Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The booklet is good but the DVD is better
Booklet
The booklet contains all the questions and answers from the April 2012 test, but not the case studies; the DVD is need for the questions and the case studies. The answers are at the foot of the corresponding page, so you'll need to cover the bottom of the page whilst working through the questions. There are some minor typos but nothing that will affect...
Published on 11 Dec 2012 by John Boy

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No choice.
If you're going to take the test then you need the book. Questions not difficult but worded to confuse in some cases.
Published 19 months ago by John W. Osborne


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The booklet is good but the DVD is better, 11 Dec 2012
By 
John Boy (Bristol United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Health, Safety & Environment Test for Managers & Professionals: GT200/14, For Managers & Professionals (Paperback)
Booklet
The booklet contains all the questions and answers from the April 2012 test, but not the case studies; the DVD is need for the questions and the case studies. The answers are at the foot of the corresponding page, so you'll need to cover the bottom of the page whilst working through the questions. There are some minor typos but nothing that will affect revision.

DVD
The benefit of the DVD Health, Safety and Environment Test for Managers and Professionals is that the case study questions can be practiced and, the software and content are automatically updated whilst the computer is connected to the Internet. Be aware that administrator rights are needed to install the DVD as it is part installed on the hard drive. I installed it on a logical drive instead of the C drive (32 bit) and it has run without a problem. The practice questions can be chosen from any combination of sections, and the simulated timed test is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great help, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this for my husband. He found this a great aid to help him successfully pass this test. We also purchased the book which we didn't use. The cd is more convenient and you can practice the areas that you need to as well as taking as many simulated tests as you like. It also contains case studies that the book does not. He found revising for the test much easier than revising with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent just as described and prompt delivery; thank you, 26 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Health, Safety & Environment Test for Managers & Professionals: GT200/14, For Managers & Professionals (Paperback)
A must have if your doing the test; read the book 3 times took the test and passed; no problem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good luck, 13 Mar 2014
The Cd version is a must to sit the mock exams as the MAPS test is quite strict, you get too many wrong in any catogory and you fail !!!
Spent many hours practising in the areas in which I was unfamilliar and guess what I passed with a 100% sucess rate.

Dont think about it just buy it, believe me you need it .... Good luck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No choice., 23 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Health, Safety & Environment Test for Managers & Professionals: GT200/14, For Managers & Professionals (Paperback)
If you're going to take the test then you need the book. Questions not difficult but worded to confuse in some cases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Health, Safety & Environment Test for Managers & Professionals: GT200/14, For Managers & Professionals (Paperback)
If you need it buy it, when you don't just pass it on.
If you are doing your CSCS it's invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars H&S Test aid, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Health, Safety & Environment Test for Managers & Professionals: GT200/14, For Managers & Professionals (Paperback)
All possible questions in test; worth reading to note the answers outside your knowledge to guarantee a pass first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The DVD was recommended instead of the book, 7 Nov 2014
I decided I needed to take the CSCS H&S test. The DVD was recommended instead of the book. It installed on my laptop and worked first time. There doesn't seem to be an introduction; you just jump straight in. For example, as an architect I am interested in buildings, but questions on civils, tunnelling and highways popped up as well. Initially, this was irritating, but now I've decided that knowledge of other disciplines is good to have, so I've bought into the whole construction world, not not buildings. Good stuff.

So far so good. It was cheaper than most other suppliers and does the job. I haven't been through all the options and questions yet and certainly haven't booked the exam session as yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The DVD was exactly as exam and meant that I was able to practice before taking exam . I knew the format and most of the answers , therefore passed 1st time. A book would not have enabled this degree of information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a hustle but you must have the book, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Health, Safety & Environment Test for Managers & Professionals: GT200/14, For Managers & Professionals (Paperback)
I don't know how to rate this product. The book itself is glossy and well made. However

I find it hard to believe, in this day and age, that mock tests and hundreds of sample questions are not put up online for test candidates to practice with free of charge. The entire ethos of these tests is to increase construction managers and professionals knowledge of Health and Safety matters. Why the need to buy a book? It is obvious in reality however that it is a revenue generating project, with the books being priced at a premium rate in my opinion and the tests themselves, £17.50 a pop, designed to have 50%+ of candidates fail... at least once, and require a retest each time. I have heard of candidates failing for getting 1 question wrong out of almost 50! Also, a lot of the questions are so irrelevant and impractical to real world Health and Safety as to render the test almost a waste of time.

Having all that said, reading through the book will increase your chances of passing what is still essentially a lottery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews