Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wealth of emotional, scientific and philosophical conflict
Third in Orson Scott Card's "Ender" cycle, "Xenocide" charts the events on the planet of Lusitania, home to all three sentient species in existence, two of which are not represented anywhere else in the universe. All living things on Lusitania are subject to a virus, the Descolada, which attacks and modifies the genetic information of the host and is evolving rapidly to...
Published on 23 Mar 2005 by Semioticghost

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Getting tired now
It reminded me of Frank Herbert's Dune series - stunning first book is head-spinningly brilliant, second book has maybe a little less verve and swagger but nevertheless delivers and then the third one starts to suffer from Lorenzian urges and just loses impetus under the increasingly suffocating swathes of irrelevance and invention for its own sake. It flies off to the...
Published 12 months ago by Alexander McNabb


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Getting tired now, 3 July 2013
By 
Alexander McNabb (United Arab Emirates) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It reminded me of Frank Herbert's Dune series - stunning first book is head-spinningly brilliant, second book has maybe a little less verve and swagger but nevertheless delivers and then the third one starts to suffer from Lorenzian urges and just loses impetus under the increasingly suffocating swathes of irrelevance and invention for its own sake. It flies off to the left and right like a kid with Tourette's, barking here and howling there but never engaging or startling as Ender's Game did. By now I'm a little sick of Andrew Wiggins (and starting to think how sad it would be if the universe were indeed multiply saved by someone called Andrew Wiggins) and feeling he's something of a smug wee prig.

I liked the Chinese girl idea, but again the execution became wearysome. By the time we discover faster-than-light flight (by sitting in a cardboard box and rubbing the side of our noses) I've seen visions of Paul as a sandworm - a book I last read over 30 years ago - and remembered the frustration of a legendary saga that hit the ground running and then just started digging until it ran out of steam.

A shame, that...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not on par with the first two..., 18 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Xenocide: Book 3 of the Ender Saga (Paperback)
First two books in Ender series are wonderful reads with a gripping storyline and excellent writing. Well, the third book has the same excellent writing but lacks the storyline.
No wonder Mr.Card is a great writer; whatever he writes he writes it good. Unfortunately Xenocide serves the purpose of bringing up a number of muddled ideas rather than telling a story. As a matter of fact there are so many ideas (overcoming an intelligent virus, how to save Jane, the Godspoken, Novinha's frustration against Ender, Ender's "split" personality, piggies' rights, virus rights, Bugger's way of thinking, Inside and Outside, faster-than-light-travel and some more minor things) that all comes to frustrating complexity and since the author does not have enough "time" (number of pages) to devote to each idea, almost everything except a few becomes muddled.
At the end, since the author creates more problems than necessary for a book - that can be handled in a single book - in order to neatly tie all that mess up, he has to resort to deus ex machina by means of hard sci-fi. Well Mr. Card is a great writer of characters, but he's not that great in hard sc-fi; thus his attempt makes you feel kinda cheated.
Overall this is an inescapable book. If you've started Ender Saga you'll have to read this. Thanks to Card's writing, it is still a fun read but especially with its ending it is unsatisfactory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wealth of emotional, scientific and philosophical conflict, 23 Mar 2005
This review is from: Xenocide: Book 3 of the Ender Saga (Paperback)
Third in Orson Scott Card's "Ender" cycle, "Xenocide" charts the events on the planet of Lusitania, home to all three sentient species in existence, two of which are not represented anywhere else in the universe. All living things on Lusitania are subject to a virus, the Descolada, which attacks and modifies the genetic information of the host and is evolving rapidly to the extend that combating it requires constant alteration of viricides in both non-native sentient species. Yet the native species, the Pequeninos, require the Descolada to survive, as it forms the means by which they transform into the different phases of their lifecycle. Any species looking to leave the planet would be required to take the Descolada with them, as it adapts and becomes a necessary part of any organism's genetic make-up. This is one of the main problems the planet is faced with, but the second is equally serious:
Lusitania is under threat of being annihilated by a fleet sent by Starways Congress, because the planet's scientists have broken the law of not interfering with alien species by helping the sentient Pequeninos to gain a foothold in agriculture. Rather than sending the scientists to trial and certain lifelong exile, the colony rebels and is thus to be turned into an example.
The narrative hinges on Ender Wiggin and those around him, with a wealth of emotional, scientific and philosophical conflict between unique characters against a background of questions more normally expected in moral philosophy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, intriguing, but just a little less than the previous two., 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is the continuation of the Ender saga and continues in the style of "The speaker for the dead". The third book is just a little less of all the positives of the previous book for me. While still drawing you in, this instalment is just a little less intriguing and a bit too blunt and straight forward sometimes. Some revelations just pop up a bit too fast and arbitrarily perhaps.

It's more a feeling than a fact, but to me this book is just a notch down from the two previous books in pretty much every way. Still a good read though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I found I didn't care..., 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read Ender's Game a long time ago and recently decided to read it again. It was as good as I remembered. I then moved on to Speaker for the Dead and enjoyed that novel as well. I had high hopes for Xenocide even though some of the reviews were distinctly "meh".

I have found that those reviews were spot on (I'm looking at YOU "A Customer"). I felt some significant social and theological issues were being explored, but near the end some elements were introduced that made me think - "actually, I don't care any more. This was unnecessary." 4 stars for what OSC attempted. 2 stars for leaving me unconcerned whether or not there was a 4th book. If there is, I'll never read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just not as good sadly, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xenocide: Book 3 of the Ender Saga (Paperback)
Loved the first book and the second one i think preferred as it made me think about what if we did meet a fundamentally different species. Number 3 sadly just didn't hold my interest, felt more like a re-hash of 2 throwing in some oriental culture i couldnt make myself care about. I didn't read it all so maybe it gets better further into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xenocide, 10 Oct 2011
By 
J. M. Poulain - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A very well written book by Orson scott Card, this shows the series continuing to tackle more complicated ethical ideas as opposed to the military fiction of Ender's Game. Ender has grown into a distinct character instead of playing the sterotypical child genius from the first book. Though occasionaly the normally hard science fiction elements can devolved into more metaphysical religion I thouroughly recommend the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the books in this series are are excellent reads., 17 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Xenocide: Book 3 of the Ender Saga (Paperback)
I read in the bath. Its the only time I get read a book these days. What does this have to do with this book, I'll tell you. Its that good that I when I get in the bath the water is warm. When I get out its cold because I have not been able to put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different, but still a great read, 2 July 2014
By 
flyingdutchbird (Peterborough, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I really enjoyed this book, although it felt different to the first two in the series. The philosophy and metaphysics were interesting and I really enjoyed the characters as well. Looking forward to the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Return of Ender, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story follows on from Speaker of the Dead. Answers a few questions and creates a few moor with a couple of characters from they original novel return.
If you have enjoyed the first two novels then you will enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Xenocide: Book 3 of the Ender Saga
Xenocide: Book 3 of the Ender Saga by Orson Scott Card (Paperback - 6 Aug 1992)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews