Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful, heart-warming SF novel
This book is proof enough that one of the world's greatest space scientists can also write great SF!
It is a super SF novel, but it's more than that. Throughout the book, Carl Sagan's love and hope for the human race shine through.
Eleanora Arroway, a woman who has known her fair share of bad times in her life, eventually becomes the head of a space center which...
Published on 3 Oct. 2001 by W. Robinson

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cosmos was better
I'm a huge fan of Carl Sagan, but found this particular foray into fiction the only book of his to be well, a bit boring.

Don't get me wrong, it was really good in places, but for a story it was a little over-technical (ironic from a writer who usually managed to make the most complex and technical things very easy to understand and poetic)

I saw...
Published on 2 Mar. 2008 by Hotblack Desiato


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Massively Impressive, 25 Aug. 2000
By 
M. Bryant - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Contact (Audio Cassette)
Carl Sagan's imagination based on his excellent scientific background makes for a superb read. Just get the book and read it (even if you have seen the later film) and enjoy a work of genious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best sci-fi novels I've ever read., 3 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contact (Paperback)
Instantly became one of my favorite books after being my brothers favorite for the last 10 years.

Would also recommend Dune by Frank Hebert for anyone who liked this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, well worth reading, 31 Dec. 2012
By 
S. Dyer (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contact (Paperback)
Well worth reading, well written. Somewhat different to the movie starring Jodie Foester, though personally I'd recommend both rather than one over the other!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 23 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contact (Paperback)
Everything was perfect. Fast shipiment and so on. Buying from Brazil and shiping to London. Perfect. Nothing to complain. Very happy with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The book is huge in concept and detail but I ..., 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contact (Paperback)
The book is huge in concept and detail but I preferred the film: an adapted storyline and skilful editing make the principal events more dramatic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating., 17 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Contact (Hardcover)
No matter how high you set your expectations for this book, it will exceed them. It's greatness is beyond imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sci-fi not always monsters and little green men!, 13 Aug. 2014
By 
D. C. Raithby (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contact (Paperback)
Enjoyable sci-fi. An excellent evenings viewing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars tries hard, 10 Jun. 2011
By 
rob crawford "Rob Crawford" (Balmette Talloires, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Contact (Paperback)
This book has good ideas and characters as well as a nuanced story, but for some reason I just didn't think it was all that good. I liked Ellie, the chief protagonist, who was psychologically complex and a striver for discovery - she had a funny relationship with her father and step father, which influenced her ability to get close to men, perhaps focusing her on the search for intelligent life. Of course, she makes a great discovery and then fights the bureaucracy to get a chance to travel to the new beings with the technology that they transmit. Then of course there is the journey and the disappointing reactions of mankind, etc. THis is a solid and believable plot.

That is fine so far as it goes. Somehow, it just felt static to me, rather than pulsing with the life that a novel by Octavia Butler or even Frank Herbert does. Perhaps it is because I regard the best hard scifi as genuinely great novels that I found this so mediocre. The characters are more vehicles for ideas than living beings, perhaps, or they just weren't all that interesting outside of their amazing adventure.

Tepidly recommended. Go elsewhere for great hard scifi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FROM A CARL SAGAN FAN, 1 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contact (Paperback)
I THINK I SAW THE MOVIE BUT I REALLY ENJOYED THE BOOK. ALTHOUGH THERE IS LOTS OF SCIENTIFIC JARGON, THE STORY IS GRIPPING AND WHEN I FINISHED I CONSIDERED IT TO BE AN ATTEMPT TO RECONCILE THE PHYSICS OF THE UNIVERSE AND RELIGION. I COULD BE WRONG. THERE IS A VERY CLEVER TWIST WHICH REALLY THROWS A SPANNER IN THE WORKS. EXCELLENT SCIENCE FICTION FROM A VISIONARY WHO DEATH WAS SAD. HIS BOOK ABOUT THE PHYSICS OF THE UNIVERSE ENTITLED "COSMOS" IS FASCINATING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contact (Paperback)
Nice Copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Contact
Contact by Carl Sagan (Paperback - 16 Oct. 1997)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews