Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only one review?, 15 Jun 2002
By 
Ramah (Nottingham, UK.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Last Guardian (Jon Shannow Novel) (Paperback)
I just thought I would say a few words to balance out the fact that there is only one review for this excellent and, in my opinion, best of all the Gemmell books. Next to Waylander, Jon Shannow is my favourite of all Gemmell's characters and this, his secound adventure, is by far his greatest. Wolf in Shadow was good, but always seemed a bit uneven, a bit strung out without any tight plotting. Bloodstone was easily the worst of the three, Gemmell resorting way too heavily on his love of multi-dimensions almost to the point of farce. But this book is bang on, with not only excitement and mystery, but some genuine moments of heartbreaking humanity. The ending is perfect and should have been left as the true ending to the Shannow saga. In my opinion, Gemmell's books have all followed the law of diminshing returns since this, the pinacle of his talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shannow Rides Again, 24 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Last Guardian (Jon Shannow Novel) (Paperback)
Jon Shannow is back in the second part of the Jerusalem Man trilogy.

This book takes off roughly 2 years after the previous novel ended. We now find Shannow still working towards his goal of locating Jerusalem. His guns continue to blaze and as usual he feared and admired by people in equal measure.

As with the previous novel the Siptrassi stones play a major part of the plot. With whoever holds one gaining magical powers. We meet humans who are turning into wild beasts, hunters and a variety of different races. Can Shannow find his beloved city? And what significance does the God's Sword in the Sky have?

Gemmel uses his creations to successfully introduce many different themes, all of which have featured prominently in our own Earths History. Strongly running through the novel the reader can expect to find examples of slavery, racism and how man treats the environment. Something that I normally hate in a book is when the author introduces time paradoxes and alternative dimensions, but here they are written so well that they blend into the main story excellently.

My only criticism of the book would be that, in my opinion, you would need to read the first in the series to fully appreciate past events.

Can't wait for the third.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a western for the armageddon, 20 Feb 2000
By 
Mr. M. Hatherell "Mark Hatherell" (Vauxhall, London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Guardian (Jon Shannow Novel) (Paperback)
This is a book about the Jerasulem Man, a man who rides across the blasted landscape of Earth dealing justice in the Old Testament style of a tooth for a tooth an eye for an eye. Jon Shannow is a haunted man looking for Jerasulem where he hopes to receive the answers hes souls calls out for and the rest that he so badly needs. As he wanders the world in search for the fabled city he assists those in need of his special abilities only to be shunned and asked to move on when he has completed the task and saved the day. This is a first rate story that moves at a cracking pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great follow on, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classic gemmell, as always reading his works was a pleasure. Full of action, intrigue and twists. Looking forward to bloodstone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars David gemmell at his best, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anotyher great book from David gemmell. The book follows on the Jon shannow story and his quest to find the fabled city of jerusalam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A book which truly explores human nature, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Jon Shannow novels offer a fascinating insight into human nature and the consequences of religion. This trilogy is a fairly simple read but has some deep concepts which keep you captivated. A brilliant book and well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 2nd of trilogy, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great story with strong characters and not too complicated. Nice mixture of science, and magic created by the unknown of radiation contamination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great r gemmell is legendary, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant read I couldn't put it down I will go on to read all of his books totally legendary read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The second book of the jerusalem man trilogy. Loved every minute of it. Mainly because it was a fantasy which was different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book, great writing, didn't want it to end. Highly recommend his whole series, such a shame he passed away before his time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Guardian (Jon Shannow Novel)
The Last Guardian (Jon Shannow Novel) by David Gemmell (Paperback - 19 April 1990)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews