Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Leadership Feast
As a senior manager within a major UK organisation, I am naturally attracted to material that can help me broaden my personal understanding of leadership.
However, I seldom come across a leadership text that is as readily accessible as Nelson`s Way; whilst offering thought provoking stimulation for the academic reader too.
I have used a number of the examples...
Published on 23 Jan 2006 by T.M.SUTTON

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Reading list for BRNC
I read this book as it was one that I had seen on the reading list for BRNC, as books go I wouldn't say it was the best I've ever read, it gave you an insight into Nelson's leadership ways but overall the book was somewhat poorly set out, at one time jumping from him being 13, to the Battle of the Nile and then back to being a boy again. Over all a fairly good book but...
Published 4 months ago by joe hildreth


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Leadership Feast, 23 Jan 2006
This review is from: Nelson's Way: Leadership Lessons from the Great Commander (Paperback)
As a senior manager within a major UK organisation, I am naturally attracted to material that can help me broaden my personal understanding of leadership.
However, I seldom come across a leadership text that is as readily accessible as Nelson`s Way; whilst offering thought provoking stimulation for the academic reader too.
I have used a number of the examples detailed within the script to stimulate some lively debate about leadership in the 21st century with my team - particularly in drawing direct comparisons with the leadership challenges of Nelson`s day and how they compare to situations that we all face as leaders in modern organisations today. This is a really well written, easy to read book that is capable of crossing the boundary that exists between the worlds of academia and industry.
I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for material that helps to explore leadership and in a context that anyone can relate to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leader or Manager?, 23 Oct 2011
This review is from: Nelson's Way: Leadership Lessons from the Great Commander (Paperback)
For at least the last twenty years the debate has raged, should one be a leader or a manager? The MBA generation think they can 'manage' leadership without having to get to know the people, the activity or the functions they are managing. This terrific book is about the need for anyone who aspires to be a leader or a manager, to be both. As the books says, some are born to lead, others have to work hard to master it.

Nelson is often regarded as the epitome of a leader, but how many people realise that he was a star quality manager as well? In fact, his reputation as a leader was built on his ability to manage myriad tasks, functions and people. He was a fantastic builder of teams, he built trust in those who he led and showed a masterly understanding of the principles Maslow would lay down almost a century and a half after his death. He managed a fleet, often spending days in his cabin, writing (No email then!) by hand numerous instructions, orders and letters - often starting at 05.00 and finishing near midnight. He cared for the seamen - one vignette tells you how much - as he departed for Trafalgar the mother of a sailor pushed through the throng and begged him to give a letter to her son. Most Admirals would have sent her packing, Nelson didn't. He told her to kiss the letter so he might deliver both the letter and a kiss ... And he did.

He breakfasted daily with the most junior officers in his ships and dined in the evening with the more senior. Even the sailors and Warrant Officers could expect to find him among them, celebrating or mourning. His leadership was from the front, but more importantly it was his attention to detail, his ability to make clear exactly what he expected - and then to trust his people to achieve it, that sets him apart even today.

This book is an eye-opener, it should be compulsory reading for every MBA student and every manager. It is well written, very readable, and has some truly fascinating examples and commentary from some well known contemporary figures. Superb book, one I am glad to have found.

Their Lordships Request: A Harry Heron Adventure Out Of Time The Enemy is Within!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Admiral Nelson's admirable leadership lessons, 15 Feb 2007
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nelson's Way: Leadership Lessons from the Great Commander (Paperback)
In an age where true heroism seems dead, it's no surprise that modern leaders feel compelled to look to history for suitable role models. The British war hero Admiral Horatio Nelson is such a figure, although his brand of heroism wasn't as perfect as you might hope. Stephanie Jones and Jonathan Gosling, unabashed Nelson fans, analyze his life, finding both inspiration and ambiguity in his exploits. Nelson was a great leader, true, but also a reckless one who sought glory and flouted convention. This intriguing study of his life offers advice and examples that remain useful two centuries after his death. We recommend this swashbuckling biography and guide to leaders and would-be leaders who want a fresh look at management theory in practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Reading list for BRNC, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nelson's Way: Leadership Lessons from the Great Commander (Paperback)
I read this book as it was one that I had seen on the reading list for BRNC, as books go I wouldn't say it was the best I've ever read, it gave you an insight into Nelson's leadership ways but overall the book was somewhat poorly set out, at one time jumping from him being 13, to the Battle of the Nile and then back to being a boy again. Over all a fairly good book but nothing special, I much prefer the current book I'm reading '100 days' by Woodward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a well written book. I really feel I have learned a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nelson's Way: Leadership Lessons from the Great Commander
Nelson's Way: Leadership Lessons from the Great Commander by Jonathan Gosling (Paperback - 10 Oct 2005)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews