Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Just one recommendation: Read the series!
This is the fourth and final volume in Tad Williams's Memory, Sorrow and Thorn series (started with The Dragonbone Chair, The Stone of Farewell and To Green Agel Tower: Siege).
Drawn by the will to finally reunite the three magical swords, the various heroes all slowly converge back to the Hayholt for the final and terrible battle against the Storm King, and his...
Published on 11 Jan. 2001

versus
1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ok. but a bit of a disappointment.
I really liked Stone of Farewell (2nd book) but the last two were disappointing. Nothing really happens and the final showdown is a huge anticlimax. Its still readable but you'll have to skip a few of the more pointless scenes - and what is the point of Tiamak? He does absolutely nothing in the whole series, but we have about 500 pages in his point of view!
Published on 1 Mar. 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Just one recommendation: Read the series!, 11 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Storm: Memory, Sorrow and Thorn: Book Four (Memory, Sorrow & Thorn) (Paperback)
This is the fourth and final volume in Tad Williams's Memory, Sorrow and Thorn series (started with The Dragonbone Chair, The Stone of Farewell and To Green Agel Tower: Siege).
Drawn by the will to finally reunite the three magical swords, the various heroes all slowly converge back to the Hayholt for the final and terrible battle against the Storm King, and his allies the High King Elias and his councellor, the red alchemist and priest Pryrates.
Using the legendary knight Sir Camaris as a rallying emblem, Josua conquers Nabban. Enrolling new troups on the way, his army grows steadily bigger and stronger.
Miriamele, accompanied by Simon, has fled from Josua's camp, convinced she can talk her father, the High King, out of his evil deeds. Even though complicity and trust settles, Miriamele is torn between her attraction to Simon and the shame she feels at having let Aspitis touch her.
Compared to the first three books, this final volume is much faster paced. With many reverses in the seemingly helpless situations, unexpected turns as well as treasons and, finally, romance, it is truly "unputdownable"!
And if, like me, you can't get enough of Osten Ard, do not miss Tad Williams's novella, The Burning Man, that you'll find in Robert Silverberg Legends anthology.
And just remember this: Beware of the false messenger...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lands safely after a bit of a wobble., 2 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Storm: Memory, Sorrow and Thorn: Book Four (Memory, Sorrow & Thorn) (Paperback)
Well here I am some 3000 plus pages from where I started at the conclusion of Memory Sorrow and Thorn. It's been a very enjoyable journey and an important way station in my ongoing mission to catch all the old fantasy classics.

I found this final installment perhaps stuttered a little. A friend of mine told me the story was originally planned as a trilogy, but over shot somewhat. I felt this did show a little as there was not quite enough remaining plot to fill the customary 800 pages, leading to a hint of padding and filler. The first 100 pages were largely devoted to Miriamele and Simons 'love' story then there is a period of the book where a charactor is lost in a maze of underground tunnels, which, for the poor charactor must have seemed never ending, sadly as a reader I felt the same way. This is a bit of a shame as the momentum and urgency brilliantly built in volume 3 is lost.

However this is a small gripe and the authors storytelling skill recovers the dramatic tension very well. He also answers all the questions that are posed throughout the series leaving a very neat and tidy ending, after a fitting climax, that just leaves the door open enough to revisit this world again at a future date.

The joys of the book are its charactors and stories within stories. Camaris is a particulary engaging side plot. The central charactors are all truly individual and believable, the support cast is suitably colourful and memorable and the plot itself is complex and for the main unpredictable. Add to this the ongoing humour and, at times, surprisingly graphic shocks, its a great 'old time' styled fantasy for the purist. No gunpowder, flying machines or steam engines but lots of magic, swords, dragons, elves and underground cities.

If you enjoyed Lord of the Rings, Magician, Thomas Covenant, The Bakers Boy Trilogy and early Wheel of time books chances are you will really enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A majestic fantasy masterpiece of epic proportions which beautifully blends magic and adventure for a thrilling tale., 31 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Storm: Memory, Sorrow and Thorn: Book Four (Memory, Sorrow & Thorn) (Paperback)
`To green angel tower Storm' is book 4 in the series "Memory, Sorrow and Thorn" by international bestselling author Tad Williams. This dazzling series of incredible worlds and deadly intrigue is greatly impressive and hugely ambitious, on such a breathtaking scale. I am constantly astonished by how vividly creative Tad's world-building is and the sheer remarkable substance that is contained within his work, which epitomizes this genre in a nutshell. Assured and strong, `Memory, Sorrow and Thorn' is a well-written saga of profound depth and cleverly crafted narrative that will delight from beginning to end. In book 4 one follows Simon's journey as a Knight of Osten Ard, wherein terrible horrors and powerful dark magic unfolds. This splendid conclusion to a landmark series is intensely gripping, heart-pounding and so stunning as to leave you awed by the inspired plot.

Prepare to be taken on a long journey of discovery as you plunge into a complex world that is filled with refreshing originality and distinctive flair; unique to this author. `Storm' I feel is certainly one of the most dramatic, memorable and supremely singular endings to any fantasy series and which lingers upon your mind long after finishing the book. I was drawn into a colorful world filled with interesting characters and brilliant storytelling, and so lost within this story I was sad when it finally came to an end. It felt as though the One Ring had at last been tossed into Mount Doom, and as Frodo and Sam lay on a rock his words "It's gone. It's done" were brought to mind as I finally read...

`Firelight and the sound of laughing voices reached out to welcome them.'
- page 796

Simon and Miriamele's dangerous quest across war-and-magic torn lands is really exciting, and I enjoyed being able to really get to know each character inside out. Utterly believable, compelling and simply fantastic the final installment within this brilliant series is the perfect end to an incredibly long story. It did seem like a terribly long wait until I was able to grasp hold of this book, but it was well worth it as I was so elated by how Tad Williams constructed the ending with such excellence. I would say that `Memory, Sorrow and Thorn' has to be right at the top of my list for all-time favorite fantasy series of the epic kind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Sept. 2013
By 
Andix (Greater Manchester) - See all my reviews
I have not actually commenced to read this book; as I am working my way through the series, however I can say I am looking forward to reading it. I am just about to finish The Dragonbone Chair and don't want to put it down. Tad Williams is a genius. I have read the ShadowMarch seres 4 times. These are as gripping and I imagine that I will enjoy reading these more than once. Books are in excellent condition and speedy delivery. Would highly recommend. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing to the exclusion of food and lectures., 30 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Storm: Memory, Sorrow and Thorn: Book Four (Memory, Sorrow & Thorn) (Paperback)
The fourth in this set of books is by far the best. A realistic description is of a Tolkien style epic but including the vital ingredients of religion, sex and humour! Set in a believably complex society, it is basically the story of a kitchen lad who makes good, becomes a knight, fights a dragon, finds a magic sword or two, grows into a tall sexy young man and eventually gets the girl.
Let's face it, the story wouldn't be nearly so satisfying if he didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Storm by Tad Williams, 21 Sept. 2011
By 
Peter Farr (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Part of the memory, Sorrow and Thorn series. If you love fantasy such as Lord of the Rings then you won't be disappointed with this. A four book series that keeps you entralled right to the end.I shall definitely be reading more Tad Williams. A superb writer with graphic descriptions that make you think you're there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ending as endings should be!, 9 Jun. 2005
By 
B. Jonsson "Literate Warlock" (falun, dalarna sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Storm: Memory, Sorrow and Thorn: Book Four (Memory, Sorrow & Thorn) (Paperback)
It all ends as well as can be, after the different characters'
circumstances. Although you though you could see the end coming, it was still different from your expectations and made you gasp more than once at the unexpected turns the story took.
I couldn't have wished for a better ending, but for one thing!
I wished it hadn't ended at all and I still had lots more to read, for the first time.
Wonderully enjoyable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read really felt the characters and their experiences come ..., 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read all 4 of the books in the series this being the last. Fantastic read really felt the characters and their experiences come alive. Brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite saga - that is saying something, 19 Feb. 2007
By 
Eloise Reyne (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Storm: Memory, Sorrow and Thorn: Book Four (Memory, Sorrow & Thorn) (Paperback)
wow. tad williams' brilliant ability to drag a reader into an utterly believable world is amazing, and i could read this saga again and again for days on end without getting bored. as i was reading this last entry for the 'memory, sorrow and thorn' books my mind was sinking as i reached the end. no! and it was over, all too soon. i had borrowed his books off a friend and as soon as i gave them back i didn't hesitate to secure myself copies of this amazing saga. each character is unique, special to the plot in no other way and every adventure included in these books was gripping, hilarious or (mainly) mysterious. the Dragonbone Chair was particularly infuriating to read as so much of it was filled with mystery and confusion. i would always yearn to hear from Simon's point of view again, as being the reader was like participating as this character in the book - being swept away by events and secrets no one understood. when the saga was finished, looking back at the first one, i would still be amazed by how Simon who we knew so well had changed into a man without realising. i adore these osten ard books and i implore you, tad williams, to write another book based on this world. it is completely enthralling and i am raiding all bookshelves for any more books you have written that i havent yet come across. if they are all like Green Angel Tower then i am sure my nose will be stuck in them soon enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well written. This is a fun and interesting conclusion to the series- would recommend it as coming of age sci fantasy drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Storm: Memory, Sorrow and Thorn: Book Four (Memory, Sorrow & Thorn)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews