Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Memories!
I was nine when this book came out nearly 20 years ago. We had it read to us in class and I got a copy for Christmas. I still have it on my bookshelf, one of the very few books I have kept from my childhood. It is simply told, well illustrated with watercolours and touches on themes that children will pick up on and have opinions about: war, friendship, family, history,...
Published 20 months ago by Travelling Student

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I think it was brilliant.
War Game starts in Suffolk with Freddie ,Will , Billy and Lacey having a game of football. Then it explains about Kaiser Bill and the trouble in Germany. The boys then decided to sign up for the war.It then tells you about the trenches.Then they were killed in the war.
I think this book should be for age group 9+ because it has some hard words in it and the writing...
Published on 19 Mar 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Poetry is in the Pity, 2 Sep 2009
If anything ever displays war as the tragedy it is,this true story of the First World War shows it above all others.It is movingly told and all the more potently and memorably because so many of the author's relatives were killed during it in the flowering of their manhood while the dew of youth was still on their brow.
Now in the ranks of death and now only names inscribed in marble in some sad shires it breaks the heart to know these same young men sang songs together and played a game of football across no-mans land before the rifles,cannons,and machine guns rattled out death to hundreds of thousands of them on both sides.My grandfather was killed at Ypres,my father was badly scarred and lost the right side of his face,his nose and right eye in the Second World War at Cassino and I was slightly wounded myself when I saw service with the Argylls in Berlin during the so called Cold War.The tears sprang to my eyes while reading this book,I could not stop either sobbing or reading,at its end there was both.Dulce et decorum este pro patria Mori.What gross untruths that sent innocent men to their deaths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good, informative read., 10 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again Michael Foreman brings history to life with his brilliant illustrations alongside easy to read detail. Children can enjoy learning at the same time as relaxing with a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 18 April 2002
By A Customer
War game is a book about four young country lads going to war. They set off with the idea that going to war would be a bit of a game. In basic training they began to find out what it was really like when they didn’t even have a uniform. They set of in high spirits for the front. The fun continued as they rode in London buses across France, being cheered all the way by French people.
They arrived at the front, and were sent into the trenches, to spend the next three months in several feet of water, and only several yards away from the enemy. On Christmas Day they played football with the Germans and some became friends. In the days that follo0wed, men in the front trenches would take turns to fire, while the other side kept their heads down...
I enjoyed this book because it helped me to see and understand what it was like in the First World War. It was an interesting read, I would read it again and recommend it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The war game is a superbly written book., 19 Mar 2002
By A Customer
The war Game is a brilliant book written by Michael Foreman. It explains in simple terms what the war was like for the soldiers from first joined the army to fighting the Germans in the trenches.
It starts with four friends Will, Lacey, Fredy and Billy joining up for the war. They thought it would be an adventure, however when they arrived at the trenches they were dismayed to see the dead and wounded. Then on Christmas Eve the soldiers (British and German) had a friendly game of football, after that none of them wanted too fight any more because they had all made friends. Then new German troops came,and started shooting again...
I would recommend this book to ages eight to twelve years, because Micheal uses simple language and great illustations.
My favourite part of this book is when the boys joined the army and arrived at the trenches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War Game is a fabulos, exciting, incredible and adventurous., 19 Mar 2002
By A Customer
War Game is about four boys who went to join up for the First World War.Their names are Billy, Freddie,Lacey and Will.
One day they went to sign up for the World War to Honour their Country. They were disappointed when the went to training camp because they did not get training clothes they had to do it in what the were wearing. When they moved from England to France they walked through the town and got lots and lots of cheers! They were very proud! As they went through a town in France (in a windowless bus with little holes you could peep through) That was already blown to bits, Freddie thought it looked just like fireworks! When they got to the discusting, muddy trenches Will and Freddie were first to be posted as sentries. By the time it was dinner they all felt like not having any dinner because they had to eat rats, slugs (YUK) beatles and rock, hard biscuits. They all thought war would be over by Christmas but it wasn't. On Christmas Eve the Germans and English kept singing songs to each other. On Christmas day they had a nice cooked breakfast and after that a sudden but very exciting game of football happened. Then straight after that blackness fell and the was over.
I think this is a great book and I definitely would read it again.I would give it FIVE out of FIVE. The plot is just great. I would recommend this to eight years and over. My best part was when the Germans and the English had a game of football. I thought there is no negative parts in this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars War Game is a superb book with an interesting tale., 19 Mar 2002
By A Customer
War Game tells us about life in the trenches, during World War one. It all starts when four young boys,(Will, Lacey, Billy and Freddie)think that it would be a great adventure, to enlist for the war. It's very dramatic and sometimes will make you cry, but on the whole it is an excellent book. My favourite part was where they forgot about the war on Christmas day and played a game of football....I'd give it FOUR out off FIVE and would recommend it to age seven and above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four boys go to war and play a historical game of football, 19 Mar 2002
By A Customer
War Game is an exciting book about Will's life in the war. This book has got excitement and crontrasts with great sadness as well. It starts off with Will and his mates (Billy, Freddie and Lacey) playing football in a football match and
(concludes to him) dying in France.
I think this book is quite educational because it tells you what happened in the war, what people ate, what life was like in the trenches and finally what posters were up. I would recommend this book for anybody because it is so easy and pleasurable to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thought provoking interesting book., 12 Mar 2002
By A Customer
War Game
Will is happy to be with his friends of who are dear to him. When there's a big decision to be made Will, will be cautious. He must be brave especially to join the army.
Billy is brave and courageous and adventurous. He is in good company with Freddy, Will and Lacey. He is more adventurous and daring than the rest of his friends.
Lacey is a very proud boy because he is the eldest and because he has to look after Billy. He looks down to his friends although he is friendly to Will, Billy and Freddie. I think he is unsure about going to war because he knows the consequences but still he would go to war because he has to look after Billy.
Freddie is unsure about going to war or any hardship as such. He would go to war though because he wouldn't let his friends go off to war without him. He is quite brave and courageous, well enough to go to war.
Settings
The settings go from the sweet smelling, quiet, beautiful countryside to the horrific, dirty, smelly, chaotic trenches.
Events and happenings
Firstly Will, Billy, Freddie and Lacey were motivated by applause up the stage to show that they were going to war. They were excited about war when they travelled on the boat to France and when they travelled through the fields of France, but as they progressed towards the battlefield they constantly grew cautious. When they finally got to the trenches they were soon taken to the front line. They were shooting for long periods of time. They then became friends with the front line of Germans and played football with the friendly Germans. Then new more fierce Germans were put on the frontline in exchange for the old ones. Freddie kicked the ball into no-mans land and then all of them ran in there usual formations at the Germans but were gunned down.
It was a fairly good book because I like books about war and it held my interest all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'An emotional tale', 12 Mar 2002
By A Customer
War Game
'War Game' is an exciting tragedy set in the First World War. A group of footballers decide to join the army; there they meet the friendly Germans from Saxony. The 'Tommys' become friends with the enemy by giving each other shooting practice; their fun is cut short as fresh soldiers from Prussia ready to fight replace the friendly enemy! In my opinion, War game is a 'must read' book. Even though it's quite short I think it could challenge J.R.R. Tolkein's novel: The Hobbit. The author shows a lot of skill in his writing and pictures, which create an inviting picture in your mind.
This book would probably be more exciting for the age range of 7 to 12 year olds.
Review by
Alexander from West Hallam in Derbyshire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An emotional tale of war., 12 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This story tells of four friends who joined the Army during the First World War. Placed on the front line, the lives were constantly in danger, but they did not give up, despite the terrible conditions in which they fought. Their excitement soon faded, and they no longer saw the war as a child's game.
On Christmas Day, against all expectations, the two armies emerged from their trenches to greet each other. To begin with, they exchanged gifts, until a ball was brought forward, and the two sides played a game of football.
Michael Foreman's tale is based on a true story, and won the Smarties Grand Prix. Complete with realistic illustrations and extracts from newspapers, it's an intriguing book, and I would recommend it to anyone over nine interested in historic tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

War Game
War Game by Michael Foreman (Paperback - 23 Oct 1995)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews