Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great concept, but preffered the Short Story.
After having read the novelette version of Blood Music i found the concept extremely intrigueing and decided to read the extended novel. The novel contains the same concepts of the novelette and develops some of the ideas.

The novel follows the seperate (yet intertwined) stories of a few different characters, which eventually lead to the dramatic and enigmatic...
Published on 3 May 2009 by N. Durand

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strong Ideas Overshadow Weak Execution
One of the most memorably tongue-in-cheek creations of Douglas Adams was a madness booth--designed to make its victims insane, simply and effectively, by displaying them "to-scale" beside the rest of the cosmos.
In many ways, it's the same trick Bear's best novels play on a reader's mind, forever putting it in contexts too vast to afford the thing any...
Published on 14 Aug 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strong Ideas Overshadow Weak Execution, 14 Aug 2000
By A Customer
One of the most memorably tongue-in-cheek creations of Douglas Adams was a madness booth--designed to make its victims insane, simply and effectively, by displaying them "to-scale" beside the rest of the cosmos.
In many ways, it's the same trick Bear's best novels play on a reader's mind, forever putting it in contexts too vast to afford the thing any significance at all: "Queen of Angels" concerns a therapist who literally delves into his patients' subconscious, while "Eon" and its sequel plunge characters into an infinite number of alternate universes.
"Blood Music" represents yet another disturbing tour of an alarming theoretical Bearscape--that of an earth whose population has, after a singular biological catastrophe, come to share the same vaguely protoplasmic, continent-sized body.
It could do with a sense of tone, a touch of poetic irony, a memorable character or two, and perhaps even a dollop of Barthelmian humor, but the central idea itself is so unquestionably remarkable that the novel's trashy-ness is, for once, actually overwhelmed by its ambition.
Like it or not, you will be thinking about "Blood Music" long after you put it down. And you should definitely pick it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great concept, but preffered the Short Story., 3 May 2009
By 
N. Durand - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After having read the novelette version of Blood Music i found the concept extremely intrigueing and decided to read the extended novel. The novel contains the same concepts of the novelette and develops some of the ideas.

The novel follows the seperate (yet intertwined) stories of a few different characters, which eventually lead to the dramatic and enigmatic ending.

The events of the novelette version leave a highly ambiguous ending whereas the ending in the novel is final and definitive, whilst allowing you to develop your own views on the themes in the novel.

Overall i found it an extremely interesting, and an intellectually challenging read. It is more than worth the money, however, i recommend reading the novelette version first before deciding to read the novel as it is, in my opinion, in fact better due to the added ambiguity and pace. If you find yourself immersed in the novellette, i reccomend buying the novel at is develops the storylines further.

Thankyou for reading my review of Blood Music :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eerie., 12 Jun 2003
By 
Mary Whipple (New England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blood Music (S.F. MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
With an apocalyptic vision at its heart, Blood Music is escapist reading with high drama, though its excitement has been somewhat muted by time and the magnitude of the real events which have transpired since its publication in 1985. Here a genetic experiment goes awry, and the whole world is endangered. .
Though only seventeen years have passed since its publication, the book feels old--eerily so. Gene therapy is now a reality. The Soviet Union, which here rattles its nuclear sabers in an effort to dominate the world, seems like a very old enemy. Strangely, a number of particularly vivid scenes here take place in a ravaged World Trade Center, images so similar to the reality of 9/11 that I found them painful to stumble upon in a piece of light fiction. Suzy McKenzie, a lonely survivor in New York, sets up home in the World Trade Center lobby, and Bear’s descriptions of her explorations through the desolate upper floors and of the collapse of one of the towers conjured up nightmarish (real) images.
Bear’s narrative is fast-paced and suspenseful. With an acute sensibility and eye for detail, Bear creates stark images. His characterizations of Vergil and Suzy are often touching, however, and the dialogue between Vergil and his mother will bring smiles to the faces of many parents. Structurally, the novel is very loose, with characters who come and go, and ultimately the novel feels almost as chaotic as Bear’s vision of devastation. Bear’s immense potential, obvious here, finds its true fulfillment in his later, more carefully controlled, novels. Mary Whipple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting ideas, average story, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Music (S.F. MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
Overall I enjoyed the book. Bear presents some very interesting ideas regarding not only biology, but more abstract quantum and cosmological concepts. It's also nice that the majority of these topics are easy to understand, at least on the surface.

Where the book falls down is in its story. As interesting as Bear's ideas are, almost none of the characters are interesting or memorable. Sure, Bear tries to inject some personality into Bernard, Suzy and Vergil (the POV characters we spend the most time with), but they are ultimately secondary to the plot. Of course, this is to be expected in such an 'end of the world' science fiction novel. Nonetheless, I often found myself bored while reading, pushing myself to finish the book to find out the nature of the scenario.

In summary, full of great ideas, but lacking the structure and coherency of a real story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost.., 17 Jan 2012
This review is from: Blood Music (S.F. MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
The author almost managed to pull it off. It is an excellent read, the characters and concept are well worked which ensure you become engaged in the story. Why almost? I personally felt that the ending could have been stronger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A timely classic, 25 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. Timothy W. Dumble (Sunderland, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Music (S.F. MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
A classic piece of 80's cyberpunk made chillingly prescient by recent developments in microbiology, notably Venter's creation of synthetic cells.

Blood Music is a hardnosed piece of science fiction with a high degree of scientific verisimilitude, drawing widely on the ideas of cell biology and real life scientific events. Despite this Bear's writing never becomes inaccessible to the layperson, exploring philosophical and metaphysical questions such as what it is to be human? And what constitutes our individual identity? He even memorably creates humour from quantum mechanics(p.70)

Bear further explores the concept of collective human consciousness and it's potential perhaps first developed by writers such as Olaf Stapledon in 'Star Maker'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, 27 Aug 2008
This review is from: Blood Music (S.F. MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
Having read this story when it was first released, it has managed to haunt me across the years.
I may have forgotten the title at times - and sometimes even who wrote it - but the general theme of humanity's change to something either glorious, or horrific, depending on your personal point of view, is something I've never forgotten!
The story is short on characterisation, but it overflows with a haunting description of the demise of humanity as we know it, and the use of familiar places, especially significant today, is eerie.
Blood Music is a perfect title for the rhythm of change that travels through the bloodstream of humanity - like a serenade to lost time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, taking SF in new directions, 31 Dec 2003
This review is from: Blood Music (S.F. MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
I found this book very interesting. SF is normally concerned with the outside i.e. space or the inside of your mind. This goes into the area of microbiology. Quite an original and bold step for an author to take.
It is quite a science based book, but that does not make the book less enjoyable, in fact the opposite. It keeps you turning the pages until the end.
I found the style very simiar to JG Ballard,But with extra science, if that helps.
A very modern and contemporary novel. In these days of cults trying to clone humans, the book seems to be a prediction of the future ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comforting apocalypse, 11 Aug 2008
This review is from: Blood Music (S.F. MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
I found myself thinking about this as I drove home today - and I read it about a year ago.

I remember reading John Wyndham as a child and being guiltily thrilled by the way would kill of most of the planet by the end of the first chapter.

This seems like a fairly natural successor to Wyndham - and others who spot similarities to J G Ballard are in the right area too. Though it's Ballard's naively sadistic tone rather than his literaty voice.

If you like Ballard and Wyndham, you'll love this. I haven't read any of the SF Masterworks that weren't fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It was a clever story but the author should have ..., 21 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was a clever story but the author should have had the work proof read before transferring it to Kindle. There were many grammatical errors and it did detract from the story. Also, there was a whole chapter about three characters traveling to the source of the outbreak with the chapter ending by the female character walking into a fog. That was it, no mention of her or her two companions again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood Music (S.F. MASTERWORKS)
Blood Music (S.F. MASTERWORKS) by Greg Bear (Paperback - 12 April 2001)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews