Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars19
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2012
Despatched by Amazon on the day of release and here within 48hrs. As only spotters will purchase this product its a no-brainer to try and even dissect the guide. As a Amazon supplied product, it was delivered efficiently and in good order, as per usual. Very happy with the service.
If, per chance, this product WAS purchased by a beginner to the hobby, then basically its all you need to cover the UK civil aircraft scene....and handy pocket sized too. There is a limited overseas airliner section and, like most types of these there are the odd errors, but its a good ground level companion. There ARE more in-depth volumes doing the perennial rounds, but unless you're a serious number cruncher then this should be right up your street.
All in all, good buy....and a couple of quid under the official price to boot. Nice.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2012
A fantastic book, for plane lovers who want to spot commercial airlines.

it is well laid out with a box next to each registry marking for your own notes (such as date you saw the aircraft for example)

the reason i have only given it 4 stars,
.is because although i can understand they have tried to get thousands of aircraft registrations into a smaller book as possible, the writing is very small
.i have already spotted a few aircraft that are not listed (which is strange because this book is supposed to be 2012- however there is a section in the book to write down this info)
.only details aircraft leaving and entering the UK

saying that, these are only very very minor things.

i would still recommend this book to anyone- (well, at least anyone who loves plane spotting anyway!)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
i have been taking this book annually for over 50 years. the latest edition is much larger than older verions and contains all relevant information
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2012
I bought my first CAM (Civil Aircraft Markings at Leeds Bradford Airport in 1977 65p ! I found it a useful , informative guide to the aircraft that I saw at the aiport.
Today I find myself looking at my latest CAM, 2012 as informative as ever , same format, alas the colour pictures have disappeared, but that is no great loss.
The book starts with an index of International Civil Aircraft Markings (Where`s that plane from ?), followed by Aircraft Type,Designations and Abbreviations, and then the Register itself, usual format Registration, Type / alternative markings carried, Owner / Operator, and finally a space for notes , this runs from page 9 through to page 304, followed by the Isle of Man Register,15 pages of black /white photographs, a Military to Civil cross reference (Very Useful), followed by the Irish Civil Aircraft Register, two more pages of photographs, and then the Overseas Airliner Registrations,not all the overseas registrations , but those most likely to be seen at UK airports or overflying UK Airspace, followed by more photographs, a Radio Frequency Guide for civil airports and aerodromes, Airline Flight Codes,
and finally The British Aircraft Preservation Council Register ( for aircraft not included in the Civil aircraft register or those which do not qualify for a military serial (Replica`s , Museum exhibits, Home built non flying aircraft.

BE WARNED ! Purchasing this book could be the start of a lifetime hobby which all the family can enjoy - a picnic at the local airport on a sunny day - sheer bliss !!

Dont forget to purchase Military Aircraft Markings 2012 too !

Steve W-B May 4th 2012 ( National Star Wars Day - May the Fourth be with you )
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2012
As an avid aircraft enthusiast I find this publication extremely useful and I have used it annually since the early 1970's.
This is the first occasion I have obtained it using the services of Amazon and in these times of ever increasing prices I find at very warming that I can save even a couple of pounds from them.
Thanks again for an immaculate service as always
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2012
This is the first time I have purchased this book for many years having re-discovered my childhood hobby. What amazes me is that this book has remained the same in terms of quality and input - it is still the best value for money available in my opinion. I congratulate the authors and contributors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
This is the latest in long running series of aircraft "spotting" books and is simply an up to date version of the previous edition. it does exactly what you would expect and lists all the civil aircraft you are likely to encounter in regular use in and over Britain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2012
Another year, another abc Civil Aircraft Markings 2012 update.
This publication speaks for itself 448 pages -a well tried and tested format.
Purchased via Amazon -again a very prompt delivery service plus saving against the RRP. (every little helps!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
In my ignorance I thought the title referred to colour schemes, not serial numbers. Planes flying over me to land at Gatwick are too high to read the serial numbers so the book made a quick trip to the charity shop!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2012
an EXCELLENT book for all AVIATION Spotters,with loads of data, Good value for money,This is perhaps the most established publication on the market!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)