Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read
Augusta Ballinger (last of the wild, reckless Northumberland Ballingers) is quite sure that it is all a mistake that the chillingly pompous but dangerously disturbing Earl of Graystone wishes to marry her, they are complete opposites.

This is a good read and has an interesting plot in which Augusta tries to clear her brothers name who was murdered and everybody...
Published on 10 Oct. 2006 by Mrs. A. Compton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars predictable, predictable
The beginning of it was quite good, even some parts of it were good but I honestly got fed up with the "being the last one of the blood line who are blah blah". In fact I ended quite wishing I could push Augusta over a cliff to add more edge to the plot. It was a good plotline but that overdid it and totally ruined it, turning into a much predictable thing. A pity...
Published on 10 Aug. 2006 by Alnie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 10 Oct. 2006
By 
Mrs. A. Compton (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rendezvous (Paperback)
Augusta Ballinger (last of the wild, reckless Northumberland Ballingers) is quite sure that it is all a mistake that the chillingly pompous but dangerously disturbing Earl of Graystone wishes to marry her, they are complete opposites.

This is a good read and has an interesting plot in which Augusta tries to clear her brothers name who was murdered and everybody believes was a French spy, (including the Earl of Greystone who was Englands head spy Nemesis, who is still trying to catch a French spy named spider who was responsible for many deaths).

This is more than just a romance and also has the mysteries of who the spider was, whether Aususta's brother was a French spy and also some good secondary characters.

I had to take one star away for the severe over-use of the phrase 'Northumberland Ballingers' which became very annoying!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars predictable, predictable, 10 Aug. 2006
This review is from: Rendezvous (Mass Market Paperback)
The beginning of it was quite good, even some parts of it were good but I honestly got fed up with the "being the last one of the blood line who are blah blah". In fact I ended quite wishing I could push Augusta over a cliff to add more edge to the plot. It was a good plotline but that overdid it and totally ruined it, turning into a much predictable thing. A pity characters like Peter Sheldrake didn't get as much chances to get on depicted their actions and likes, but for Augusta and Graystone they're total boredom when it comes to dialogues and anything like. THe only thing discussed along the way is the way Northumberland Ballingers are and how they rock and how Augusta must act to comply to them...Rubish. Can be fun some pages but a whole 360 gets irritating...Giving a 2 star is like too much even...but every book of Quick that I've read so far gets predictable as soon as the starring couple gets married soon in the plot...If you want a good couple dialogue and action with real good chemistry go and read Quick's I Thee Wed. My favourite so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book !, 31 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Rendezvous (Paperback)
This was an enjoyable book with a lot of chemistry between Augusta and the Lord! Definitely an Amanda Quick book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Amanda Quick's best, 2 Nov. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Rendezvous (Mass Market Paperback)
I really enjoyed Rendezvous. I'd rank it as one of Amanda Quick's best - better than her later books. The action starts almost immediately. The constant bantering is fun. It follows the plot in the majority of Ms. Quick's books - the girl is trying to get him to admit he loves her and he is trying to control her actions which the heroine refused to let him do. Even though the plot is familiar, if you are reading her books for this type of style - you get what you're looking for! I would recommend it. It was very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You'll be saying "Northumberland Ballingers" in your sleep, 12 Feb. 2002
This review is from: Rendezvous (Paperback)
Yes, as another reviewer has noted, the phrase "Northumberland Ballingers" is used with irritating frequency.
Apart from that little point, 'Rendezvous' is a great book. Amanda Quick has an amazing talent. She writes books that have improbable plots, two-dimensional characters, and dialogue that skirts parody - "I am not at all that is a sound notion, my lord." Despite all these things, her books are always enormously enjoyable, the best possible thing is you want a bit of escapism.
Suspend your disbelief, indulge, and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating!, 26 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rendezvous (Paperback)
I did enjoy this book, but I found one area extremly irrating. I read the hard back edition which has 360 pages. At least 350 (well it feels like that or more) pages had the phrase "Northumberland Ballinger(s)" in it which was really, really annoying! If you read this book by the time you get a couple of chapters into it you know who Augusta's family were and what their traits were like, therefore I did not feel that I needed to be reminded on every page what her family was like and why she acted the way she did. But then maybe thats just me. I would recommend this book aslong as you are not easliy irraited as it is a lovely romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 27 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Rendezvous (Mass Market Paperback)
I love all of Amanda Quick's Books, but in this book she really outdoes herself! She manages to combine romance with elements of mystery and suspence. Graystone is a man you can respect, and Augusta is a delight to anyone who enjoys a witty character. A brilliant Regency Novel with more than enough spice to keep a reader gripped. If you enjoy this novel I stongly recommend you read the novels she's written as Jayne Castle (Scince Fiction/Romance) and her Contemporary Novels (Jayne Krentz).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amanda Quick, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rendezvous (Kindle Edition)
Very much in her usual style. Not as memorable as some and slightly banal but good for a light read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 2 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rendezvous (Kindle Edition)
did not like the main people in story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The first A. Q. book I ever read., 14 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Rendezvous (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the one that got me stared with A. Q. and now Amanda Quick is one of my favorite authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rendezvous
Rendezvous by Amanda Quick (Hardcover - 10 Feb. 1994)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews