Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely good. Buy it.
An uncertain and uneasy peace has fallen on the kingdom of Wendar, but at the court of King Henry the various factions still jockey relentlessly and ruthlessly for position. It seems that the king's favor has fallen upon Prince Sanglant, his bastard son, and that he is to be the chosen heir. But Sanglant is too troubled by the recent past to seek that crown. He needs...
Published on 30 Mar. 2001

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars My review for the whole series
I think that there was a good story underlying this series, but I can't say that I enjoyed reading it. Call me a Philistine but I think books should be a pleasure to read - not just a challenge. For a seven book series to be a pleasure and not a challenge, the author needs to make it easy to read. And that's where old Katie falls down.

First, there was the...
Published on 8 Dec. 2008 by dangermash


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely good. Buy it., 30 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Burning Stone (Crown of Stars, Book 3) (Paperback)
An uncertain and uneasy peace has fallen on the kingdom of Wendar, but at the court of King Henry the various factions still jockey relentlessly and ruthlessly for position. It seems that the king's favor has fallen upon Prince Sanglant, his bastard son, and that he is to be the chosen heir. But Sanglant is too troubled by the recent past to seek that crown. He needs time to recover and, most of all, he needs Liath, the woman who saved him from his terrible captivity - even though such a liaison must incur his father's implacable wrath.
Liath, born with a dangerous power beyond her understanding or ability to control, is torn between her longing for Sanglant and the child they are about to have and the call of sorcery, which can open the way into the land of the Aoi, the Lost Ones. She has also learned that her mother, a powerful practitioner of the banned sorcerous arts, is not dead, as she always thought, and is seeking her to school her in the same arts.
And Alain, their friend and ally, although happily restored to the bosom of his family and married to the saintly Tallia, is in mortal danger from the curse of Bloodheart, who is reaching out from the grave.
As the fates of kingdoms shift with the changing fortunes of those caught up in the dangers of both civil war and continuing attacks by the nonhuman Eika and the Quman invaders, time is running out for Liath, Sanglant, King Henry, and the people of Wendar and Varre.
Like the reviews before my, this story mainly focuses on the Plot, and gets the story moving. though at the end of it you have even more questions than you did have at the beginning. You also have more of an understanding of what the 'Crown of Stars' is, and the endind is extremely good and Sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars My review for the whole series, 8 Dec. 2008
By 
dangermash (Hartlip, Kent) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Burning Stone (Crown of Stars, Book 3) (Paperback)
I think that there was a good story underlying this series, but I can't say that I enjoyed reading it. Call me a Philistine but I think books should be a pleasure to read - not just a challenge. For a seven book series to be a pleasure and not a challenge, the author needs to make it easy to read. And that's where old Katie falls down.

First, there was the arcane Shakesperian dialogue. At first this was a neat touch. By the end it was looking like a howling blunder. What it did was it made the book a struggle to read. Contrast this with (say) David Gemmell, Geroge Martin or (outside fantasy) Paul Auster. They're authors whose work glides down like honey. I can get through pages and pages of their work without getting tired. without finding my mind drifting onto other things.

Second, I don't have a brain the size of a planet. My paranoia is where the Marvin resemblance ends. With a series as big as this, I expect to have a cast list at the back of every volume (not just volume 6!) and I expect a recap at the start of volumes 2-7. Even if I'm reading the novels in succession, because of the way my mind's drifting, it's comforting just to have the author confirm to you that you took in the whole story and didn't miss something important.

Third, with multiple story lines, it's good to make it more clear to the reader who we're talking about. George Marin had the great idea of having the name of the viewpoint character in big letters at the start of each chapter and it would have been great if Kate could have copied this. That's a WIBNI - "wouldn't it be nice if". Not a big issue. What I found unforgivable was when the first couple of pages of a chapter didn't mention the names of the people involved. He did this, she did that, etc. I found myself having to look ahead to find who we were talking about before I could read any further.

As for individual books,
Volume 1 was quite good - 4 stars
Volume 2 was still OK - 3 stars
Volumes 3 and 4 really dragged - 2 stars
Volume 5 actually had things happening in it - 3 stars
Volume 6 was back to normal - 2 stars
Volume 7 had to have things happening really but was dull - 3 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining continuation of the series., 3 Sept. 2007
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Burning Stone (Crown of Stars, Book 3) (Paperback)
The Burning Stone (1999) is the third volume in the series and picks up the storyline after the events at the Battle of Gent. The quasi-self-contained storylines of the first two novels are abandoned here in favour of a more serialised approach as Elliott kicks in the central story arc of the whole series. The reader gains an understanding of the stakes and the true nature of the threat to Novaria, but Elliott presents us with several different viewpoints of the same events and it's unclear which is the true explanation. As I mentioned earlier, enjoyment of the first two novels is marred by the weakness of the character of Liath, but in this third volume she becomes more interesting as she is confronted by the apparent truth of her upbringing and birth. Elsewhere, political intrigue gathers pace and the Eika gain a new chieftain. The Eika plotline is extremely well-handled in this series and it's a shame it isn't given more airtime, but at a thousand pages in paperback this is already a long novel that doesn't really need to be any longer.

The Burning Stone (***½) is an important step forward in the series, delineating the main threats and clarifying what the central plot arc of the series actually is. However, the lack of a rigorous central narrative and the increasingly sprawling cast of characters and secondary plotlines does undermine some of the benefits of the stronger storytelling in this volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!, 13 July 2003
By 
jo skipp (durham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Burning Stone (Crown of Stars, Book 3) (Paperback)
Kate Elliott is a superb writer!she deserves much more recognition than she currently recieves, her crown of stars series is a work of art. she sets the scenes up brilliantly- you could almost be there, seeing the events with your own eyes, her characters have real depth and the plot is faultless-its well worked out and everything fits in together perfectly. In my opinion, the burning stone, third in the series, is the best so far. it drew me into straight away, i could hardly put it down! just when you think your finally figuring out the relationships between the characters and where the plot is going, kate elliott adds another twist in there to keep you on your toes. with this series, kate elliott easily takes the position as my all time favourite author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good book in the saga, 3 Dec. 2008
By 
Simon Wells - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Burning Stone (Crown of Stars, Book 3) (Paperback)
This is the third installment of the Crown of Stars series but this isn't as good as the previous two.

Sanglant has been reunited with Liath and his father but it is obvious that he is still suffering from his captivity. His father offers him the crown but he would have to leave Liath, which Sanglant doesn't intend to do causing a rift between him and his father. Meanwhile Liath is reunited with her mother who offers her the chance to learn about her powers. Both Sanglant and Liath are being forced by their parents to leave one another and they struggle to remain together.

Alain meanwhile has been rewarded greatly for his fighting in Gent and asks for the hand of Princess Tallia in marriage. It is obvious that King Henry repects Alain and gladly has Tallia removed from his hands, however Alain finds Tallia harder work than he has expected. Not only this but Bloodheart has sent a mysterious creature to haunt Alain and his father.

Though this is a good read, I can't help but think that it is lacking compared to the previous two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four and half stars, really..., 1 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Burning Stone (Crown of Stars, Book 3) (Paperback)
This is the third book in the Crown of Stars seris and I think it is very good. Although not the best of the three so far, the characters are good and the story continues with strength. The only thing is that it drags out a little bit, making the book slightly confusing and slow to read. All in all, another great Kate Elliott book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Storyline and plots, 28 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Burning Stone (Crown of Stars, Book 3) (Paperback)
The Burning Stone really speeds up the Storyline and plots. You now have a much better idea to where the story is going, as well as finding out tons of stuff about each characters and other stuff. In some bits it really slowed down quite abit, and I found Ivar's point of view boring. But all the rest was excellent. I really like the visions and dreams the characters have, and the story line and plots are superb. I highly recommend this series to all, but I warn that sometimes it goes very slow and there is extremely large amount of discription. But I'm sure you'll like it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, complex and great characters., 4 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
One of the best series I have ever read. The world is marvellously thought out and the little hints as to future events are intriguing (and can be pretty annoying as well!). The paralells between medieaval christianity and dariyan religion are interesting, but some may find them controversial if applied to their own view of christianity. The characters are well-written but Liath gets a bit annoying when she is being a wimp! On the whole an excellent book which is great fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 12 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best series of books I've read. I've read this series in paper back 4 or 5 times now reading it on the kindle. If you like this type of reading then you must read The Wheel of Time a series of 14/15 books by Robert Jordan fantastic series. I've read it 7 times and will no doubt read it again. A good read also is The Sword Of Truth by Terry Goodkind another epic series also read a few times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Burning stone, 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some of the characters are very well done but have to say I did skip over much of the explanations of stars. Found the rock children and stronghand parts also tedious at times. Think the overall story line is quite interesting tho!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Burning Stone (Crown of Stars, Book 3)
The Burning Stone (Crown of Stars, Book 3) by Kate Elliott (Paperback - 3 Feb. 2000)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews