Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dated but still funny
...I first read them (the three volumes that make them up) around 20 years ago and on rereading I found them still fresh and still funny. The books are meant to be funny, incidentally, something that people should bear in mind. The scene where Shea has to recite a poem as ransom to a monster that collects poetry and can only remember "The Ballad of Eskimo...
Published on 8 Feb 2002 by S. Flaherty

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forget it's age, read masters at work
While some of the plotlines seem cliched, remember that the cliches came after these stories. (Yes I know that the one-liner said forget the age of this book, but.... The Compleat Enchanter and it's companion volume "The Enchanter Compleated" rip into most of the fantasy genres of the period and with tongue stuck firmly in cheek play with the original...
Published on 30 Mar 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dated but still funny, 8 Feb 2002
By 
S. Flaherty "steve3742" (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Compleat Enchanter (FANTASY MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
...I first read them (the three volumes that make them up) around 20 years ago and on rereading I found them still fresh and still funny. The books are meant to be funny, incidentally, something that people should bear in mind. The scene where Shea has to recite a poem as ransom to a monster that collects poetry and can only remember "The Ballad of Eskimo Nell"...well, I guess you'd have to know Eskimo Nell to find it funny (go and look it up on the internet.) But it's hilarious if you do.
One thing that struck me this time round was the attention to detail. The adventures are set in the worlds of Norse, Finnish and Irish mythology, and also in the worlds of Spenser's "Faerie Queen" and Ariosto's "Orlando Furioso" The first time round I'd only read some Norse mythology and knew almost nothing about the others. This time I knew more and was struck by how much research the authors had done. It inspired me to read them 20 years ago and maybe it will have a similar effect on others today.
In summary, these stories are well written, funny and original, even after 50 years. Buy this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Period Fantasy of the best kind!, 1 Aug 2007
By 
N. Williamson (Shrewsbury, Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Compleat Enchanter (FANTASY MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
All three of the Harold Shea books have one thing in common - some very well realised 'sight-gags', plus a whole lot of what can only be described as 40's dialogue - funny, snappy, not suggestive, and relevant to the plot in hand, whether chatting up warrior girls, throttling sorcerers or confusing the stupidest talking beast since Daffy Duck. Stir in girls made of snow, interludes in Xanadu, grass-eating dragons that go 'meep', impossibly noble knights and their ladies, creepy magicians, thick gods and paranoid trolls with image issues and the result is truly unmissable.
All three books stay true to their internal logic, while having fun with ours, and the results are magical (in more ways than one!). Loads of snappy dialogue, no long, turgid descriptive passages, and phrasing that can only be described as Pratt at his best. The three books play out in the worlds of Norse myth, the 'Furioso' of Orlando (a sort of plagiarized bottom shelf version of Spenser's 'Faerie Queene'), and the Kalevala saga of Finland respectively, with De Camp and Pratt displaying both their own intimacy with all three milieu, and their willingness to do a gleeful 'Marx Brothers' hatchet job on three story worlds that take themselves far too seriously. Buy them! Read them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've read better Masterworks but still a fantastic read, 7 Jun 2008
By 
Lark (North Coast of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Compleat Enchanter (FANTASY MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
There are better books in the Masterworks series, like Anubis Gates, and that feeling could be due to the books age but it is still a fantastic read and I was able to enjoy rereading it.

Each story follows the researchers from an experimental psychology institute when they discover first a means by which they can transport themselves into realms of fantasy, including norse myth and the world of the Faeire Queen, then seek to work out scientifically the workings of magic in each world, which follow a set of laws like natural, physical laws.

The reasoning behind that is a little convoluted and uninteresting but the adventure roles along fantastically, there are a number of different dialects introduced with each world, a different cultural back drop and scene set.

It should interest students or psychologists the ways in which theory and action are contrasted between the main protagonists and their personalities and how it results in them being fitted to or out of step with their environments.

It's not high fantasy like Tolkein but its great fun without a doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 27 Sep 2013
By 
Niccolò Sensi "nicksensi" (Bagnolo (GR), Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Compleat Enchanter (FANTASY MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
The book is in perfect status and it is arrived in short time.
I recommended this seller to every fantasy lover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 14 Sep 2013
By 
veejay (Powys, Cymru) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Compleat Enchanter (FANTASY MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
I have read many Sprague de Camp books , and others where he collaborated with other Fantasy authors. I have been looking for an omnibus edition for years. This book is great fon and good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forget it's age, read masters at work, 30 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Compleat Enchanter (FANTASY MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
While some of the plotlines seem cliched, remember that the cliches came after these stories. (Yes I know that the one-liner said forget the age of this book, but.... The Compleat Enchanter and it's companion volume "The Enchanter Compleated" rip into most of the fantasy genres of the period and with tongue stuck firmly in cheek play with the original storylines.
Pratchett, Holt et al owe a lot to this pair
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 21 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Compleat Enchanter (FANTASY MASTERWORKS) (Paperback)
Being a lover of magic, I really had high hopes for this book which has been deemed a masterwork. Unfortunately it fell far beneath my expectations.
The idea that magic can be equated to the laws of mathematics and physics was indeed original and could have been highly successful.
The prose itself is fairly well written but it is flat. The characters remain 2 dimensional throughout and the plot infrequently grabbed my interest. The problem seemed to be a lack of excitement in the writing style, even when Shea and Chalmers are captured by Da Dergas and make a (what should be exciting) escape.
Not a page turner, resulting in my desertion of the book halfway through - not something I like to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Compleat Enchanter (FANTASY MASTERWORKS)
The Compleat Enchanter (FANTASY MASTERWORKS) by Fletcher Pratt (Paperback - 12 Oct 2000)
Used & New from: £0.43
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews