Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, charming, engaging
Michael Whitehall's memoir is quite a delicious read whether or not you have any interest in the theatre or show business. Although actors such as Nigel Havers and Judi Dench do occasionally wander through its pages, the real treat is Whitehall's enormous storytelling ability, and his apparent lifelong propensity for being caught in the company of eccentrics. His drily...
Published on 1 Jan. 2010 by Aanel Victoria

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Droning namedropper
This book is written adequately but adopts a smirking tone of smug self-absorption which becomes tedious. The stars about whom the author is happy to gossip are dead, dying or unable to defend themselves and of little current interest. Rather disappointing in the light of his current appearances with his son, Jack.
Published 17 months ago by Mrs Denise Davey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, charming, engaging, 1 Jan. 2010
By 
Aanel Victoria (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shark Infested Waters (Hardcover)
Michael Whitehall's memoir is quite a delicious read whether or not you have any interest in the theatre or show business. Although actors such as Nigel Havers and Judi Dench do occasionally wander through its pages, the real treat is Whitehall's enormous storytelling ability, and his apparent lifelong propensity for being caught in the company of eccentrics. His drily comedic telling of his bizarre childhood, through his very checkered pre-agent career, through his tales of agent life and beyond, leave the reader yearning for more of this deliciously absurd yet very personable writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and great fun, 12 Feb. 2014
I bought this book a couple of years ago and loved it. I decided to put it on my Kindle so I could read it again on the go!! Having been a theatrical agent myself, and also when I was a Casting Director I spoke to Michael Whitehall quite a lot, I found this hilarious and so true. It is well written and not too 'luvvie' as I recommended to a friend who is not in the business and she loved it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars funny, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hes a good name dropper, but with his client list he can afford to be. Well worth it and also the follow up with his son jack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant text by Michael - Brilliant illustrations by Jack, 4 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm enjoying enormously reading this all over again as an ebook - Michael Whitehall's delivery is impeccable, and young Jack Whitehall's drawings are hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shark Infested Waters, 18 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this book on a shim and was not disappointed in my choice. Am enjoying reading on my kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Briiliant anecdotes and well written biography, 17 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book - having ordered it after reading Michael's co-authored book 'Him & Me' written with his son, Jack Whitehall the comedian. This book is equally well written and contains wonderfully entertaining anecdotes and most interesting biography of his earlier years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Michael is very witty and I like his slant on ordinary things. I know he is a big name dropper but that is why we buy the book. He is 'nearly' as funny as Jack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 22 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a very good read and is writer well,and a nice mix of fact fun and info a mulct read over Christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Droning namedropper, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is written adequately but adopts a smirking tone of smug self-absorption which becomes tedious. The stars about whom the author is happy to gossip are dead, dying or unable to defend themselves and of little current interest. Rather disappointing in the light of his current appearances with his son, Jack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars very funny, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved many of the anecdotes. Laughed out loud more than once. Only criticism - it was too short. Very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shark Infested Waters
Shark Infested Waters by Michael Whitehall (Paperback - 3 April 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews