Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, wonderfully written
Couldn't put it down! I love science fiction. Especially when written so well.this one with thee simultaneous plots kept me coming back for more. Next!
Published 19 months ago by Lynne Johnson

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is the end, Beautiful friend.
Children of the Mind, as you will know by now, is the final instalment of the Ender Saga. The first of the books ENDERS GAME was a top notch space opera adventure tale, a rights of passage story about child soldiers of the futures being trained to fight off an alien threat. Good drama pegged on interesting characters, funny and sad with more than a little bit of action...
Published on 29 Jan 2008 by Mr. P. Rigby


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is the end, Beautiful friend., 29 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. P. Rigby "sharkgun" (wigan, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Children Of The Mind: Book 4 of the Ender Saga (Paperback)
Children of the Mind, as you will know by now, is the final instalment of the Ender Saga. The first of the books ENDERS GAME was a top notch space opera adventure tale, a rights of passage story about child soldiers of the futures being trained to fight off an alien threat. Good drama pegged on interesting characters, funny and sad with more than a little bit of action weaved in to create an enthralling book.

Then we got SPEAKER OF THE DEAD. The book that Card wanted to write but realised he had to begin at the beginning. A lot has been said about Card's Mormon faith and the fact that he is one of the very few writers of sci-fi who writes about families, the desperate needs and the unconditional love that they come with. The horror and the truly sublime are just different aspects of the same thing. The really interesting aspect of this novel for me was the way that someone with a devout faith chooses a character that, although it would be misleading to call atheist, treats organised religion with suspicion. As something that is perhaps needed by some but is not relevant to him. The main story is centred on a dysfunctional family who are helped by Ender to grieve and move on. A story that has more relevance to Ender himself.

The next book picks up on the fact that XENOCIDE is potentially coming to this new planet and desperate measures are needed. I felt that Card begins to lose his way here and some of the ideas towards the end of this novel are plain and simple bonkers. That's not to say that the book's not worth reading as yet again he managed to create a lump in my throat at some of his trademark emotional moments...I thrilled at as the poitical temperature increased and emotions where sent on a crazy dance as relationships mutate to the bizarre situations that the characters find themselves in.

So yeah, can you feel the 'but' coming? The thing is there wasn't going to be a fourth book. The third was going to end the story but he created too much for one book and decided to split them. The problem with this is that I don't really think he came up with enough for a full fourth book.

CHILDREN OF THE MIND has some funny moments, but not as many as the previous books. It has moments of tension, but not as many as the previous books. It has moments of emotional crisis, but they just don't weigh as heavy or have the same effect on the reader. If you've enjoyed the previous books, it's worth getting to the end of this and as Card is such an experienced writer this is never a chore. It's just not as much of a joy as the others (especially ENDERS GAME) have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing extraordinary, 26 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Children Of The Mind: Book 4 of the Ender Saga (Paperback)
After reading the first three novels of the Ender Saga, this, as as the finale to the range, was rather dissapointing. Unlike the other books of the series, Ender Wiggin hardly features in this book, apart from the first few chapters.
As the back cover explains, Jane--the artificial lifeform--is able to travel "outside" of space-time. At first this was interesting and exciting, but after the Nth time, it merely became annoying. Also, the book has drifted from the philosophical roots of the previous books, and instead this book concentrates more on the "mystical" and spiritual elements which, again, just became tedious.
If you feel obliged to read this novel due to the high quality of the other books in the series, think twice, for it's not essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on enders game, 21 Aug 2008
This review is from: Children Of The Mind: Book 4 of the Ender Saga (Paperback)
I got the feeling OSC tried to string out every detail of the story just so he could fit another x number of pages in. Un-needed and contradictory, parts of the story soon became tedious and over wrought. The characters became unlikeable, whiney and selfish with very few of them knowing their own mind. The parts that were good soon became mired down among all the various over-winded parts of the plot. Trying to tie up the book with references from the prophet of path was just daft. What on earth has he done to the original Ender? - Barmy, take a great character and destroy him with voodoo.

In my opinion a poor book from OSC - having read the tales of Alvin Maker and then the most excellent Enders Game, he has gone from the top of Sci-fi writing to the has-beens in a short space of time. I just wish he would stop trying to preach religion in his books, the references are just getting annoying and he seems to be trying to shoe them in all over the place. Please get back to what your good at Orson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A real disappointment, 7 Dec 2003
By 
B. Patterson "Enders Shadow" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Children Of The Mind: Book 4 of the Ender Saga (Paperback)
Having waited years for the end of the Ender/Speaker series, this was a let down. I got the impression that Uncle Orson knew he had to finish the series - but didn't really know how to do it. So he throws some completely over the top ideas into the pot and ....
If you've read the rest, you probably need to read this for completion - but don't expect to be wildly impressed. When he's hot OSC is the best - but on this occaision he fluffed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nowhere near Enders game but still worth reading., 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought the plot jumped too much, I skimmed the majority that followed Peter as I found that sub section incredibly dull. After the fight to save the piggies, I thought the rest fell too easily into place.
It's a good read, it's interesting to the core. I found a few of the characters ludicrous and totally unlikeable ie Quara.
I'd read it again on a rainy dull day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, wonderfully written, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Couldn't put it down! I love science fiction. Especially when written so well.this one with thee simultaneous plots kept me coming back for more. Next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its Ender Saga, what do you think its gonna be?, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While this book wasn't as good as Ender's Game in my opinion, it still provided a good end to the series (sorry for spoilers) and is definitely worth a read (but only after you've read all the others, but that isn't really a chore).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Children of the mind, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once I started reading I couldn't put it down....some brilliant concepts, worthy of Ender. Looking forward to the next instalment...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Spellchecker?, 10 May 2014
By 
Great book but reading this on a kindle is extremely frustrating quite simply because of the poor typesetting, if that is the correct term.
Broken words exist throughout the book. A kindle is a great thing but please at least spell the damn words correctly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars End of Ender, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read a few reviews stating how rubbish this book is, and how Ender isn't in it till the end. Well, I don't think they ever read the book. The story ends the saga excellently. Couldn't put it down. Top book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Children Of The Mind: Book 4 of the Ender Saga
Children Of The Mind: Book 4 of the Ender Saga by Orson Scott Card (Paperback - 2 Dec 1999)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews