Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, honour and flawed heroes., 17 Nov 2000
This review is from: Morningstar (Paperback)
The usual David Gemmell flair and expression create in Morningstar a fantastic read. It is set in the same world as Knights of Dark Renown and recreates the land vividly. Heroes that are not as pure white as they might be give you more of a link to the characters and their otivation. Read it in a couple of hours and didn't want to put it down. It keeps you gripped in the way of almost al his books and he deserves more recognition than he has received thus far. If you want to have a gripping read that makes you feel a little wistful for even the unpleasant, bloody and vicious times of boradswords and blades, then pick this up and read it agian and again. Then go and buy the rest of the Gemmell's and do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Gemmell Read, 21 April 2004
By 
Robbie Swale - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morningstar (Paperback)
Why interesting? Well, this book is written in the first person, somethingwhich I have never experienced Gemmell doing before. The Prologue is evenwritten in first person and the present tense, which is always a difficulttask, and will likely annoy some readers.
But how does the story fare? Well, it is superb. It seems to be looselybased on a Robin Hood type character, Jarek Mace, the Morningstar, and is(as usual for Gemmell novels) filled with a depth of character rarely seenelsewhere in the fantasy genre. The plot is fast moving and has the sortof confusion that the Shannow novels brought to the fore, and the newcreatures (to me at least, having not read Knights Of Dark Renown) wereintriguing. The plot is sorted out and explained in the last few chapters,although I have read that David Gemmell wished he could have ended to bookin a different and less-hurried way. Although I can, in hind-sight, seewhat he may mean by this, at the time, I just wanted to read itall.
One thing that is missing from the usual Gemmell winning-formulais the combat. Because the story is told from the viewpoint of Owen Odell,someone who is not a warrior, there isn't the usual focus on the fights. Idon't mean that there is no combat, but when it is described, Gemmellfocuses slightly less on the detail than usual.
Despite the slight feeling of strange-ness that the above variations giveto Morningstar, it is still, undoubtedly, an excellent read. It gave methat "I must finish this before I do anything else" feeling. I wouldalways recommend Legend and the Drenai Saga as the place to start readingGemmell, as that's where he started writing, but for those that want toread new Gemmell, you could do worse than read Morningstar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gemmell...business as usual., 4 July 2011
By 
James N. Beatson "Jim Beatson" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Morningstar (Paperback)
David Gemmell doing what he did best...a flawed hero with dodgy stuff in his background. Gemmell's heros are never whiter than white, which makes them all the more interesting. They tend to be, like Waylander, men who have done terrible things and are trying to atone, or like Morningstar, men trying to live up to the mytholological hero figure which they never were.

Gemmell never disappoints his readers, and he will be sadly missed-probably the finest writer of heroic fantasy in his lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of Heroic Fantasy, read it again and again, 16 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Morningstar (Paperback)
Jarek Mace's anti hero shines through as possibly one of the greatest literary characters of Heroic Fantasy writing. With his side kick and story teller Owen Odell we are treated to an ethical argument of epic proportions between the two main characters. DG's excellent opening chapter takes hold as you suddenly find yourself drifting into the realm of the Angostin. Only after the books powerful and charismatic conclusion do we realise the full moral implications of the tale. I have read this book several times and it continues to fill me with wonder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Stand Alone Novel, 27 May 2014
This review is from: Morningstar (Paperback)
My 4th book by Gemmell. I was first introduced to him by way of the Shannow trilogy. I loved these so thought I would try a stand alone novel so see if his other works were as good.

Morningstar is a bit of a strange one for me, and you do not have to look far to see where it's influences lie. It is almost as if he ripped out a few dozen pages from Lord of the Rings, King Arthur, Dracula & Robin Hood, put them in a bag, shook them up and made a new story out of the jumble. The book is written in the first person (I have been told that this is the only time Gemmell has used this) seen through the eyes of Owen Odell who is a sort of an apprentice Merlin type character. Through circumstance Odell is paired up with Jarek Mace and the adventures start.

Mace is not the typical hero of a novel that you would expect to encounter. He is a thief and thinks only of himself. However when he describes himself in a battle as the 'Morningstar' a legendary figure from history, both his life and Odell's start to take on a more serious note. Can the one time brigand become a hero and lead his people? Or will his selfish ways make sure that he saves his own neck first?

A really clever novel that has numerous twists and turns. Ok, so a lot of the plot may be 'borrowed' from other writers creations, but as the saying goes 'Imitation is the greatest form of flattery', and Gemmell has so skilfully created the world in which his characters live that the reader is soon absorbed into the storyline and eager to see what happens next. I won't go into the storyline as many other reviewers have already gone into this in some detail (some too much and really given away the ending). Expect some gore from the battle scenes, some wit form the conversation and above all be prepared for an introduction to a number of extremely well rounded characters.

A really enjoyable read that only makes me want to read more by the author. Before discovering Gemmell the only other author of fantasy that I had read was really Tolkien, after reading the Shannow novels my entire perception of the genre has changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale from the author who started me in my path of loving literature, 11 Jan 2013
This review is from: Morningstar (Kindle Edition)
Simply put a fantastic starting point for an an experienced reader or someone looking to begin their first journey, it has it all, vampires, villains who are heroes, heroes who don't want to be, time travel (sorry for the spoiler).

This is the first book I ever chose to buy for myself when I was fourteen and I have never regretted it, I still read it every second year and it has shaped my life.

Hopefully someday I will manage to convince my children to appreciate it also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars morningstar =legendary book, 14 May 2011
This review is from: Morningstar (Paperback)
this book is by far one of David Gemmell's best books, i confess i have not read all of his books, but out of the ones i have read, this is probably one of the best, if not the best. David Gemmell writes this book as a first person account, which he does masterfully, i have not known another author to do this well. this book rivals any other authors best work because it just is so good. buy this book and you will not be let down, truly one of the best books i have ever read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different style, same class, 17 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Morningstar (Paperback)
Gripping, and with a slightly more twisting plot than we usually get from Gemmell. I loved the first person story-telling style which lends itself well to the tale. The elderly bard Owen Odell looks back over his life, and his dealings with Jarek Mace (aka The Morningstar). He explodes several myths about the man and yet, in some ways, his truths reveal more heroic qualities in Mace than the man himself would ever have admitted to. I also loved the hunchback 'Wulf' and some of the other more minor characters in the book, and seeing their paths to redemption unfold as myths and misjudgements become truth and, ultimately, legend. A wonderful page-turner and well up to Gemmell's usual high standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great book from David Gemmell, 2 Jan 2004
This review is from: Morningstar (Paperback)
The first few pages of this book grated on me a little bit as it is written as though one of the main characters (Owen Odell) is telling you a story. Thankfully, it isn't like this the whole way through as the story itself is first class. Gemmell has a knack of really bringing his characters to life and it's very easy to get so swept along in the story, that you lose track of time. This is an excellent book but if you are new to David Gemmell, I would recommend reading either Legend or Knights of Dark Renown first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Right stuff!, 10 May 2014
This review is from: Morningstar (Kindle Edition)
I grew up on Moorcock's Elric, Corum and Hawkmoon. That's a hard act to follow, and there is such a lot of lackluster material in this genre. Somehow over the years I missed out on Mr Gemmell's offerings, but have discovered them now at last.

Morningstar is a great tale with finely drawn characters you identify with. It is well written, entertaining and avoids all the hackneyed baggage you so often encounter in Heroic Fantasy.

So I'm looking forward to sampling more from the catalogue of this great Writer. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Morningstar
Morningstar by David Gemmell (Paperback - 1 April 1993)
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews