Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I have ever read.
An incredible, beautiful, awe-inspiring book that has had a considerable impact on my life. The prose is excellent, but the thing that makes this book so brilliant is it's scope.
It is also based on _real_ science without being overly technical. For example, in both the book and the movie the "Dawn of Man" (or Primeval Night) part demonstrates memetics...
Published on 13 Aug 2001 by Oli

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but takes imagination away
On one of Jupiter's moons, Apes and Mankind become transfixed with a mysterious black slab known as the Monolith.

Has there ever been such an influential look into the future of mankind than Stanley Kubrick's Oscar winning picture? Whether it is the finest depiction of future in cinematic history remains to be foreseen but it is easily one of the finest Sci-Fi...
Published on 20 Mar 2009 by Stampy


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I have ever read., 13 Aug 2001
By 
Oli (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 2001: A Space Odyssey (Paperback)
An incredible, beautiful, awe-inspiring book that has had a considerable impact on my life. The prose is excellent, but the thing that makes this book so brilliant is it's scope.
It is also based on _real_ science without being overly technical. For example, in both the book and the movie the "Dawn of Man" (or Primeval Night) part demonstrates memetics eight years before Dawkins published The Selfish Gene. We see how one meme allowed man to develop.
That's all that I can say without spoiling the book, but it is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly imaginative, 28 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2001: A Space Odyssey (Paperback)
To think that this book was written over forty years ago, and yet the author has achieved a high success rate with his detailed predictions for the immediate future. This is a highly imaginative, superb story, one which really makes you think about our role in the universe. To be read again ...... and again.

And what a great idea (especially in 1968) for the spaceship's computer Hal to have a nervous breakdown!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book but electronic edition poorly scanned & proofed, 23 Aug 2012
By 
V. Webb (Ledbury, Herefordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arthur Clarke's writing is as expected; a classic of course. This was my first book to buy and read on a Kindle and I was disappointed at the poor quality of the scanning and proof-reading. There were quite a few classic scanning errors ('r n' misread as 'm' and so on) and a few others where I couldn't guess the intended meaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of science fiction's major triumphs, 10 Jan 2004
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2001: A Space Odyssey (Paperback)
Arthur C. Clarke's monumental novel 2001: A Space Odyssey is top-notch science fiction that more than earns its spot among the greatest works published in the genre. Reading the novel is quite a different experience from watching Stanley Kubrick's wildly famous movie adaptation of the story. The movie is far too abstract and vague for my tastes, concentrating more on visual wonders than sound plot development. Many of the questions left unanswered in the movie (along with some questions and answers the movie never even addressed) can be found in the novel, and this made for a much more rewarding and satisfying 2001 experience for me. Moviegoers had to wait sixteen years to learn the real story of Hal's failure, but Clarke explains it (and in more detail) in the pages of his original 2001 novel. There are actually a surprising number of differences between the novel and the film, which strikes me as somewhat strange given the fact that the book was inspired by the idea of the film; as a matter of fact, much of the writing took place during the film's production, and Clarke has said that some movie shots led him to make changes to the novel as he was writing it.
The story begins in the ancient past, providing much more detail about the appearance of a huge black monolith on earth and its deliberative interference with the man-apes of the area. The film fails to convey the overwhelming impact of the alien monolith on the evolution of life on earth, and that is one important reason why I find the film too vague. The events of Clarke's first few chapters are of great importance in one's understanding of the story, and all the facts become clear in this book. One will also find some major differences between the novel and the movie in terms of the setting of the final events. In the novel, the crucial mission goes to Saturn, whereas the movie takes us no farther than Jupiter; this doesn't change anything really, but Clarke has said that Kubrick made the right decision and saved him some embarrassment from making a visual representation of Saturn that later failed to hold up to more recent scientific discoveries about the ringed planet.
Many of the crucial events onboard the Saturn-bound spaceship Discovery also differ significantly between book and movie. Clarke's exposition of the growing doubts expressed by Captains Poole and Bowman over the performance of the onboard supercomputer Hal works much better than Kubrick's lip reading explication, and there is a lot more information provided here about the whys and wherefores of Hal's troubling and duplicitous actions. The pivotal events of Hal's takeover of the ship play much better in the book as well, and the events as described here are actually much more exciting and convincing than the events you see in the film. The novel concludes with a much more revealing look at Bowman's journey beyond Saturn into infinity. Here, Clarke even goes into some detail about the creators of the monoliths, which is a topic the movie never really addresses at all.
In the end, the novel is just much more compelling than the film, and for that reason I would recommend watching the movie before reading the book. Kubrick intentionally left his film rather vague and open-ended, and a reading of the much more compelling and informative novel may well rob you of whatever small joys you might otherwise find in the film. In the same vein, the paucity of answers in the movie does little to detract from one's enjoyment of and fascination with the novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 26 Mar 2001
By 
This review is from: 2001: A Space Odyssey (Paperback)
Gripping brilliant awesome stunning amazing superb excellent masterpiece! And even that doesn't credit it enough. This book should replace the bibles in hotels. If you like Sci-fi & computers you might become addicted. Some great symbolism in it too. What an amazing prediction of the future. Clarke may as well have travelled into the future to find out his facts. READ IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliantly thought out and gripping read., 23 Nov 1999
This review is from: 2001: A Space Odyssey (Paperback)
The basic premise of the book is an absolute blinder and it doesn't stop there. The ideas are way before their time and the situations encountered, by both the characters and the reader, are fantastic. Things do get a tad strange towards the end of the book but I found it compelling, couldn't put it down!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the greatest sci-fi tale ever...., 15 Oct 2005
This review is from: 2001: A Space Odyssey (Paperback)
There really isn't much more to be said about this novel that hasn't already been said. It's so open ended that virtually any interpretation can be applied, so let's keep it simple. Let's get this straight. The people that say they understood every aspect of the film without reading the book are either lying (ie. they read the book first but won't admit it for fear of undermining their intellectual superiority/reasoning process) or they don't really understand it at all. The only people that appreciated the last half hour of the film, without reading the book were hippies on an acid trip. So let's get down to cases. This is the greatest ever sci-fi novel because, a) it offers an interesting twist on evolution.... b) until the stargate it is based on real physics right down to the very last nut and bolt.... c) despite clarke's stark use of description, it manages to convey a real sense of isolation in "between planets".... d) probably most important of all, it is totally believable. I cannot recommend this novel highly enough. For readers of all ages and all persuasion, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unsurpassed, 9 Aug 2011
This review is from: 2001: A Space Odyssey (Paperback)
Where do I start? Yes this is without doubt a masterpiece. Every page a thought provoking wonder. Yes the movie is a superb moment in film history but this book is in my view even better. If only the movie had stuck more closely to the novel then I feel many people would have not felt so baffled. A wonderous work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Sci-Fi, 12 Jun 2010
By 
A. C. Bolton "Tony" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2001: A Space Odyssey (Paperback)
This book is a classic piece of sci-fi fiction, well written, great characterisation, plenty of suspense, and much easier to follow than the film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Never seen the film and don't know whether I should?, 14 Jun 2000
This review is from: 2001: A Space Odyssey (Paperback)
I knew the brief outline after one of my friends gave the whole four-story overview in 20 minutes but soon forgot what he had told me (memory problem).
Once I bought and started reading the book I knew that all four volumes would eventually be sitting on my shelf. A compelling book that, with the aid of a overly active imagination, paints a brilliant and clear picture in my mind! which gives me more of a reason not to see the film and ruin this crystal scene.
A brillient book with a suprisingly wide influence in the form of the HAL with his "psychotic computer-gone-mad" character which has cropped up in various shapes and forms over the years (interestingly the name IBM, is HAL but each letter is one step forward in the alphabet!). I Would recomend this to any Sci-fi fan. I've already to start the second... when it arrives from Amazon, of course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

2001: A Space Odyssey
2001: A Space Odyssey by Sir Arthur C. Clarke CBE (Paperback - 2001)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews