Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic fought the law and magic won
Lud-in-the-Mist is a small town nestled in a rural idyll, between the mountains and the sea. One of its two rivers, the Dapple, runs out of the Debatable Hills, the boundary between the normal, mundane world and Fairyland. Strange and exotic fruit occasionally floats down that river. The Ludites have assiduously avoided this fruit for centuries - ever since booting out...
Published on 30 July 2006 by T. Bobley

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old fashioned frolics in fairy
As a big fan of Neil Gaiman I bought this book on his recommendation. It tells the story of a small town struggling with a heritage of myth and magic whilst taking its first steps towards industrialisation. The novel focuses on the dreamy mayor, Chanticleer and his efforts to save his son and town from the menace of fairy fruit. This includes some sluthing and heroic...
Published on 27 Jun 2010 by S. Jary


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic fought the law and magic won, 30 July 2006
This review is from: Lud-In-The-Mist (Paperback)
Lud-in-the-Mist is a small town nestled in a rural idyll, between the mountains and the sea. One of its two rivers, the Dapple, runs out of the Debatable Hills, the boundary between the normal, mundane world and Fairyland. Strange and exotic fruit occasionally floats down that river. The Ludites have assiduously avoided this fruit for centuries - ever since booting out the fairy-fruit eating Duke Aubrey and establishing a republic, thereby swapping a system of magical chaos for the rule of law. But the denizens of Faerie haven't given up on Lud. They have agents working to smuggle the fruit (which induces weird and disturbing mental aberrations in those who eat it) and feed it to the unsuspecting citizens of the republic. Mayor Chanticleer has a tricky job on his hands, finding the culprits and solving an old murder mystery. In the meantime, the promoters of magic are having some success and the law is fighting a losing battle.

About 30 years ago, when I was working in Spain for a few months, a friend lent me a couple of books from his fantasy collection. We couldn't easily get hold books in English so all we Brits passed round whatever we had, treated the books with great reverence and returned them promptly. These fantasy books were particular treasures and their owner lent them only very reluctantly. The other book was William Morris's "The Water of the Wondrous Isles". I've been looking for the books for years. It was hopeless. I couldn't remember the title or the Author of this book. I could remember the cover picture (red fruit floating on water) and I remembered two names from a little ditty that's haunted my mind since first reading it: "Before the cry of Chanticleer, Gibbers away Endomyion Leer". Putting the two names into a search engine found me this book - back in print at last, as is Morris's book (that's now ordered). Mirrlees is such an elegant and witty word-smith, it's no wonder this book has stuck with me all these years. What a pleasure to read it again!

I would say a little something about this particular publication: the Wildside Fantasy Classic version. I'm too grateful for having found the book again to be very critical but I'll warn you in any case that this edition seems to have been copy-typed rather badly from an earlier version. It's full of typos and other mistakes and was filtered through an American spell checker. Clearly, it wasn't proof-read before going to print and even though Hope Mirrlees used British English, this book has been "translated". Also, there's no list of contents or introduction. My 5* rating is for Mirrlees' book (still very readable and enjoyable as long as you can ignore the typos etc), not for this particular Wildside version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful, richly textured fantasy, 24 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lud-In-The-Mist (Paperback)
It would be hard to find fault with this beautifully written book. Hope Mirrlees, an English scholar, uses language with flamboyant precision to produce a richly textured world full of vitality and wonder.
Larger than life characters inhabit Lud-In-The-Mist, a bustling town from which all influence of faerie has been banished long ago. The mere mention of anything magical is considered taboo and offensive, whilst the existence of the land of Faerie, just beyond the Debatable Hills, is pointedly ignored.
They are therefore ill-prepared when strange, fey behaviour starts to afflict even the most respectable of Luds citizens, beginning with the pupils at Miss Primrose Crabapple's Academy for Young Ladies...
Mayor Nathaniel Chanticleer, whose own family is affected by the crisis, finds his deepest fears becoming reality.
A truly magical work, the like of which we will probably never see again; made all the more remarkable because it was Ms. Mirrlees only ever fantasy novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The right edition of the right book, 6 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lud-In-The-Mist (Paperback)
Another fine book in the admirable line of Fantasy Masterworks - marred by the bizarre mis-ordering of the contents in its Dunsany omnibus, but that's another book. Even the introduction (by Neil Gaiman) is unusually intelligent, and far less self-indulgent than is now the norm for literary introductions.
Intelligent, spiky, witty, and with an extraordinary line in dislocating supernatural terror.
Very good, very odd, and even now quite unlike almost anything in English; just possibly slightly more like John Crowley's "Little, Big: or, the Fairies' Parliament" than it is like anything else, but that says more for its excellence than for its specific character. Buy, read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By my great aunt's rump, 16 Jan 2009
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lud-In-The-Mist (Paperback)
The oddness of this story can be detected just by checking out the main character. Most fantasy heroes are not round, stodgy, middle-aged men who are respected pillars of the community.

But Hope Mirrlees' enchanting fantasy "Lud-in-the-Mist" defies many such fantasy cliches, written as if "The Hobbit" had been spun up by Lord Dunsany. It's a sweet pastoral story that slowly blossoms out into a very unique story -- there's a little murder mystery, an amusing village of hobbity people, and a quicksilver dream of beautiful fairyland and otherworldly danger.

Fairy is forbidden in the town of Lud -- not just fairy creatures and their exquisite fruit, but mentions of them, the dead who walk with them, and the Duke Aubrey who left with them.

But all his life, the steadfastly dull Mayor Nathaniel Chanticleer has a lingering longing/fear for a strangely magical musical note. Despite all this, life remains boring and rather pleasant -- until Chanticleer's son Ranulph begins acting strangely, claiming that he's eaten fairy fruit.

After Chanticleer sends his son off to a farm for a vacation, the teenage girls at Miss Primrose's Crabapple Academy suddenly seem to go pleasantly nuts, and then race off into the hills. Life seems to seep out of the old town,and Nathaniel must connect the present crises to a past conspiracy, all of which hinges on Fairyland, fairy fruit, and the sinister doctor Endymion Leer. The journey to discover the truth will take him out of the everyday world -- and change him forever.

Haunting music, mad dancing, and ethereal meadows filled with fairy people and strange flowers. All through "Lud-in-the-Mist," there's the underlying feeling that there's a frightening, exquisite world that is barely separated from ours. Rather than cliche elves with pointy ears, it relies on a dreamlike atmosphere and faraway lands that are only glimpsed in passing.

Originally written in 1926, Hope Mirrlees' third book is an utterly unique experience -- it takes place in a pleasantly ordinary British town and charming pastoral towns, with fairy magic seeping into the cracks. And it's something of a love ode to "fairy" -- even though the inhabitants of Lud cherish their prosperous, staid existance, the the strange and exquisite blooms over the course of the book.

And Mirrlees' writing is capable of bringing that to life -- she intertwines a fantasy, a murder mystery and a personal journey into one. The first part of the book is written in a pleasantly cozy, mellow style that focuses on the colourful, staid town of Lud. But as the story blossoms into a tangle of crises and mysteries, Mirrlees' writing becomes more lush, exquisite and haunting. All this, and she manages to inject plenty of humor into the story as well.

Chanticleer is very reminiscent of Bilbo Baggins -- he's pleasant, boring, stodgy but has a brave, eccentric interior that helps him become a very unusual hero. And the other inhabitants of Lud are similarly engaging and just a little bit quirky -- fairy-struck teenagers, snippy old ladies, the haughty farmer's wife, the quietly malevolent Endymion Leer, and the happily mad people.

"Lud-in-the-Mist" emerged before the mold was made for fantasy novels, and its exquisitely funny writing shows why it's an enduring classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely delightful - rather like eating fairy fruit!, 2 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Lud-In-The-Mist (Paperback)
I've just finished this book, and found it absolutely delightful, charming and whimsical. It's left me with a real smile, inside and out - well worth buying and reading. The writing style is charming although a little hard to get into, but persevere with it and you will be richly rewarded.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent stuff, 27 Mar 2009
This review is from: Lud-In-The-Mist (Paperback)
A half-lost classic of British fantasy - I discovered it as part of the Fantasy Masterworks re-issues. It doesn't fit in the post-Tolkien fantasy landscape too well (except perhaps with other oddities like Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell) but so much the better as far as I'm concerned. If you're bored of sword-and-sorcery, or if you can't stand the quality of writing accepted in much of the genre, then this will come as a breath of fresh air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nearly perfect fantasy book, much less known that it deserves, 19 Nov 2011
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lud-In-The-Mist (Paperback)
I discovered this old and rare jewel recently and reading it was a quite unique experience. The beauty of this book is not so much in the action, but in the general atmosphere and in the masterly use of English language. After ending it I thirsted for more - but it was in vain, as Hope Mirrlees didn't write any more fantasy books.

Written in 1926 this book was for a longtime out of print and forgotten before being rediscovered in the 90s, to the greatest happiness of fantasy lovers. This element only adds to the aura of mystery surrounding Lud-in-the-mist, the imaginary town in an alternative world where most of the action takes place. I swallowed this book fast the first time and then I read it a second time, in a deliberately slower way, to enjoy it even more. I warmly recommend it to anybody who likes fantasy but also to a wider public, willing to discover an old, half forgotten treasure.

I must however add one - very limited - ounce of criticism. I didn't like the last three chapters (XXX to XXXII). I do not want to take off one star for that, but in my modest opinion this book would be perfect, if it have stopped at the last line of chapter XXIX. So if I can offer an advice, the first time you read this book, stop at that moment, then give yourself a couple of days to savour this experience, and only then read the last three chapters. If you like them, fine. And if you do not, well, you will have always the memory of your first impression...

This is an excellent book, a rare jewel - to buy, read, keep and pass to your children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book I've re-read most..., 23 April 2008
By 
G. M. Johnson "gerardmarkjohnson" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lud-In-The-Mist (Paperback)
This is a really special book to me. I first read it nearly thirty years ago, and I've re-read it most years since then. To me it's chief pleasure lies not in its narrative and setting (although both are enjoyable and entertaining) but in the author's discussions and digressions, most of which revolve around the book's theme of the interdependence of the prosaic and the fantastical: how a full life requires both imagination and practicality. No question, if I was stuck on a desert island, this is the book I'd want with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars perhaps for the first three or four chapters I could happily have put it down and moved on, 9 Sep 2014
By 
YeahYeahNoh (Willenhall, West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lud-In-The-Mist (Kindle Edition)
Possibly it was the age of the book, but initially, I found this a little difficult to warm to, perhaps for the first three or four chapters I could happily have put it down and moved on. I'm so glad I persevered.
There are many stories modern and old which involve fairies, and the land of Fairie - this has many similarities with those, and, in many cases was perhaps an influence thereon. The dancing, the hidden, devious nature, and many other things are facets which are found in later books, for example the superb Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell - I wondered if this was an influence there.
It's easy to understand why Neil Gaiman would pick it out as an influence.
After a few chapters, it became compulsive reading, and a film must surely be feasible if it's not already been done.
A great book, which delivered many unexpected pleasures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old fashioned frolics in fairy, 27 Jun 2010
By 
S. Jary "gadget gopher" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lud-In-The-Mist (Paperback)
As a big fan of Neil Gaiman I bought this book on his recommendation. It tells the story of a small town struggling with a heritage of myth and magic whilst taking its first steps towards industrialisation. The novel focuses on the dreamy mayor, Chanticleer and his efforts to save his son and town from the menace of fairy fruit. This includes some sluthing and heroic travelling in the best traditions of fantasy. The themes of harking back to simpler times and the dangers of industrial and mercantile society are obvious especially when you consider when this was written and who the author was mixing with: The Bloomsbury set. On the whole it suffers from a contrived feeling and was quite Dickensian in its overly long and involved descriptions. For all that the novel is original, quirky and has a very distinctive voice.
Buy: If you like Dickens or quaint/quirky descriptions
Don,t buy: If you like a zippy tale simply told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lud-In-The-Mist
Lud-In-The-Mist by Hope Mirrlees (Paperback - 2000)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews