Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection (Part 3)
As a long time fan of the work of Philip K Dick, I love this complete collection of his short stories (of which this is the third of 5 volumes).

The stories contained within this volume were written in the 1950s. As with any collection of this kind, where all an authors short stories are collected, the quality can vary. However, to my mind even when PKD is not...
Published on 1 Mar 2011 by M Jenkins

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pretty sound
I read this while i was at school. I had already read the previous 2 collections of short stories in the collection: starting with @beyond lies the Wub'. This collection does not compare favourably with the first 2 books. the stories perhaps lack the impact that second variety and beyond lies the wub had. The stories are however good, just not as good as the earlier ones...
Published on 24 July 2007 by A. CRAIG


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection (Part 3), 1 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Father-Thing: Volume Three Of The Collected Stories (Collected Short Stories of Philip K. Dick) (Paperback)
As a long time fan of the work of Philip K Dick, I love this complete collection of his short stories (of which this is the third of 5 volumes).

The stories contained within this volume were written in the 1950s. As with any collection of this kind, where all an authors short stories are collected, the quality can vary. However, to my mind even when PKD is not at his best he is still well worth a read (and at his best he is among the very best). As well as the stories you get some interesting introductory material and some helpful notes.

The stories contained in this volume are:

"Fair Game"
"The Hanging Stranger"
"The Eyes Have It"
"The Golden Man" (which the movie Next is based on)
"The Turning Wheel"
"The Last of the Masters"
"The Father-Thing"
"Strange Eden"
"Tony and the Beetles"
"Null-O"
"To Serve the Master"
"Exhibit Piece"
"The Crawlers"
"Sales Pitch"
"Shell Game"
"Upon the Dull Earth"
"Foster, You're Dead"
"Pay for the Printer"
"War Veteran"
"The Chromium Fence"
"Misadjustment"
"A World of Talent"
"Psi-Man Heal My Child!"

"This is why I love SF. I love to read it; I love to write it. The SF writer sees not just possibilities but wild possibilities. It's not just 'What if...' It's 'My God; what if...' In frenzy and hysteria."
-- Philip K Dick

The other four volumes in this collection are:

Beyond Lies The Wub: Volume One Of The Collected Short Stories
Second Variety: Volume Two Of The Collected Short Stories
Minority Report: Volume Four Of The Collected Short Stories
We Can Remember It For You Wholesale: Volume Five of The Collected Short Stories

If you are new to Philip K Dick's work I would also recommend the novels (which generally seem to be regarded as among his best):

Ubik (S.F. Masterworks)
A Scanner Darkly (S.F. Masterworks)
The Man In The High Castle (S.F. Masterworks)
The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch (S.F. Masterworks)
Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep?: The novel which became 'Blade Runner' (S.F. Masterworks)

That said, as with the short stories, though some of PKD's works are better than others, to my mind they are all well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly outstanding, 21 Sep 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Father-Thing: Volume Three Of The Collected Stories (Collected Short Stories of Philip K. Dick) (Paperback)
OK, not every single story is a brilliant satire on the state of the world, nor is every single story innovative or entirely original. BUT, even when Dick doesn't quite get it, he is usually entertaining, sometimes amusing and always completely paranoid! Buy it, read it and enjoy it. You will not be disappointed. For anyone who is looking for an entry point into the genre, this book comes VERY highly recommended.
Certainly one of the best of the Dick's collections of short stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing & thought provoking, 18 Jan 2000
By 
a.k. (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Father-Thing: Volume Three Of The Collected Stories (Collected Short Stories of Philip K. Dick) (Paperback)
Phillip K Dick's outlook on humanity is usually pessimistic and claustrophobic but not without hope, at least the hope that none of these things will actually happen. These short stories are so finely crafted and landscaped that the reader starts feeling the unease, paranoia and ennui of the charachters from the first page. The short story is the ideal instrument for his trade as he has so many ideas to express. I'm here at amazon looking for the other books in this fantastic collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Collected Stories., 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Father-Thing: Volume Three Of The Collected Stories (Collected Short Stories of Philip K. Dick) (Paperback)
I include volumes 1,2 & 3 of the collected stories of PKD. Strange,unusual, fascinating shorts by one of the 20th century greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reading for Lovers of Straightforward Sci Fi, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Father-Thing: Volume Three Of The Collected Stories (Collected Short Stories of Philip K. Dick) (Paperback)
I've read some of Philip K Dick's novels and a few of his short stories but I am in no way shape or form a massive fan. I find him an enjoyable writer with a very accessible style of writing.

This collection of short stories is the best Volume that I've read so far with some classic, humorous tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top read.... As always, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like sci-fi, you'll like this.
I totally recommend the whole set of his short stories.
This is the kind of author that should be on the national curriculum. It would have kept my interest better than far from the madding crowd for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great short stories, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Father-Thing: Volume Three Of The Collected Stories (Collected Short Stories of Philip K. Dick) (Paperback)
Philip K Dick's short stories are some of his very best work. As a writer whose talent was in crafting imaginative stories filled with mend-bending ideas rather than developing emotionally complicated characters, the format complements his strengths - many of the entries in the five-volume collection are masterpieces of distilled paranoia, surprise and suspense.

This volume was one of my first Philip K Dick books as a teenager (I believe I may have read Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep first), and it immediately captivated me.

Highlights of this volume include:

The Hanging Stranger - A man finds a dead body hanging from a lamppost in the middle of town, but the other residents seem strangely oblivious

The Golden Man - A government agency charged with tracking down mutants faces a unique challenge

The Last of the Masters - Members of a global anarchist militia investigate rumours of a surviving microstate

War Veteran - An old man claims to be a time-travelling veteran of interplanetary war

Shell Game - A group of alleged paranoiacs shipwrecked on an alien planet attempt to determine their own sanity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pretty sound, 24 July 2007
By 
A. CRAIG (sd) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Father-Thing: Volume Three Of The Collected Stories (Collected Short Stories of Philip K. Dick) (Paperback)
I read this while i was at school. I had already read the previous 2 collections of short stories in the collection: starting with @beyond lies the Wub'. This collection does not compare favourably with the first 2 books. the stories perhaps lack the impact that second variety and beyond lies the wub had. The stories are however good, just not as good as the earlier ones. the title story is a disappointment, being perhaps the weakest of the stories here.
overall good though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 Jan 2006
By 
This review is from: The Father-Thing: Volume Three Of The Collected Stories (Collected Short Stories of Philip K. Dick) (Paperback)
Another amazing collection of short stories by one of the best in the business. Full of twists, humour and tension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews