunicated drunkard, who drinks to null the pain of his high magic, which is indirectly responsible for the death of the Queen; The Champion - a born fighter who obeys the King's commands even when they seem madness, and not forgetting the Seneschal - a nameless and nobel prize winning moaner, who nonetheless completes his duties.

The story takes place in a caste that keeps changing, at the heart of a Darkwood that keeps spreading. As with most fantasy, Blue Moon Rising is essentially about a man going on a journey; a stranger coming to town. Superficially, it could be viewed as the dashing knight rescuing the beautiful princess from the evil dragon, except this has been turned on its head. Dragon is old and tired and wants to flee from Princess Julia, whose wicked left hook is driving him crazy (not to mention destroying his butterfly collection), and the only dashing Prince Rupert performs is away from the dragon that he only agreed to slay to save his skin.

In a rare display of contrivance (hah!) Prince Rupert brings Dragon home, braving many dangers and phobias as he struggles through the darkness of a Darkwood that is devouring the Kingdom, only to find his father's castle in turmoil: demons are hunting in packs and the Demon Prince is once again alive in the world of man, where his wild magic will reshape reality itself... once in a blue moon.

And so the story unfolds, with the poignant relationships between the two Princes, their King and the King's Champion never what you would expect in a court full of intrigue, back-stabbing and magical politics as they face a faceless enemy.

Despite a wavering viewpoint and overuse of adjectives and adverbs, and a propensity to repeat the same word several times (sometimes on the same page) these cosmetics are rendered senseless by a simple, yet believable plot, chock full of twists and turns and packed with three-dimensional characters, which make the pages turn by themselves with a rapidity that keeps the midnight oil burning.

As is Mr Green's whim, the ending is not what one would expect. So much so it brought a rare tear to my eye. My only regret with this story, which is also its strength, is that it is self-contained and complete; a rare thing these days with serial fantasy. Saying this, I was left feeling empty for days thereafter and hoping for another... But all I have been able to find is Down Among the Dead Men, which makes reference to the Demon War and uses one of the lost Infernal Devices.

In summary, if you like formula fantasy turned on its head and shaken then seamlessly stuck together with off-beat but believable characters and a story-line that refuses to be left alone, this book is definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark and funny, 15 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Blue Moon Rising (Paperback)
I picked Blue Moon Rising up on a bit of whim and was really impressed. For a start it's genuinely funny. Simon Green manages to be irreverent without being irritating. All the great touchstones of the fantasy novel get a bit of stick - alchoholic sorcecers, butterfly collecting dragons, extremely unladylike princesses and a hero who's afraid of the dark - but it's done with affection and strangely doesn't jar with the darker episodes in the book.Rupert and Julia are great leads.

Rupert (sorry to be all girly) is just fab - heroic but flawed and he has suitable difficulty expressing his feelings.

I'm not keen on the demon-infested darkness, but only because that sort of thing isn't my cup of tea, the sections in the wood and fighting the demons are actually extremely atmospheric and well written.

Buy this if you like your novels a bit darker, or funny, or if you're a sucker for a happyish ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 14 Jan 2014
By 
A. J. Muirhead-starr "miss pink" (Knaresborough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Moon Rising (Paperback)
Simon Greens books are always hard to put down, this one was not a disappointment and I couldn't wait to get to the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Need a second copy, 23 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Blue Moon Rising (Paperback)
I have quite literally loved this book to bits. The pages are coloured tea-brown from age and use and bits of the book are falling out. Time for a new copy so that I'm able to keep rereading it every so often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars classic, from a master, 23 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
love this book, funny, fast, heroic, magical and action packed, not that rupert would like that. it's just good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blue Moon Rising, 5 Oct 2010
This review is from: Blue Moon Rising (Paperback)
A swashbuckling tale of hard done to Prince Rupert and the not so helpless Julia as they battle through dark demon infested forests to defend the kingdom from evil. This action packed fantasy will have you hooked from the off, delivering thrills, tongue-in-cheek humour and just a dash of romance - a guaranteed pleaser for any fantasy reader.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would definately recommend it to anyone wondering what to read next. It's not overly long, but it's a real page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa1306780)

This product

Blue Moon Rising
Blue Moon Rising by Simon R. Green (Paperback - 12 Oct 2000)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews