Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychology is taking a positive turn
= POSITIVE PSYCHOLOGY =
Until recently psychology has mainly been working within a disease model: a strong emphasis has been placed on discovering deficits in human behavior and finding ways to repair this damage. Psychologist hardly focused on in doing studies acquiring knowledge about healthy functioning and building strengths. In other words: they have focused...
Published on 11 Sep 2002 by Coert Visser

versus
38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hhmmm....
I bought this book having already read Learned Optimism, which I found both interesting and useful (if only to codify some things you probably do already). Authentic Happiness is, in my opinion, a less impressive book but it has some plus points.

For one, Seligman has an easy going writing style, and this is no small achievement given (if you check out the...
Published on 12 Jun 2009 by tomsk77


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychology is taking a positive turn, 11 Sep 2002
By 
Coert Visser "solutionfocusedchange.com" (Driebergen Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= POSITIVE PSYCHOLOGY =
Until recently psychology has mainly been working within a disease model: a strong emphasis has been placed on discovering deficits in human behavior and finding ways to repair this damage. Psychologist hardly focused on in doing studies acquiring knowledge about healthy functioning and building strengths. In other words: they have focused solely on taking away something negative (the disfunctioning) instead of adding something positive (increasing mental and behavioral health). The result: psychologist know little about healthy and happy functioning. This situation has been changing now since the rise of positive psychology a few years ago. What is Positive Psychology? It is a new movement in psychology, originated by Martin Seligman and a few other prominent psychologists among whom Mihali Csikszentmihalyi (author of FLOW). It aims to be a psychological science about the best things in life. Main topics of study are: positive emotions, positive traits and positive institutions. This book, Authentic Happiness, is the first book on positive psychology. Seligman is its main spokesperson.
= HAPPINESS =
This book mainly deals with the phenomenon of happiness. According to Seligman your enduring level op happiness results from three factors: 1) your SET RANGE ( the basic biologically determined range within which your happiness normally will be), 2) the CIRCUMSTANCES OF YOUR LIFE (some conditions - like being married and living in a democratic country- somehow seem to contribute to happiness, and 3) your VOLUNTARY CONTROL ( the things you can do to get your happiness to the upper part of your set range. Ok, then how to get this done? Before answering this question Seligman explains that happiness/positive emotion can refer to three domains: the PAST (satisfaction, contentment, fulfilment, pride and serenity), the PRESENT (joy, ecstasy, calm, zest, ebullience, pleasure and flow) and the FUTURE (optimism, hope faith, trust). Then the author comes up with suggestions to improve your happiness:
= HOW TO INCREASE YOUR HAPPINESS =
1) to be happier about your past, you need to: 1) let go of the false belief that your past negative experiences determine your present and future, 2) increase your gratitude about the good things in your past and 3) learn how to forgive past wrongs.
2) to be happier in your present, you need to distinguish between PLEASURES and GRATIFICATIONS. Pleasures are delights that have clear sensory and strong emotional components that require little if any thinking. Gratifications are flow-experiences. They are activities we very much like doing but that are not necessarily accompanied by any raw feelings at all. The gratifications last longer than the pleasures and they are undergirded by our strengths and virtues. The key to happiness in past and future lies in enhancing gratifications.
3) to be happier about your future, you need to change your explanatory style in order to become more optimistic and hopeful (for an explanation read my review of Seligman's book LEARNED OPTIMISM).
= AUTHENTIC HAPPINESS BY USING YOUR STRENGTHS =
These explanations imply what Seligman means by AUTHENTIC HAPPINESS. He says we should not rely on shortcuts like television watching, chocolate eating, loveless sex, and buying things to feel happy. He explains that positive emotion alienated from the exercise of character leads to emptiness, to inauthenticity, and to depression. So we want to feel like we deserved our positive feelings. That's why Seligman says UTHENTIC HAPPINESS comes from identifying and cultivating your most fundamental strengths (so-called SIGNATURE STRENGTHS) and using them everyday in work, love, play, and parenting. This message reminds of the one in Csikszentmihalyi's FINDING FLOW (see my review).
= CORE VIRTUES AND STRENGTHS =
Psychology has devised a classification system (language) for describing abnormal behavior and mental diseases. But it lacked a language describing human effectiveness and sanity. That is why Seligman and a team of scholars researched sources from all kinds of cultures and times in history and found that there is a strong convergence in what these traditions consider to be virtues and strengths. This led to the formulation of a classification system of virtues and strengths. SIX CORE VIRTUES: 1) Wisdom and knowledge, 2) courage, 3) Love and humanity, 4) Justice, 5) Temperance, 6) Spirituality and transcendence. Further they identified 24 strengths corresponding to these virtues. This book contains definitions of this taxonomy and some questionnaires for the reader to complete (the questionnaires can be found on the web too, by the way).
= CONCLUSION =
Some words about the form and style of the book. It is pleasantly written. Seligman writes in a rather personal and honest style which makes the book lively (for instance he exclaims on page 24: "I am a hideous example of my own theory.") I recommend this book to anyone interested in psychology and in happiness (although it is not a self-help book in the first place, I think). The book ends reflectively dealing with the relationship between positive emotions and win-win situations, and speculating that we may be on the threshold of an era of win-win games and good-felling. I enjoyed reading the book and I like positive psychology. It is in many ways reminiscent of humanistic psychology (which I always liked) but has a more scientific approach. I have a good hope it will be a success.
Coert Visser...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


279 of 291 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychology is taking a positive turn, 20 Mar 2003
By 
Coert Visser "solutionfocusedchange.com" (Driebergen Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Authentic Happiness: Using the New Positive Psychology to Realise Your Potential for Lasting Fulfilment (Paperback)
= POSITIVE PSYCHOLOGY =
Until recently psychology has mainly been working within a disease model: a strong emphasis has been placed on discovering deficits in human behavior and finding ways to repair this damage. Psychologist hardly focused on in doing studies acquiring knowledge about healthy functioning and building strengths. In other words: they have focused solely on taking away something negative (the disfunctioning) instead of adding something positive (increasing mental and behavioral health). The result: psychologist know little about healthy and happy functioning. This situation has been changing now since the rise of positive psychology a few years ago. What is Positive Psychology? It is a new movement in psychology, originated by Martin Seligman and a few other prominent psychologists among whom Mihali Csikszentmihalyi (author of FLOW). It aims to be a psychological science about the best things in life. Main topics of study are: positive emotions, positive traits and positive institutions. This book, Authentic Happiness, is the first book on positive psychology. Seligman is its main spokesperson.
= HAPPINESS =
This book mainly deals with the phenomenon of happiness. According to Seligman your enduring level op happiness results from three factors: 1) your SET RANGE ( the basic biologically determined range within which your happiness normally will be), 2) the CIRCUMSTANCES OF YOUR LIFE (some conditions - like being married and living in a democratic country- somehow seem to contribute to happiness, and 3) your VOLUNTARY CONTROL ( the things you can do to get your happiness to the upper part of your set range. Ok, then how to get this done? Before answering this question Seligman explains that happiness/positive emotion can refer to three domains: the PAST (satisfaction, contentment, fulfilment, pride and serenity), the PRESENT (joy, ecstasy, calm, zest, ebullience, pleasure and flow) and the FUTURE (optimism, hope faith, trust). Then the author comes up with suggestions to improve your happiness:
= HOW TO INCREASE YOUR HAPPINESS =
1) to be happier about your past, you need to: 1) let go of the false belief that your past negative experiences determine your present and future, 2) increase your gratitude about the good things in your past and 3) learn how to forgive past wrongs.
2) to be happier in your present, you need to distinguish between PLEASURES and GRATIFICATIONS. Pleasures are delights that have clear sensory and strong emotional components that require little if any thinking. Gratifications are flow-experiences. They are activities we very much like doing but that are not necessarily accompanied by any raw feelings at all. The gratifications last longer than the pleasures and they are undergirded by our strengths and virtues. The key to happiness in past and future lies in enhancing gratifications.
3) to be happier about your future, you need to change your explanatory style in order to become more optimistic and hopeful (for an explanation read my review of Seligman's book LEARNED OPTIMISM).
= AUTHENTIC HAPPINESS BY USING YOUR STRENGTHS =
These explanations imply what Seligman means by AUTHENTIC HAPPINESS. He says we should not rely on shortcuts like television watching, chocolate eating, loveless sex, and buying things to feel happy. He explains that positive emotion alienated from the exercise of character leads to emptiness, to inauthenticity, and to depression. So we want to feel like we deserved our positive feelings. That's why Seligman says UTHENTIC HAPPINESS comes from identifying and cultivating your most fundamental strengths (so-called SIGNATURE STRENGTHS) and using them everyday in work, love, play, and parenting. This message reminds of the one in Csikszentmihalyi's FINDING FLOW (see my review).
= CORE VIRTUES AND STRENGTHS =
Psychology has devised a classification system (language) for describing abnormal behavior and mental diseases. But it lacked a language describing human effectiveness and sanity. That is why Seligman and a team of scholars researched sources from all kinds of cultures and times in history and found that there is a strong convergence in what these traditions consider to be virtues and strengths. This led to the formulation of a classification system of virtues and strengths. SIX CORE VIRTUES: 1) Wisdom and knowledge, 2) courage, 3) Love and humanity, 4) Justice, 5) Temperance, 6) Spirituality and transcendence. Further they identified 24 strengths corresponding to these virtues. This book contains definitions of this taxonomy and some questionnaires for the reader to complete (the questionnaires can be found on the web too, by the way).
= CONCLUSION =
Some words about the form and style of the book. It is pleasantly written. Seligman writes in a rather personal and honest style which makes the book lively (for instance he exclaims on page 24: "I am a hideous example of my own theory.") I recommend this book to anyone interested in psychology and in happiness (although it is not a self-help book in the first place, I think). The book ends reflectively dealing with the relationship between positive emotions and win-win situations, and speculating that we may be on the threshold of an era of win-win games and good-felling. I enjoyed reading the book and I like positive psychology. It is in many ways reminiscent of humanistic psychology (which I always liked) but has a more scientific approach. I have a good hope it will be a success.
Coert Visser, [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


151 of 160 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The New Wave of Humanistic Psychology, 23 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Authentic Happiness: Using the New Positive Psychology to Realise Your Potential for Lasting Fulfilment (Paperback)
The author, American psychologist Dr. Martin Seligman, is famous for his book Learned Optimism. And his new book, Authentic Happiness, is a useful addition with an especially good web site presenting personality tests. Not all psychologists, however, have agreed with, or found research support for, Dr. Seligman's theory of optimism. Some parts of this "Positive Psychology Movement" have been found to be too one-sided and unrealistic about optimism. The academic book about that more balanced research and theory is Optimism and Pessimism edited by Dr. Chang. That book has a chapter about constructive pessimism by Dr. Norem, the author of the Positive Power of Negative Thinking. Some psychologists say Dr. Seligman's theory of Positive Psychology is too much a 'one size fits all' model of healthy personality. Individual and cultural differences seem to be more important than Dr. Seligman implies -- his approach may be a bit too "American" and optimistic for some readers. The recent surge of research on Resiliency in psychology indicates that individual differences in personality are fundamental -- what helps me won't necessarily help you. Keeping an open mind while exploring psychological health seems to be the key. In any case, Dr. Seligman does present some of the answers for some of the people, and that alone is a very worthwhile contribution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authentic Happiness, 19 Dec 2008
This review is from: Authentic Happiness: Using the New Positive Psychology to Realise Your Potential for Lasting Fulfilment (Paperback)
Written by the former president of the American Psychological Association, and author of over a dozen books including the popular Learned Optimism: How to Change Your Mind and Your Life, this title is one of the better selling happiness books out there.

First off, this book was a little harder read for me than most happiness books- I have the paperback book which has small print, perhaps that was a factor. I'm also partial to shorter, just-give-me-the-facts happiness books, such as Finding Happiness in a Frustrating World- so that might also explain why I plodded my way through pages at times. But having said that, there's IS lot of gems in here for happiness searchers like myself.

While this is the kind of book I could write a really long review about, I think I'll just discuss what I consider to be the best bits for those looking for ways to become happier- which I think is why most people would buy this book. Soooo.....

1) the book provides the reader with a "happiness formula", which is H = S + C + V. This works out to happiness = your genetic Set point + intervening Circumstances + factors under you Voluntary control. So, since your can't do much about changing your genetics, when it comes to becoming happier, that leaves room for improvement in the areas of circumstances and voluntary activities.

2) the book suggests that if you want to lastingly raise your level of happiness by changing the external circumstances of your life, you should: live in a wealthy democracy, get married, avoid negative events and negative emotion, acquire a rich social network, and get religion. Conversely, you needn't bother to do the following: make more money, stay healthy, get as much education as possible, or try to change your race or move to a sunnier climate. However even if you could alter all of these things, it would not do much for you as this stuff accounts for only a small part of your happiness. On to Voluntary efforts...

3) This is where most of the book spends a substantial part of its efforts showing you how to be happier, and there's a lot of "meat" to sink your teeth into, with sections on how to obtain more satisfaction with your past, what consitutes happiness about the future, and happiness in the present. Also, the book spend much time talking about how happiness can be cultivated by identifying and nurturing our traits, such as humor, optimism, generosity or kindness.

Readers who have read other happiness books, such as those by Jim Johnson or Sonja Lyubomirsky, will already be well familiar with the idea that the best way to increase your happiness is through intentional or voluntary activities. It makes a lot of sense, as you can't change your genetics, and circumstances are either out of your control, or make very little contributions to your happiness. Like this book, I agree that using intentional activities is the route to go when it comes to raising lasting happiness levels- and this book will help you out with that a lot. Happy trails!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hhmmm...., 12 Jun 2009
This review is from: Authentic Happiness: Using the New Positive Psychology to Realise Your Potential for Lasting Fulfilment (Paperback)
I bought this book having already read Learned Optimism, which I found both interesting and useful (if only to codify some things you probably do already). Authentic Happiness is, in my opinion, a less impressive book but it has some plus points.

For one, Seligman has an easy going writing style, and this is no small achievement given (if you check out the endnotes etc) he is drawing on a lot of research to make his argument. All though it does read too much (for me) like a self-help book, and much of it sounds like common sense, it is worth remembering that there is serious research underpinning Seligman's ideas. And speaking as a new dad, I did find the section on raising kids useful.

But I didn't find that much useful material in it compared to Learned Optimism. In part this is because the optimism material is repeated, and the 'strengths' section effectively appears twice (second time in the raising kids section). What's more I didn't find the signature strengths section particularly convincing. The questions in some cases seem more leading than, say, isometric tests.

Worst of all, I'm afraid, is the last chapter where the tries to extend positive psychology into the question of whether there is a god. This just left me feeling a bit embarrassed, as it reads like the worst kind of New Age-y blah.

So not a winner for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Take on Virtue and Happiness, 6 Feb 2006
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
We highly recommend this work by Martin E. P. Seligman, the founder of "positive psychology" and the author of Learned Optimism. This book combines the erudition of psychological research with the accessibility of a self-help text. The author explains why happiness matters. He recapitulates and takes issue with the flawed deterministic assumptions that guided much of twentieth century psychology. He is careful to emphasize the importance of your individual control over your feelings and thoughts. The idea that people actually are in control of their fate marks a departure from Freudianism and behaviorism. Seligman argues, instead, for an understanding of character and virtue rooted in early Greek philosophy. However, his book is not merely theoretical or descriptive. He offers guidance on how you can change your way of thinking to change how you feel - and, thereby, get on the road to achieving long-term happiness for yourself and for others, especially your children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable, life changing book, 10 Jun 2006
This review is from: Authentic Happiness (Paperback)
This is NOT head in the clouds new age thinking, but respectable science presented for the lay reader. Dr Seligman has a way with words and writes a very readable book. He presents his research into unhappiness and pessimism and gives exercises in how to change your thinking, to become happier and more optimistic. Last week, a colleague who I've known for three years said "Mike, you look so happy -- that book must be working". That really happened -- I promise. You really should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


103 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could I be happy, more often?, 12 Feb 2006
By 
David Miskimin (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Authentic Happiness: Using the New Positive Psychology to Realise Your Potential for Lasting Fulfilment (Paperback)
Self confessed pessimist Professor Martin Seligman has over 50 years of “…mostly wet weather being in his soul.” He wants to share his discovery that happiness is within the readers’ power and not the result of good luck or genes.
He introduces ‘Positive Psychology’. The concept has three themes and associated written tests (many may be taken on-line):
* Positive emotion - its effect on satisfaction with the past, optimism about the future and happiness in the present
* Strengths and virtues, and
* How the reader’s increased insight might be deployed in work, love, parenting and personal satisfaction
Seligman tells how his five-year-old daughter argued if she could stop whining - so could he! He then read a paper on how positive emotion generates greater creativity in fulfilling aspirations. Seligman realised “…a positive mood... bouys... (so) detect not what is wrong, but what is right”, reminiscent of Kurt Wrights work.
Seligman develops a Happiness formula, H=S+C+V:
* ‘H’ - enduring level of happiness
* 'S' - set range, effectively our genetic predisposition
* 'C' - circumstances, a factor potentially affecting us most, but not the case in practice.
* ‘V’ – Voluntary Variables, the most crucial factor relating positive emotion with the past, present or future.
Gratitude and forgiveness are key factors affecting our opinion of, and satisfaction with, the past. An exercise is described where undergraduates expressed gratitude to an invited guest for affecting something important in their lives. The examples are powerful. Seligman doesn't pretend we can forget or suppress bad memories. He describes how forgiving allows a victim to free themselves from the past, facilitating the possibility of greater life satisfaction.
The degree to which we believe events are temporary or permanent significantly affects our expectation about the future. Although I learned my outlook was at least a little optimistic, Seligman comments such an appraisal might come at the expense of being less realistic! He recommends the ‘ABCDE’ model for when we are accusing ourselves of some perceived failing or deficiency. The approach is to dispute and then dismantle negative self-talk. The reader is offered a seven day ‘ABCDE’ template, so that adverse inner dialogue can be recognised, recorded and disabled.
For present happiness, the author defines two states:
* "The pleasures… have clear sensory and strong emotional components…” They can be bodily e.g. touch, sight, sound, smell or taste
* The gratifications include any of the above, however the distinctions are they "…last longer, involve quite a lot of thinking and interpretation, do not habituate easily and are undergirded by our strengths and virtues…These are activities not necessarily accompanied by feelings at all".

Positive Psychology classifies “just twenty-four strengths …The last time anyone bothered to count, in 1936, more than eighteen thousand words in English referred to traits.” Surprisingly, this ignores Cattell’s work, which subsequently identified 16.
Three criteria define strengths, they are:
* valued in almost every culture
* valued in their own right - not just a means to an end
* malleable
The author argues some of the twenty-four strengths are deeply characteristic, defining these as "Signature Strengths", believing "the highest success in living and the deepest emotional satisfaction comes from building and using your Signature Strengths".
Seligman contends these strengths fit six core virtues occurring across most cultures; Wisdom and knowledge, Courage, Love and humanity, Justice, Temperance, Spirituality and transcendence.
He adds, to live the ‘good life’ is about using your Signature Strengths everyday, but admits sometimes undertaking tasks he’s good at, yet which leave him feeling drained and less authentic. Myers Briggs knows we sometimes use our less preferred skills, without enjoying them.
80+ pages are devoted to answering the implied question "So now you know your strengths, what are you going to do with them"? In my view he is not a pioneer in this particular area.
Seligman highly rates Csikszentmihalyi, definer of ‘flow’, recognised by several features especially, a sense of time standing still and our sense of self vanishing.
Seligman says to increase flow:

* Identify your Signature Strengths
* Choose work that lets you use them every day
* Recraft your present work
* When employing, choose those with Signature Strengths to mesh with the work you give them
* As a manager, allow employees to recraft (within bounds) their work.
While Csikszentmihalyi calls the states attached to flow as ‘enjoyments’, Seligman prefers ‘gratifications’, it plays down the emotional aspects.
The narrative on love follows a familiar pattern; case studies, a questionnaire, vast cross-referencing, in-depth research and statistics. Seligman identifies what he regards as a most surprising outcome “… children of stable marriages are more interested in long-term relationships than are the children of divorce” - I wasn’t surprised!
The Professor exudes dry humour - “I did something I don't recommend to you; I read …all the major marriage manuals. This is a depressing task for a positive psychologist…about how to make a bad marriage more tolerable.”
He suggests two summary love principles “You must not scrimp on the attention you pay to the person you love... (and) the quantity is crucial.”
I was intrigued with Mrs Seligman’s work on raising children, (especially as a parent and co-author of ‘The Coaching Parent’). In a self-effacing journey, she doesn't disappoint, providing at least eight techniques for building positive emotion. The ‘strengths test’ for children, similar to the adult version, can be used by any child aged about seven plus.
Concluding, the author invites us to live a ‘meaningful life’.
* The good life “…consists in deriving (authentic) happiness by using your Signature Strengths every day”
* The “…meaningful life… uses these same strengths to forward knowledge, power or goodness… something much larger than you.”
This book contains detailed material, backed up with substance, multiple tests and well summarised chapters. It includes comprehensive end notes adding 300+ paragraphs of background information linked to related research material. I believe he achieves his purpose, and demonstrates exactly why happiness is within the readers’ power!
David Miskimin 2006
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exuberant, refreshing, stimulating , but not five stars, 28 Feb 2011
This review is from: Authentic Happiness: Using the New Positive Psychology to Realise Your Potential for Lasting Fulfilment (Paperback)
Seligman's mission seems to have been to write a self help manual that doesn't dwell too much on soul searching. He therefore puts together whatever he can think of in the field of `positive psychology'

He delineates an account of fairly well-known themes: `Behaviour' - style therapy; `Visioning' (What values really matter?); Focus on your Strengths (as in SWOT); Look for the Win-Win; The Value of Close Personal Relationships; Seeking 'Flow'.

His style is practical and punchy, and he includes a number of self-assessment questionnaires, to keep it interactive.

Having described how optimally to look after ourselves, he throws in a chapter on how to best to raise our kids.

Finally, in an attempt to give the book some real impact, he relates some discussions he had with Robert Wright (of `Non-Zero' fame) and speculates as to the extent that `positive psychology' might actually be the ultimate meaning of life....!

I thought it was an exuberant, refreshing, stimulating book, but would not give it five stars, because of its relative lack of originality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that shows happiness should not just be your goal, but your duty..., 23 Jan 2007
By 
S. P. Moses (Epsom, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Authentic Happiness: Using the New Positive Psychology to Realise Your Potential for Lasting Fulfilment (Paperback)
I was drawn to this book having read the chapter about it in Tom Butler-Bowdon's 50 Psychology Classics. I had never heard of 'positive psychology' before, but its aims - to increase the happiness of 'normal' people, rather than cure the psychoses of 'ill' people - has definite appeal.

Authentic Happiness suggests that happiness should not just be a goal in itself merely because it makes us feel good - but also that it has an evolutionary advantage. I've long been aware of the way in which as negative mood can aid evaluation of a situation, but I'd never thought that when we are happy we would have the advantages of creating an expansive, tolerant and creative mindset. In short these positive feelings maximise the social, intellectual and physical benefits life has to offer.

But how do we achieve such happiness? As ever, that's the million dollar question. One of the answers is through optimum experiences which Mihaly Csikzentmihalyi calls 'flow'. Indeed it is one of Seligman's characteristic flourishes he relates the story in which he rescues Csikzentmihalyi. Make no mistake, there's a lot of information to digest in Authentic Happiness, indeed I'm looking forward to re-reading it to get even more out of it. Yet while it is academically thorough, Seligman adds personal touches which make the book much more easy to digest.

The later stages of the book will be of particular interest if you have children. Fittingly Seligman has a optimistic view of human nature. He has his own ideas of how we can achieve transcendence and how we can all part in the evolution of the human race, but you'll have to read "Authentic Happiness" to find out what these are.

I can't say I agreed with everything that Seligman had to say - and I'm not really one that enjoys filling out questionnaires, though if you are you'll be in form heaven here - but this is one of the books I find myself recommending to other people and can see myself returning to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews