Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Story, And in Just One Book!
This book represents a remarkable achievement, both in the quality of the story telling and the fact that it is just that - one book. In 'The Barbed Coil' JVJones establishes a believable fantasy world, introduces a cast of individual characters and delivers an impressive plot, all within the confines of a single binding. Rare in the world of fantasy writing. I'm not...
Published on 1 April 2004 by MR DANIEL T GILKS

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This Tale Never Rises Above The Ordinary
Despite the author's obvious serious intent here, I found myself struggling to finish this work. It never caught my imagination, let alone my full attention, and I found myself rather wearied by a storyline that never really stood out, characters that to a large degree seemed typecast and standard, and an ending where everyone pairs up and lives happily ever after...
Published on 7 Aug 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Story, And in Just One Book!, 1 April 2004
By 
MR DANIEL T GILKS (Whitehaven, Cumbria United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Barbed Coil (Paperback)
This book represents a remarkable achievement, both in the quality of the story telling and the fact that it is just that - one book. In 'The Barbed Coil' JVJones establishes a believable fantasy world, introduces a cast of individual characters and delivers an impressive plot, all within the confines of a single binding. Rare in the world of fantasy writing. I'm not knocking all such trilogies, indeed this author's 'Sword of Shadows' promises to perhaps be the very pinnacle of these, but it's nice to know that our favourite writers are also able to handle the challenge of mapping out an epic tale in a single book.
Unique in JVJones' as yet short list of work (all those who join me in waiting for the much delayed 'Sword from Red Ice' will know this lady does not rush her art) this book includes our own modern world. Jones' stories have all featured a male and a female lead, their lives and aims interlinked but quiet independent. In 'Coil' the female lead is Tessa McCambfre of San Diego who is transported be means of interdimmensional fate to the Harbour City of Bay'Zell located in a world of knife wielding thugs and terrifying magics. You have probably read books with a similar device before, but JVJones' takes on all such Fantasy standards with an original and powerful approach.
'Coil' was written in-between the 'Book of Words' and 'Sword of Shadows' trilogies and this shows. Her style, first seen in 'Words', is developed and achieves a greater individuality but we don't yet see the intensity found in the latest books.
If you have enjoyed Jones's other work and this has slipped you by, then that is a omission well worth redressing. Likewise if you are new to the author and wish to try the writing out without committing to a multi-volume work I recommend this book to you as the being among the highest quality Fantasy writing available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting approach of magic., 29 April 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Barbed Coil (Paperback)
The Barbed Coil is a stand-alone novel telling the story of Tessa McCamfrey, a young woman from san Diego.
One day, to flee her responsibilities, she takes her yellow Honda Civic and drives without stopping until she comes to a clearing in the Cleveland National Forest. There among the trees are piles of safe deposit boxes, and a intricate, mysterious golden ring. As she puts it on, she's transported into another, exotic world.
More exactly in Bay'Zell, a port city of the province of Rhaize. Bay'Zell is a dangerous place for a young woman on her own and soon she finds herself harassed by two rogues. Fortunately, a piratical but handsone man named Ravis comes to her rescue and decides to take her under his wing.
Quickly she learns more about the continent on which she's just landed: Izgard of Garizon, the bearer of the Coil, is about to invade Rhaize to gain access to the sea. With the help of his monstruous horde of Harras, he's slaughtering all who stand in his path to quench the Barbed Coil's thirst for blood. And so Berick of Thorn, who conquered Garizon fifty years ago, is slain. His son Camron will hire Ravis to get revenge and assassinate Izgard.
Tessa finds herself caught up in these events. Taking refuge in Emith and his mother's cosy cottage, she'll soon realise she also has a part to play. Emith, who was Deveric, the late king's counselor and scribe's devoted assistant before he too was murdered, starts teaching her the art of painting illuminations, as patterns are the catalyst of this world's magic. But his skills are limited, and he sends her to the Annointed Ilse, where his former master Avaccus lives.
The Barbed Coil is a good, fast-paced adventure novel. I was a bit skeptical at first, but as the story flowed, I started to grow fonder of the characters, particularly of Emith and his mother, and of Angeline too, Izgard's courageous young wife. J. V. Jones's elaborate decriptions of the use of pigments and vellums are passionating and the gathering of momentum at the end is most suspenseful. I even caught myself holding my breath as I ploughed through the last pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DON'T read this book while travelling, This book is too good, 7 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Barbed Coil (Paperback)
This is probably one of the best works of Fantasy I have read in years. The entire cast is believeable and you can really associate with them. I missed three stops before I realised it. DON'T read this book on trains. Roll on the next JV Jones book. I can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How can anyone say this book is boring, 3 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Barbed Coil (Paperback)
This book may not rank as high as the lord of the rings but it is truly a masterpiece. I loved it and have read it time and again. The characters are well presented and come across as real. This book had a plot that gripped you from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars JV Jones never lets you down, 13 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Barbed Coil (Paperback)
I have read all Jones' books; I was surprised I had missed this one. I enjoyed it very much. Jones writes with colour and passion, with a fine original sense of plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - a masterful novel, 14 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Barbed Coil (Paperback)
Superbly original and wonderfully written, J.V.Jones enthralls and delights. Tessa, Ravis, Camron, Izgard and all the other characters come to life in a magical way, and the illuminations tie them together brilliantly. Best of all, it ends the way it should. A marvelous read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This Tale Never Rises Above The Ordinary, 7 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Barbed Coil (Paperback)
Despite the author's obvious serious intent here, I found myself struggling to finish this work. It never caught my imagination, let alone my full attention, and I found myself rather wearied by a storyline that never really stood out, characters that to a large degree seemed typecast and standard, and an ending where everyone pairs up and lives happily ever after. Despite moments of originality in the use of magic and illumination, as well as successful characterizations, such as the Emiths, overall the story becomes quickly stale, and the characters rather shallow. The relationship between Angeline - supposedly a queen - and her "no-good" dog Snowy is just too precious, the reunion of Ravis and Malray unconvincing and contrived, the tormented figure of King Izgard familiar and rote, and the relationship of Ravis and Tessa lacking all passion. Further, the author's reliance on the outworn device of shifting her main character between parallel worlds was off-putting right from the start. Despite Jones' dedicated effort at writing, this work lacks any real life. I am baffled by those who are laudatory: This work never rises above the ordinary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars innovative, charming, complex not confusing or gloomy, 30 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Barbed Coil (Paperback)
I value fanatsy books that I can read while traveling. This requires an innovative and captivating writing style with a clear meaningful story-line, interesting characters, funny and often unexpected events. I don't like books that are too gloomy, pretend war novels or mere copies of reality. JV Jones meets my criteria for a good fantasy writer. In this book she describes an imaginative and complex but not confusing tale, with a strong female lead, humour, adventure and a new form of magic. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILL BOOK, 6 Oct 2003
This review is from: The Barbed Coil (Paperback)
hey im richard - 13 from manchester.
i read this book during my summer holiday and i have to say that this is the best book i have ever read. It was boring at the start but when i got into it i couldnt help but love it, if you want a good fantasy book i would highly reccomend this! highly descritive and full of action and original ideas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual concept with strong characters, 8 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. Joseph P. Dunn "JoeAt7" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Barbed Coil (Kindle Edition)
Having read this and other books by Jenny Jones in paperback format many years ago, I recently revisited the 'Baker's Boy' Trilogy - this time on Kindle - and enjoyed it all over again! So now I am also revisiting the other 3 books I have by this same author and the Barbed Coil was the first.
Great idea behind the story and very good strong characters in this book. I would have liked to have more books with Tessa and Ravis as the main characters but I haven't come across any others.
Nevertheless, this self-contained story has some very dark themes (and may be traditional in that the good guys do win in the end) but the side of goodness has a lot to do before it can defeat the dark side!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Barbed Coil
The Barbed Coil by J. V. Jones (Paperback - 1 Oct 1998)
£10.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews