Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Of the many introductory chess books this is the one to pick
I like this book's style.
If, like me, you are returning to chess after many years of not playing, this is a simple, practical guide to all the basics.
Seirawan encourages the reader to think of chess as a game, not just as a series of moves.
He introduces four principles of chess - force, time, space and pawn structure and then illustrates those elements...
Published on 25 Mar 2006 by Richard Murphy

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Play Winning Chess
Is a chess book which is aimed mainly at weaker chess players. It can be helpful for more advanced players too, but I found that a lot of the material in the book was merely reinforcing my own knowledge, and I am not a chess expert at all. This book would be excellent for players who have a weak grasp of the four basic principles of chess: Material, Space, Tempo and...
Published on 20 April 2007 by Neil Campbell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and Motivating, 19 July 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Play Winning Chess (Winning Chess Series) (Paperback)
This is the first book of a superb series on how to play chess and improve your game. Lively, clear explanations, interesting and helpful. Encouraging for the beginner who wants to improve their game. Highly recommended, even players at a Superior level of achievement will find (be reminded of) useful hints and tips..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good on strategy, 13 Mar 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good on the strategy despite the less than excellent lay out of illustrations; page turning can be irritating if you don;t want to set the board up and work it out ion real time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Here's what you do when you have learnt to move the pieces..., 3 Sep 2012
By 
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Play Winning Chess (Winning Chess Series) (Paperback)
...buy this book.

Ok... play some games first and after you realise you love the game and want to learn more about how to play better chess then buy this book.

It focuses on the 4 key principles of chess. Force, Space, Time and Pawn structure. You will take a huge leap forward if you study these ideas presented in this book.

It's well written and easy to follow, but not patronising. This book challenges you to reach the next level and you may have to spend time going over what is being taught.

Excellent Chess book for the beginner with aspirations of moving forward with chess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Play Winning Chess Easily, 13 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: Play Winning Chess (Winning Chess Series) (Paperback)
This is easily the best book I have read for the budding chess player. It is easy to follow with several diagrams which are very helpful.It goes from the basic moves to pins, forks and skewers. It also has an interesting history of the game. I highly recommend this book for any one starting out playing chess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good for a beginner, 30 July 2011
This review is from: Play Winning Chess (Winning Chess Series) (Paperback)
I found this book being very informative and easy to read, just make sure you have a chess set on hand when reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very basic and not that well written, 14 Dec 2011
By 
Paul (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Play Winning Chess (Paperback)
When someone asks me if I play chess I usually say that I know how pieces move - that is to say, I do play occasionally, but without much more thought than one would put into playing Solitaire during a lunch break. I know the rules and have some very basic appreciation of tactics and strategy, but that's pretty much it - I'm rated at 1300 points on IFCS.
I was looking for a book to help me get into it more and probably to serve as a starting point for studying the game in much more detail, so something with more focus on strategy and perhaps the well-known combinations explained. Despite being quite popular - at least most of my club-level chess chums are familiar with it - this book is as basic as it gets, probably even below the "for dummies" level. The first half of it is spent on a discussion of how many ranks and files there are, how pieces move and what they're called. The rest is one step more advanced and covers some fundamental principles, but all could be summarized on the back of a cigarette packet: force is important, so are space and time, and then there are pawn structures. That's basically it, I've saved you the asking price. You're welcome :)
So it's pretty much a complete beginner's book. Expecting that it'll teach you to play "winning" chess would be a bit of an ask; you'll probably learn hot to play in general, but hardly more.
Furthermore, even taken for a newbie's text, it's not exceptional in any way. It's OK, as in "another introduction to chess", but there's nothing to make it stand out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9ee58cfc)

This product

Play Winning Chess (Winning Chess Series)
Play Winning Chess (Winning Chess Series) by Yasser Seirawan (Paperback - 15 Mar 2003)
12.99
Usually dispatched within 2 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews