Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gemmell's best novel ever!
This is the first ever Gemmell book I read(I found it in my dads bookcase) and read it in 2 days. It is simply superb and a novel for others to aspire to. The plot is brilliant ,dark and fascinating, the characters are much more subtle than your everyday heroes and heroines. This book shows that heroes don't always ride white stallions and carry magic swords, a modern...
Published on 26 Jun 2000

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a Druss or a Connavar but good nonetheless
He is the Waylander, a man of mystery and a dark past, on a path to redemption. Standard heroic fantasy you might think but this is David Gemmell don't forget and he tells a story in the same fashion that made the original Star Wars films so great. He writes with real depth to his characters, where everyone is a product of their own pasts. There is some good in the...
Published on 23 Jan 2003 by JD Astill


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gemmell's best novel ever!, 26 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Waylander (A Drenai Novel) (Paperback)
This is the first ever Gemmell book I read(I found it in my dads bookcase) and read it in 2 days. It is simply superb and a novel for others to aspire to. The plot is brilliant ,dark and fascinating, the characters are much more subtle than your everyday heroes and heroines. This book shows that heroes don't always ride white stallions and carry magic swords, a modern day classic. David Gemmell the king of fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a Druss or a Connavar but good nonetheless, 23 Jan 2003
By 
JD Astill (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waylander (A Drenai Novel) (Paperback)
He is the Waylander, a man of mystery and a dark past, on a path to redemption. Standard heroic fantasy you might think but this is David Gemmell don't forget and he tells a story in the same fashion that made the original Star Wars films so great. He writes with real depth to his characters, where everyone is a product of their own pasts. There is some good in the villians and bad in the heroes and this is what makes nearly all of Gemmell's works at best brilliant and at worst entertaining. The Waylander moves somewhere between the two as the main hero lacks the brutish innocence of Druss or the hard charisma of Connavar, two of his greatest characters. If you have, like myself, read Druss first, then this is a great book. If you are new to Gemmell then start with the excellent LEGEND and then pick this up. These tales really take me back to my childhood favorites Conan and Michael Moorcock's Elric. Good book with a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waylander - the one that started me off, 21 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Waylander (A Drenai Novel) (Paperback)
Waylander is my favourite David Gemmell character ever, head and shoulders above the rest. A good man turned bad, or a bad man turned good? Read all three and then decide.

A classic, not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waylander, 9 Mar 2011
This review is from: Waylander (A Drenai Novel) (Paperback)
As always David Gemmell gets inside the characters and whether you love them or hate them, you can be sure that by the end of the book, your hanging on their every emotion and word.
Excellent read,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more to it that than a story., 5 Mar 2006
This review is from: Waylander (A Drenai Novel) (Paperback)
This is the first book i ever read (other than kid's books) 5 years later and i'v now come back to Gemmell's books. Although i'd agree with earlier reviews that it is not his best work i have to say that it has more to it than just the story. At first i thought he was saying how strongly and easily good and evil can change each other. Now i think he was asking 'what is good and evil?' eg, Waylander kills people but noone that doesnt deserve it, is he still evil? And Dardalion helps the helpless, but fights in the war and kill, is still good?
All i can say is read this book, and think long and hard about what its saying (and enjoy the story!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best fantasy title i ever read (including lord of the rings), 6 Feb 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Waylander (A Drenai Novel) (Paperback)
Waylander is a smashing piece of work, and is top novel (in my view) in the Drenai saga. I enjoyed the way Dakeyras is totally unlike your average hero with golden blonde hair and shining white armour, and i actually prefered it to the sequal, Waylander 2. In short, Waylander is a breath of fresh air from your run of the mill fantasy.It's the best thing since sliced bread.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 13 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Waylander (A Drenai Novel) (Paperback)
David Gemmel shows off his talent in this book. The book is a non stop read, once it is up it does't go down. I got in trouble many times at school for not paying attention in lessons. This book is an action packed book, U SHOULD READ IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book!, 19 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Waylander (A Drenai Novel) (Paperback)
I'm gradually working my way through all of Gemmell's books; I love this author! Waylander is wonderful, full of passion, drama, emotion, humour, etc. I love the way Gemmell develops his charactors - as ever - mourning their loss as I complete each book. In Waylander, Kai's story (Kai is a brief, but important charactor) had me sobbing! I'm hoping that he'll materialise again in Waylander 11 , because I desperately need him to find love and acceptance :)
I'm not sure if Waylander is an ideal first Gemmell to read, but I can't praise Gemmell's work highly enough! I've loved every one of his books so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Heart of a Nation, 10 May 2001
This review is from: Waylander (A Drenai Novel) (Paperback)
Waylander is unquestionably one of the most compelling characters in modern fantasy writing. This first of three books to date with the character sees the most ruthless and deadly assassin to have lived on the run having killed the King and plunged the Drenai nation into crisis. However a chance meeting with a priest and a flame haired women and Waylander becomes the last hope to save the Drenai, journeying into the Northern steppes to recover the fabled Armour of Bronze, dodging Nadir tribesmen and demons on the way.
On the face of it Gemmell writes uncomplicated fantasy, however he manages to imbue his characters with amazing strength and romanticism, drawing you into gritty and involving plotlines. It just goes to show that it is possible to write fantasy with the power to grip the imagination in one concise one novel packages rather than the sprawling multiple book epics that we are used to. Or maybe it is a unique skill that Gemmell possesses.
Whatever, this is perhaps Gemmells best book, wonderfully dark with just a hint of light and a must for all lovers of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WAYLANDER THE SLAYER, 24 Oct 2003
This review is from: Waylander (A Drenai Novel) (Paperback)
Waylander is one of the best books i have every read. It has everything in it from action to romance. After readign this book i bought waylander II straiht awaya nd i have just finished it and it is just as good as the first one.
If you are into war, fighting and fantasy then this book is for you. After you read Waylander you must read Waylander II.
I have just bought the 3rd book which should be another exellent read.
10/10 TOP READ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Waylander (A Drenai Novel)
Waylander (A Drenai Novel) by David Gemmell (Paperback - 21 Aug 1986)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews