Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Most Famous Stories Ever...
In 1977, George Lucas unleashed on an unexpecting world a little known movie known as Star Wars. Astounding cinema goers around the world, it broke box office records and made dedicated fans for years to come.
This version of Lucas's story, reprinted and including a new Introduction from the acclaimed writer / director, tells the classic story of Luke Skywalker, a...
Published on 1 Feb 2004 by CrazyBlade

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the Orginal Alan Deal Foster Novelization
As I read the orgiinal before Lucas retrofitted the the prequels into the star wars history, I caqn say that this is no where nears as good as that novelisation. This is more a shooting script that a novel, and suffers greatly for it. Do yourself a favour and see if you can hunt down the original Novelisation, you will nto be disappointed.
Published on 8 Aug 2011 by L. Fevrius


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Most Famous Stories Ever..., 1 Feb 2004
In 1977, George Lucas unleashed on an unexpecting world a little known movie known as Star Wars. Astounding cinema goers around the world, it broke box office records and made dedicated fans for years to come.
This version of Lucas's story, reprinted and including a new Introduction from the acclaimed writer / director, tells the classic story of Luke Skywalker, a young man who's destiny is changed dramatically and is thrown into the titanic struggle between the Galactic Empire and the freedom fighters of the Rebel Alliance.
The story is told in a descriptive, flowing manner and grips the reader from the start, and gives more of an insight into the story, especially some background into the characters that were not shown in the movie. As a fan of the movie, or otherwise, I sincerely recommend this to anyone with an interest in science fiction.
The Force, you may say, is strong with this one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily One Of The Best Books I Have Ever Read, 16 Mar 1999
By A Customer
I LOVE this book. I have always been a reader, but it usually takes me a long time. This book was easily finished in 2 days, just about a record. The detail just engulfs the reader. You can see everything. It's about 20 times better than the movie. Even if you are not a Star Wars fan, this book can easily make you one. The only downfall is that the famous "Help Me, Obi-Wan Kenobi" speech by Princess Leia has been altered. Even though, this book is an absolute must for any age. (I know, being only 16.) What else can I say? AMAZING!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars : A New Hope, 1 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: New Hope (Paperback)
This is a great book of a great film and i give it top marks because it is an epic movie of good vs. evil and I recommend that anybody pick up this book, because I garuntee that you will enjoy it if you enjoyed the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Science Fiction At Its Very Best, 23 Nov 2010
I first read this book ...a long time ago..in a galaxy far, far ...sorry, just kidding. The book is amazing. One of the best reads ever. I still remember reading it as a teenager when the film originally came out.

This a review of the original 1977 Star Wars, A New Hope Novel, which includes, revolutianary at the time, colour stiils from the film.

There are differences between the flim and book, but it follows the movie step for step all the way through. There is Luke observing the freighter and Vader's warship through his binoculars at the beginning of the book and Luke racing into Anchorhead and then meeting Biggs. These scenes were cut from the movie, but still exist as out-takes. There is also an out-take which shows Han sitting in the cantina with a lady friend, before Greedo joins him (though this is not in the book).

This book made me think that you could really ride into town, hire a space ship and fly off to other worlds accompanied by your robots, space villians, Princesses, aliens and wise man (Jedi). I've not met many people who did not drop their jaws when they first saw the film - now it's all nothing special.

This is a real addition to the film and well worth a read by any fan. The style of writing is fast and pacy and really stirs your imagination. One of the all time favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars: A Dream-factory book!, 12 Nov 1998
By A Customer
If I enjoyed the movie I got crazy for the book! There are lots of scenes that the movie didn't show and all of them with great realism and precision! I'll surely buy the sequel, and I hope it will be as good as this. I also red the italian translation of this book, but the original version is even better. In one word, if you want to live a fantastic adventure in your mind, you can't miss this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the finest Sci-Fi story ever written., 4 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This book is not just read - it is experienced. It beckons you to a whole new galaxy, a used, familar used past - a futuristic one.
The characters of the movies that became the first cinematic phenomana are calling to you. Join them and their crusade, a long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Harrty Potter, 28 July 2013
This review is from: Star Wars: A New Hope (Paperback)
As a child, this was the book that kicked off my passion for reading. It was my Harry Potter. I had already seen and loved the film but the novel was the first 'grown up' book I ever read and inspired a lifetime of reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect item., 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: A New Hope (Paperback)
This is a perfect item of choice for any Star Wars fanatic, whom enjoys the read from the big screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars: A New Hope Novel, 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: A New Hope (Paperback)
I had always watched the film. Have never read the book. So bought it to see if it matches the movie. Item was in new condition and arrived very quickly. Well protected in a cardboard packaging. Very happy with the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the Orginal Alan Deal Foster Novelization, 8 Aug 2011
By 
L. Fevrius (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: A New Hope (Paperback)
As I read the orgiinal before Lucas retrofitted the the prequels into the star wars history, I caqn say that this is no where nears as good as that novelisation. This is more a shooting script that a novel, and suffers greatly for it. Do yourself a favour and see if you can hunt down the original Novelisation, you will nto be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: A New Hope
Star Wars: A New Hope by George Lucas (Paperback - 10 Jun 1999)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews