Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Again Carter delivers!!!!
This man was born to write everything he does is interesting funny or gripping he's love for his family and friends is mind blowing it makes you think how boring your own life is at times..need some more Paul "" if you would be so kind have read them all now.
Published 1 month ago by Eddie Hayman

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is this book a pot-boiler, mate?
Paul's first book, 'Don't Tell Mum I Work on the Rigs' was funny and a great read. This one is neither.

It's supposed to be the story of a journey round Australia on a motorbike, so I expected it to be a litany of hilarious stories about people, places and mishaps along the route. It isn't.

The first half of the book is just a diary of how Paul...
Published on 9 Jan 2012 by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is this book a pot-boiler, mate?, 9 Jan 2012
By 
Mike (Corsham, Wilts) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Is That Bike Diesel, Mate?: One Man, One Bike and the First Lap Around Australia on Used Cooking Oil (Paperback)
Paul's first book, 'Don't Tell Mum I Work on the Rigs' was funny and a great read. This one is neither.

It's supposed to be the story of a journey round Australia on a motorbike, so I expected it to be a litany of hilarious stories about people, places and mishaps along the route. It isn't.

The first half of the book is just a diary of how Paul prepared for the journey, with lots of names of different people who helped him (all of whom call each other mate). The second half is just a diary of the places Paul visited, with lots of names of different people who helped him etc etc. At least, I think it is - quite frankly I gave it all up for lost about half way round.

If you're interested in the details of CVT belts for Italian irrigation pump diesels, if you like to read about lots of people you don't know calling each other mate, then this book may be for you. Oh yes, Paul does include his much-vaunted 'seriously bad language' and - helpfully - puts much of it in capital letters just in case you might miss it. Great.

Sorry Paul, loved your first book. Bored by this one, which seems to be just a means of paying for the trip and thanking the sponsors and others who helped him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I think it is a very good book, just like Paul Carter's other two book, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Is That Bike Diesel, Mate?: One Man, One Bike and the First Lap Around Australia on Used Cooking Oil (Paperback)
I think it is a very good book, just like Paul Carter's other two book.

I recommend this book :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Again Carter delivers!!!!, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This man was born to write everything he does is interesting funny or gripping he's love for his family and friends is mind blowing it makes you think how boring your own life is at times..need some more Paul "" if you would be so kind have read them all now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Is That Bike Diesel, Mate?: One Man, One Bike and the First Lap Around Australia on Used Cooking Oil (Paperback)
But still a very good read, and a great travel novel for those wishing to travel round Australia. In fact I was left with so many places I had turned the corner of the page over on, it was a shame I had to leave the book in Cuba whilst 'saving weight' coming home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good book from Paul Carter, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Is That Bike Diesel, Mate?: One Man, One Bike and the First Lap Around Australia on Used Cooking Oil (Paperback)
i enjoyed this, but the end seemed a bit rushed. There was a huge chunk of journey that was summed up in a couple of pages, which I felt I had been cheated out of. Still a good book, but his other books are better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book for the lads, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading other Paul Carter books found this one tamer, funny in parts but very detailed about the bike, definitely a lads book, overall a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read., 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Is That Bike Diesel, Mate?: One Man, One Bike and the First Lap Around Australia on Used Cooking Oil (Paperback)
Most definitely a "can not put down book" Now going to get his other books. why the hell should I have to put another six words then? Eh! Eh! Eh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Is That Bike Diesel, Mate?: One Man, One Bike and the First Lap Around Australia on Used Cooking Oil (Paperback)
After reading all of Paul Carters other books of travelling the world and working with interesting characters this book was a bit slow, however, that’s not to say it isn't worth a read! As a biker and engineer I relate to the connection he has within the book with the motorcycle and appreciate the task in hand. Still a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I've been waiting for a new book by this author..., 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Is That Bike Diesel, Mate?: One Man, One Bike and the First Lap Around Australia on Used Cooking Oil (Paperback)
...And this didn't disappoint. More hilariously written escapades from Paul Carter. It's more introspective than his earlier two (he's settled down with wife and kiddy down now), so a little bit of a departure in places from what you might expect - but all told with the same wit and originality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Is that bike diesel mate?, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Is That Bike Diesel, Mate?: One Man, One Bike and the First Lap Around Australia on Used Cooking Oil (Paperback)
The reviews I read before purchase talked about it being a bit lightweight on adventure & too much tech talk. The tech talk swung it for me. I thought the balance was right & I enjoyed the read.
It did seem a bit rushed on the home leg back to Perth. Not a travelogue if thats what you're looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews