Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If more 'leaders' learnt lessons...
A fantastic book and inspirational lessons; I have read many books on both leadership, exploration and Shackleton and was inspired by Shackleton's Way as I was the first time I read about him.
The 'lessons' at the end of each chapter are excellent and allow the book to act as a direct, useful reference.
Anyone who is or is striving to become, or already is, a...
Published on 2 Feb. 2004 by I. Menmuir

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story - but a bit rose-tinted
Thoroughly enjoyed reading this book - it zips along with the famous "escape from the ice back to safety" epic. Shackleton was clearly the perfect man for such a desperate trek to safety. We can only stand in awe of his achievements, so much so that we almost forget that he never actually reached the south pole in his life-time.

There are many helpful insights...
Published on 22 Sept. 2006 by Book Worm


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Useful (and suspense-filled) management guide, 11 Jan. 2007
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This compelling volume accomplishes the unlikely feat of being both a useful management guide and a suspense-filled page-turner. That's because the book enjoys an unusually rich source of material: a near-deadly Antarctic voyage that everyone survived by dint of the leader's formidable management skills. Margot Morrell and Stephanie Capparrell present a strong case that Sir Ernest Shackleton was indeed a great leader. They mine the journey for the telling details of Shackleton's management style, and include short accounts from modern business leaders who look to Shackleton as an inspiration. We recommend this guide to leaders and would-be leaders who love adventure tales and seek an inspiring take on management from a true master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read This!, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shackleton's Way: Leadership Lessons from the Great Antarctic Explorer (Paperback)
A must for anyone interested in leadership. The book explains what he did, how he did it, and why. And the results. A true hero is dismantled and examined . Very well researched, you get the idea Morrell actually knew him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging and fascinating, 26 Jun. 2004
By 
This is a high quality production of a fascinating story. There are many lessons to be learned from Shackleton's adventure, and this audio programme helps distill those into clear points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shackleton's Way: Leadership Lessons from the Great Antarctic Explorer (Paperback)
I haven't read this myself, although I was tempted, as it was bought as a Christmas present. One of several requests, I understand my grandson has really enjoyed this inspirational book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great little book, 18 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Shackleton's Way: Leadership Lessons from the Great Antarctic Explorer (Paperback)
This is a great little book about an amazing episode in antarctic exploration, with a little bit of management theory-into-practice analysis thrown in. The management element is fairly basic but this is good as it does not overly distract from the story, just punctuates it to make you think about parallels to modern organisational leadership and culure. And the TV mini-series (Kenneth Branagh staring) compliments the book perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A management development favourite of mine, 17 Jan. 2014
By 
G. Todd (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shackleton's Way: Leadership Lessons from the Great Antarctic Explorer (Paperback)
This book is so easy to read and gain the insight from. The story of Shackleton is unbelievably inspirational and uplifting and the lessons we can take from it in relation to management / leadership development are strong. Highly recommnded!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read about an inspiring man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very happy with product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 16 Nov. 2014
By 
Mrs. Robina C. Morris "tibbytoad" (Lincoln, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Takes some getting into
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Shackleton's Way: Leadership Lessons from the Great Antarctic Explorer (Paperback)
really good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shackleton's Way: Leadership Lessons from the Great Antarctic Explorer
Shackleton's Way: Leadership Lessons from the Great Antarctic Explorer by Stephanie Capparell (Paperback - 31 Jan. 2003)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews