Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I have ever read.
An incredible, beautiful, awe-inspiring book that has had a considerable impact on my life. The prose is excellent, but the thing that makes this book so brilliant is it's scope.
It is also based on _real_ science without being overly technical. For example, in both the book and the movie the "Dawn of Man" (or Primeval Night) part demonstrates memetics...
Published on 13 Aug 2001 by Oli

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2001 A Space Odyssey
Already seen the film but bought this book because of my interest in the story line. Well written and superb plot but just a bit dated by todays standards. P,Andrews
Published 5 months ago by Phillip Andrews


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I have ever read., 13 Aug 2001
By 
Oli (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 2001: A Space Odyssey (Paperback)
An incredible, beautiful, awe-inspiring book that has had a considerable impact on my life. The prose is excellent, but the thing that makes this book so brilliant is it's scope.
It is also based on _real_ science without being overly technical. For example, in both the book and the movie the "Dawn of Man" (or Primeval Night) part demonstrates memetics eight years before Dawkins published The Selfish Gene. We see how one meme allowed man to develop.
That's all that I can say without spoiling the book, but it is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly imaginative, 28 Dec 2010
By 
Donald Hughes (Ruislip) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2001: A Space Odyssey (Paperback)
To think that this book was written over forty years ago, and yet the author has achieved a high success rate with his detailed predictions for the immediate future. This is a highly imaginative, superb story, one which really makes you think about our role in the universe. To be read again ...... and again.

And what a great idea (especially in 1968) for the spaceship's computer Hal to have a nervous breakdown!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book but electronic edition poorly scanned & proofed, 23 Aug 2012
By 
V. Webb (Ledbury, Herefordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arthur Clarke's writing is as expected; a classic of course. This was my first book to buy and read on a Kindle and I was disappointed at the poor quality of the scanning and proof-reading. There were quite a few classic scanning errors ('r n' misread as 'm' and so on) and a few others where I couldn't guess the intended meaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unsurpassed, 9 Aug 2011
This review is from: 2001: A Space Odyssey (Paperback)
Where do I start? Yes this is without doubt a masterpiece. Every page a thought provoking wonder. Yes the movie is a superb moment in film history but this book is in my view even better. If only the movie had stuck more closely to the novel then I feel many people would have not felt so baffled. A wonderous work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Sci-Fi, 12 Jun 2010
By 
A. C. Bolton "Tony" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2001: A Space Odyssey (Paperback)
This book is a classic piece of sci-fi fiction, well written, great characterisation, plenty of suspense, and much easier to follow than the film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RIP Arthur C Clarke, 19 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: 2001: A Space Odyssey (Paperback)
This novel introduced me to the wonders of sci-fi and opened my mind in so many ways.

Rest in Peace - Arthur C Clarke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 26 Mar 2001
By 
This review is from: 2001: A Space Odyssey (Paperback)
Gripping brilliant awesome stunning amazing superb excellent masterpiece! And even that doesn't credit it enough. This book should replace the bibles in hotels. If you like Sci-fi & computers you might become addicted. Some great symbolism in it too. What an amazing prediction of the future. Clarke may as well have travelled into the future to find out his facts. READ IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An intruiging vision. A must read., 10 Mar 2001
By A Customer
Arthur C Clarke portrays the future with a deadly accuracy. He portrays emotion impeccably. This book is a ground breaker. It has a story line which will blow your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliantly thought out and gripping read., 23 Nov 1999
This review is from: 2001: A Space Odyssey (Paperback)
The basic premise of the book is an absolute blinder and it doesn't stop there. The ideas are way before their time and the situations encountered, by both the characters and the reader, are fantastic. Things do get a tad strange towards the end of the book but I found it compelling, couldn't put it down!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of science fiction's major triumphs, 10 Jan 2004
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2001: A Space Odyssey (Paperback)
Arthur C. Clarke's monumental novel 2001: A Space Odyssey is top-notch science fiction that more than earns its spot among the greatest works published in the genre. Reading the novel is quite a different experience from watching Stanley Kubrick's wildly famous movie adaptation of the story. The movie is far too abstract and vague for my tastes, concentrating more on visual wonders than sound plot development. Many of the questions left unanswered in the movie (along with some questions and answers the movie never even addressed) can be found in the novel, and this made for a much more rewarding and satisfying 2001 experience for me. Moviegoers had to wait sixteen years to learn the real story of Hal's failure, but Clarke explains it (and in more detail) in the pages of his original 2001 novel. There are actually a surprising number of differences between the novel and the film, which strikes me as somewhat strange given the fact that the book was inspired by the idea of the film; as a matter of fact, much of the writing took place during the film's production, and Clarke has said that some movie shots led him to make changes to the novel as he was writing it.
The story begins in the ancient past, providing much more detail about the appearance of a huge black monolith on earth and its deliberative interference with the man-apes of the area. The film fails to convey the overwhelming impact of the alien monolith on the evolution of life on earth, and that is one important reason why I find the film too vague. The events of Clarke's first few chapters are of great importance in one's understanding of the story, and all the facts become clear in this book. One will also find some major differences between the novel and the movie in terms of the setting of the final events. In the novel, the crucial mission goes to Saturn, whereas the movie takes us no farther than Jupiter; this doesn't change anything really, but Clarke has said that Kubrick made the right decision and saved him some embarrassment from making a visual representation of Saturn that later failed to hold up to more recent scientific discoveries about the ringed planet.
Many of the crucial events onboard the Saturn-bound spaceship Discovery also differ significantly between book and movie. Clarke's exposition of the growing doubts expressed by Captains Poole and Bowman over the performance of the onboard supercomputer Hal works much better than Kubrick's lip reading explication, and there is a lot more information provided here about the whys and wherefores of Hal's troubling and duplicitous actions. The pivotal events of Hal's takeover of the ship play much better in the book as well, and the events as described here are actually much more exciting and convincing than the events you see in the film. The novel concludes with a much more revealing look at Bowman's journey beyond Saturn into infinity. Here, Clarke even goes into some detail about the creators of the monoliths, which is a topic the movie never really addresses at all.
In the end, the novel is just much more compelling than the film, and for that reason I would recommend watching the movie before reading the book. Kubrick intentionally left his film rather vague and open-ended, and a reading of the much more compelling and informative novel may well rob you of whatever small joys you might otherwise find in the film. In the same vein, the paucity of answers in the movie does little to detract from one's enjoyment of and fascination with the novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

2001: A Space Odyssey
2001: A Space Odyssey by Sir Arthur C. Clarke CBE (Paperback - 2001)
8.09
Usually dispatched within 9 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews