Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, friendship, grief, magic.
This is the first book in the Artefacts of Power tetralogy (followed by Harp of Winds, The Sword of Flame and Dhiammara).
Aurian is a red-haired young girl, daughter of the Magefolk, who lives with her mother Eilin in the crater left by the magical accident that killed her father. Upon hearing of the catastrophe, Forral, a skilled Mortal swordsman, friend of Aurian's...
Published on 7 Oct 2002 by Stephanie Noverraz

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shallow but enjoyable
This is a difficult book to review. I could spend ages listing all the things wrong with it(cheesy writing, predictability, horribly obvious baddies with names like 'Blacktalon'), but for all that it was good fun, and I will be buying the next one in the series.

Aurian is an absolutely typical fantasy novel, full of fearless females and power-hungry maniacs;...
Published on 4 Nov 2006 by Sarah Kay


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, friendship, grief, magic., 7 Oct 2002
By 
This review is from: Aurian (Artefacts of Power) (Paperback)
This is the first book in the Artefacts of Power tetralogy (followed by Harp of Winds, The Sword of Flame and Dhiammara).
Aurian is a red-haired young girl, daughter of the Magefolk, who lives with her mother Eilin in the crater left by the magical accident that killed her father. Upon hearing of the catastrophe, Forral, a skilled Mortal swordsman, friend of Aurian's late father, comes to offer his help. Although most unwelcome by Eilin at first, he'll take care of Aurian's education and physical training as she grows up. It won't take the little girl very long to fall in love with the man.
But soon it's time for Aurian to move to the city of Nexis and its Academy, to be trained among the Mages. Only then does she realize the social chasm and power struggle that exist between the Mage and Mortal casts.
Anvar is a slave boy working in the kitchens. Being regularly beaten by his master, he escapes one day from the Academy, and stumbles upon Aurian. Being of a gentle nature, she decided to takes him under her wing, as her personal servant.
For Miathan the Archmage, this is going to far, for he wants Aurian for himself. Before long, his jealousy and thirst for power will lead to a terrible confrontation, releasing deadly wraiths, unleashing Hell. Aurian has no choice but to sail away. But in the magical storm created by Eliseth the Weather-Mage, she stands no chance and she soon finds herself stranded on the shores of the beautiful yet hostile Southern Kingdoms, where she'll rediscover the history of the only weapons that can defeat Miathan: the Artefacts of Power.
Aurian is a wonderful fantasy, packed with action and unexpected turns. The world created by Maggie Furrey is enchanting and mysterious, her characters endearing and real. And even though Aurian's capricious and impulsive temper sometimes had the tendency to get on my nerves, I grew very fond of Anvar and I'm looking forward to seeing their friendship evolve and the story unravel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 20 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Aurian (Artefacts of Power) (Paperback)
Why has it taken me so long to find this author! A superb fantasy, rich in characters, ideas and texture - a must for anyone liking this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily one of the best books I've ever read!, 26 Sep 2000
This review is from: Aurian (Artefacts of Power) (Paperback)
Wow. Absolutely fantastic. After reading Lord of the Rings, I doubted I would find another fantasy novel so enjoyable, so quickly. This book was perfect. If you are looking for something which you won't want to put down, this is it. Combines magic, unique characters and situations, each with sub-plots and depth not normally accomplished in one novel. Original, fast and funny whilst emotional. Easily one of the best books I've ever read, I just can't wait to read the next three !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting fantasy novel that appeals to all ages!, 31 Dec 1997
By A Customer
This exciting fantasy novel tells the story of Aurian (a red-headed mage), of her adventures and of her friends. I enjoyed this well written book and I recommended it to my sister and my mother. They both love the book. I have already read "Harp of Winds,"The Sword of Flame", and have just started "Dhiammara!" I hope that Maggie Furey will write more of these fantastically magical stories! I loved this book and hope that everyone who reads it will enjoy it as much as I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shallow but enjoyable, 4 Nov 2006
By 
Sarah Kay (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aurian (Artefacts of Power) (Paperback)
This is a difficult book to review. I could spend ages listing all the things wrong with it(cheesy writing, predictability, horribly obvious baddies with names like 'Blacktalon'), but for all that it was good fun, and I will be buying the next one in the series.

Aurian is an absolutely typical fantasy novel, full of fearless females and power-hungry maniacs; the fantasy equivalent of Mills and Boon. Don't read it expecting Lord of the Rings, and you should be ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent authour, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aurian (Artefacts of Power) (Paperback)
Read these books years ago and found it difficult to source now, so really pleased with it. The series is excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Got here fast and in good condition, 2 Jan 2013
This was actualy one of the first things I ever got from amazon,
I got it as a quick test to make sure all went well and gave it to my partner,
I'm guessing the book must be good as she consistently went ahead and read every other book in the series

The book was a used book, it was in good condition though and arrived in only a couple of days, certainly can't grumble for the price I paid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Defining Fantasy Series, 9 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. M. F. Deakins (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've owned the series The Artefacts of Power for more than ten years & yet still find all of them a pleasant read.

Aurian was my introduction to the fantasy genre & despite branching out to David Eddings & Ann McCaffery, I still find myself occasionally picking up Aurian & happily reading my way through the entire series.

Furey has written what I consider to be the definition of the fantasy genre. The plot is a classic good vs. evil, the language is reasonably simple, description is competent to strong; the characters are interesting & easy to associate with &, to visit a cliché, features plenty of magic, combat & the odd dragon. Furey hasn't reinvented the genre by any means, but the world in which the story plays out is well formed & you get a good picture of what is being presented.

It is fairly obvious from this series & her other fantasy series, the Shadow League, that Furey is a fairly strong feminist. Her principle characters are all strong females & some of the male protagonists are a bit pathetic at times. While the chief antagonist is male, there is a swathe of female antagonists as well. That said, I wasn't particularly bothered by this, the characters principle traits are consistent & Furey cleverly injects ways of speaking that give characters the accents that show they are from different countries despite the convenience of language being translated through magic.

As with many fantasy novels, it doesn't take a genius to work out where the plot will go & the antagonists are classic villains whose motivations are simply to take over, but this doesn't mean the reader isn't rewarded for the time invested & as there are four books to the series, Furey takes her time building up to finale, but offers plenty of rises & falls throughout the plot, even happily killing off what the reader might think as indispensable characters, keeping the plot interesting.

Prior to Aurian, my tastes lay with firmly with Sci-Fi, so to be completely hooked into the genre speaks volumes for how accessible the plot is. I'd thoroughly recommend the entire series to anyone looking to enter the genre as well as to anyone familiar with the genre & looking for an enjoyable addition to any library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best saga i've ever read, 6 Feb 2012
This review is from: Aurian (Artefacts of Power) (Paperback)
I am now reading the Artifacts of Power saga for the 3rd time and it's still a very engaging book. I find Maggie Furey's writing style very easy to read and hours pass as I lose myself into the world she has created. The plot is well thought out and keeps you guessing until the end. For anyone who enjoys book such as 'The innocent Mage' by Karen Miller this is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best book ever, 26 Sep 2002
This review is from: Aurian (Artefacts of Power) (Paperback)
This was a great read and I couldn't put it down. Refreshingly unpredictable, original ideas and emotionally gripping. One of the best science fantasy books I have read so far. Thumbs up to Furey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aurian (Artefacts of Power)
Aurian (Artefacts of Power) by Maggie Furey (Paperback - 19 May 1994)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews