Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply a superb book.
Society in general seeks to quantify risk. This book shows why most such exercises are completely futile because of the phenomenon of 'risk compensation'. In brief, make something safer and humans typically respond by taking more risks elsewhere to compensate.

I recommend this book unreservedly. Its one of the very few I have come across which has a...
Published on 2 Aug. 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Simply wrong on two fundamental points
I read "Risk" a couple of weeks ago and quickly realised that it had a lot to say about the author's personal battles down the decades with people who disagreed with him. The endless point scoring and flowery language irritated me.

Having said that, he has two interesting points to make that everyone should know about. One is that people respond to perceived...
Published on 22 April 2007 by Matthew Leitch


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply a superb book., 2 Aug. 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Kingston on Thames, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Risk (Paperback)
Society in general seeks to quantify risk. This book shows why most such exercises are completely futile because of the phenomenon of 'risk compensation'. In brief, make something safer and humans typically respond by taking more risks elsewhere to compensate.

I recommend this book unreservedly. Its one of the very few I have come across which has a supremely important point to make and makes it in a clear, well-argued and compact way, supported by lots of interesting data; a revelation. Buy it now, it is every bit as relevant now as it was when it was written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars no statistical knowledge required, 3 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Risk (Paperback)
This book has been out for quite a while, and I have little to add to the previous reviews.
I would encourage you to read it, especially if you have no previous statistical training. There is very little math, and while some of the concepts are at first hard to grasp, Adams' style is always clear, never patronising and he rarely lapses into the professional jargon that disfigures more technical tomes.

If you've ever played backgammon, you'll understand Adams' notion of risk compensation. If you are unsurprised that young men in slow cars pay higher insurance premiums than older women in fast cars then you have already understood the concept of the risk thermostat.
These two concepts, plus a somewhat reductive typology of personalities, form the basis of the discussion, and show why most risk modelling is tripe.

The book was published over a decade ago. Since its appearance, there has been an explosion of research into risk, much of it funded by banks. Has any of this research yielded greater security for the banks that funded it? I wonder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must-read" book, 27 Jun. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Risk (Paperback)
It's incredible how many well-meaning attempts to make society "safer" fail, foundering on society's apparent unwillingness to be safe. Adams not only tells us what's going wrong, but actually describes the ways in which risk taking behaviour can be understood and managed.

Of particular interest is the chapter on seat belt laws. Once you've read that, I guarantee you will be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that must be read, 16 Oct. 2000
This review is from: Risk (Paperback)
Anyone who can grasp the concepts discussed in this book should read it; it has universal relevance. Adams strips bare the very shaky assumptions upon which much risk assessment is based in the world. It was a shock to me, and I expect it will be a shock to most people. To use a cliche: This book changed my life. More accurately, it changed my world-view. If you need more convincing, take a look at the commendations on the back cover. Any book that can debunk so much of conventional doctrine on road safety, environmentalism, medicine, and so on, yet draw such acclaim from such a diverse range of specialist publications is a book to be reckoned with! As a final note, the book is really very small. However, it is brief and to-the-point; his two hundred pages are worth a thousand from most writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The argument for rational fatalism, 16 May 2007
This review is from: Risk (Paperback)
I've just finished reading "Risk" by John Adams and "Fooled by Randomness" by Nicholas Taleb. They make good companions. Both are illuminating and refreshingly entertaining. And both have the same main target: proponents of the view that risk is an objective phenomenon that can be measured and managed.

"Risk" Adams contends is a word that refers to a future that exists only in the imagination. It is inescapably subjective. Taleb, who is a New York trader, is especially [...] those who are fooled by randomness - deluded souls who believe that luck can be managed, that future prices can be divined by a study of past prices - and that such divinations will make them rich. The iconic case, with which Taleb has great sport, is the collapse of Long Term Capital Management. Two directors of LTCM, Merton and Scholes, received Nobel prizes for their development of the luck management methods that produced the collapse.

Adams, writing before the fall of LTCM, puts his finger on its cause. Merton and Scholes were not detached scientists observing something that could be objectively measured, they were players in the game, influencing, and being influenced by, all the other players.

Adams' most interesting, and sadly neglected, case study of the interactive nature of risk management is his demolition of the myth of the efficacy of seat belt legislation. Nowhere in the world, he shows, have seat belt laws saved lives. Everywhere they have resulted in a transfer of the burden of risk from those best-protected in cars to the most vulnerable outside cars, pedestrians and cyclists.

Five stars to both Adams and Taleb!

PS Your previous reviewer, Leitch, is wrong on his two "fundamental" points.
1. His belief that the risk associated with the rise and fall of shares is predictable. If he is not persuaded by Adams and Taleb, he might try When Genius Failed: The Rise and Fall of Long-Term Capital Management by Lowenstein, or Googling "Brian Hunter Amaranth" for examples of the disasters experienced by those who shared his belief in the predictability of share prices and natural gas prices.
2. His conclusion that Adams argues that motorists have a fixed "favourite level of risk". One of Adams' most useful insights is that propensity to take risk varies with the perceived rewards of risk taking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh Ideas for a society obsessed., 12 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Risk (Paperback)
I attended a lecture of John Adams recently which led to me reading the book. It is really brilliant. Our society is obsessed with risk as a negative aspect of live and forgets about the rewards which we take risks for. This book solves all that.

I'm a big fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-read, 27 Mar. 2004
By 
Mr Anthony J Evans (Vienna, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Risk (Paperback)
I am an economist, and found the nature and subject of this book fascinating. It really is an important and powerful work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and thought provoking book, 6 Oct. 1999
This review is from: Risk (Paperback)
Risk is poorly understood, and decisions arre often made on the basis of misunderstanding. Adams explores common misconceptions (seatbelts, helmets, power) and exposes many of the reasons why people are so poor at estimating and then analysing risk. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book for Social Work, 4 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Risk (Paperback)
This book is not the easiest of reads with small print and numerous graphs and charts, however it does review risk in society and
looks at U.Beck and A.Wildavsky different ideas. Will use this book in helping with Risk management in Social Work. Good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 5 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Risk (Paperback)
Well written readable informative good read well worth the money would recommend it to anyone well worth buying and reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Risk
Risk by John Adams (Paperback - 16 Feb. 1995)
£31.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews