Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His usual sheer brilliance...
David Gemmell proves himself as the best fantasy fiction writer in the world today yet again. As always, this book is enthralling, brilliant, and impossible to put down. More than the usual "Good vs Evil" fantasy fiction tales, this one makes you think, involves you in the story, forces you to form an opinion that you might not expect. A must read for all...
Published on 8 Sep 2000

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, yet far from his best.
Ghost King falls between two of Gemmell's best cycles, emerging from the Drenai series and before the Rigante books. It is the first of a two book story and although it wraps up the storyline in this volume, a lot of character development takes place in Ghost King. It follows the path of a slight prince who must face up to his legacy, which becomes more and more complex...
Published on 4 May 2010 by Mr. G. Battle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His usual sheer brilliance..., 8 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ghost King (Sipstrassi: Stones of Power) (Paperback)
David Gemmell proves himself as the best fantasy fiction writer in the world today yet again. As always, this book is enthralling, brilliant, and impossible to put down. More than the usual "Good vs Evil" fantasy fiction tales, this one makes you think, involves you in the story, forces you to form an opinion that you might not expect. A must read for all fantasy fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT NOW!, 29 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Ghost King (Sipstrassi: Stones of Power) (Paperback)
This book has it all and has stood the test of time. Based on history and the Arthurian legend, it has enough in it of the legend to form a framework but then departs enough to allow twists and turns and a stunning last page that makes you rush out and buy the next in the series. This is a quickly read book but that does not mean it lacks substance. Gods, immortals, witches, magic, Atlantis, Excalibur its all there and if that doesnt make you want this book then....you know the rest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uther Pendragon as he should have been, 26 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ghost King (Sipstrassi: Stones of Power) (Paperback)
Gemmel has avoided the major pitfall of the Arthur legend - that we all know the tragedy of the end. A good story, and a human hero who could give rise to some of the Arthur legends. Wonderful story-telling of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gemmel, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author is David Gemmell what else can I say, as always brilliant! He has never disappointed with any books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gripping, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another of the epic sipstrassi stone stories although a stand alone and an alternative view to the creation of the legendary King Arthur and his knights of the round table
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great alternative to the legendary tale of King Arthur, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great book by the fantastic David Gemmell. Every time I read or re-read one of his books I come away with a sense of sadness that he is no longer with us to write books and share his wonderful imagination and talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 1 of Gemmells best . I 've always loved his work & it's a joy 2 pick up 1 of his novels, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
1 of Gemmells best . I've always loved his work & it's a joy 2 pick up 1 of his novels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paul, Barton, Lincs, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gemmell at his best as always, great story, read all of his stuff, if you have not descovered him yet!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Typical Gemmell, no happy ending., 2 Jun 2013
By 
Dazzstiff (stowmarket, suffolk England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No spoilers just a nice blend of magical fantasy an legend. I love gemmell books and wasn't disappointed. You might argue I have wasted one of the few sunny Sunday's we are likely to get, but I disagree. Time well spent by anyone who hates a happy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The writing is a touch clumsy, but I really enjoyed it. The pure fantasy of the Arthurian theme was epic and at the end I was thoroughly entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghost King (Sipstrassi: Stones of Power)
Ghost King (Sipstrassi: Stones of Power) by David Gemmell (Paperback - 20 Oct 1988)
7.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews