Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars totally outstanding
I would never have picked up a book of thise genre, it normally isnt my kinda thing. Normally perfer thillers and horrors and an occasional bit of chick lit, Glad a changed the habit though cuz this book is brillant, you get so envolved with the charactors, I love the seer and and cant wait to see wait for get my hands on the next installment
Published on 12 Dec 2005

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars read better
Riproaring fast action it is not,not that it is completely dull either. references to the future by the main character give the plot away and make it all a little predictable.still worth reading but don't get too excited by rave reviews. i have read better.
Small update, have finished series, worth sticking with it.
Published on 26 May 2008 by DanT


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars read better, 26 May 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seer King (The Seer King Trilogy) (Paperback)
Riproaring fast action it is not,not that it is completely dull either. references to the future by the main character give the plot away and make it all a little predictable.still worth reading but don't get too excited by rave reviews. i have read better.
Small update, have finished series, worth sticking with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre?, 26 Mar 2009
By 
Mikael Ohlson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seer King (The Seer King Trilogy) (Paperback)
Many things can be said of this book, but mediocre more or less sums it up. The story is sometimes engaging, sometimes outright stupid. The "much vaunted" sex scenes actually make the book lose its flow, and some points upon which the story hinges are blatantly idiotic.

That said, I don't hate the book and it adequately fills time and is enough good fun to continue reading it and its successors. If you enjoy b-flicks and cheesy fantasy television, The Seer King will probably fit nicely and you will probably enjoy it for much the same reasons. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars totally outstanding, 12 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Seer King (The Seer King Trilogy) (Paperback)
I would never have picked up a book of thise genre, it normally isnt my kinda thing. Normally perfer thillers and horrors and an occasional bit of chick lit, Glad a changed the habit though cuz this book is brillant, you get so envolved with the charactors, I love the seer and and cant wait to see wait for get my hands on the next installment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pathetic attempt to "sex-up" a dull book, 25 Jan 2010
By 
R. Cassidy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seer King (The Seer King Trilogy) (Paperback)
Very disappointed in this book: the spurious and ludicrously badly written sex scenes appear to have been thrown in at random intervals, presumably in response to an editor saying "it's a bit dull, mate, spice it up a bit would you?"

As far as the plot goes, we are told the ending in the first few pages, so there's no element of surprise, other than at the inappropriateness and sheer unbelievableness of the dreadful sex scenes.

In my opinion there's nothing particularly original about any of it, it's not that well written, it's unedifying, and my copy is on it's way to the charity shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking good read, 3 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Seer King (The Seer King Trilogy) (Paperback)
A lowly officer with the Bengal Lancers and a wizard (or seer) are set to die in a mountain ambush, but they spoil their enemies plans by surviving. Right from the start, this book is a gripping read. The epic story combines splendid military action and magic, along with a zippy pace and some rather X-rated sex scenes.
In short, brilliant. Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What A Load Of....., 21 Mar 2009
By 
hollie slattery "Jealousy" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seer King (The Seer King Trilogy) (Paperback)
Steamy sex scenes? X-rated sex scenes? Lusty action? Am I reading the same book as you?
I've never been so disappointed in a book, none of the above, main characters I couldn't care less for and a slow pace storyline that the ending is given away at the beginning, so all your reading is how it came about, which seems pretty obvious. This book was written by a man, for a man. Military jargon, light death scene's, and war.
I wish I could send it back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gerat bawdy fantasy novel written in a unique way......, 14 Mar 2000
This review is from: Seer King (The Seer King Trilogy) (Paperback)
I have read many fantasy books over the years but had never come across one so cleverly written till now.... The book is written as an autobiogaphy of one of the 2 main characters (Damastes).
An unlikely paring of a lancer from a poor family and great wizard taking on the whole of the realm is marvellous and from the tantatlising glimpses into the future I cannot wait for the next 2 books in the series - just ordered through Amazon.......
Great Book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FANTASY IN THE BEST TRADITION, 19 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Seer King (The Seer King Trilogy) (Paperback)
The Seer King is a great, rip-roaring read in the best 'sword and sorcery' tradition. Chris Bunch has combined a great plot, interesting characters, well described battle scenes and sprinkled in liberal portions of steamy sex scenes. Whilst it's fairly obvious the route the next two books will take, I look forward to them both. This is truly a book I found hard to put down. If you are struggling with the limp descriptions of Robert Jordan in the Wheel Of Time series, take a break with the Seer King for a breathtaking ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just superb, 17 Mar 2000
By 
Peeters Wim (Leuven, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seer King (The Seer King Trilogy) (Paperback)
The first 2 books of this triology give a realistic view of how people can start out with their experience of a failing government and their sincere desire to change the style of government and improve the life of their fellow citizens and end up being a worse government. In order to achieve the desired changes, they have to play the game and so gain a position of power. They have to make compromises, enter into coalition with corrupt "people" (here a goddess). From the two idealist in the beginning of the book only one stays over at the end. The other one (the politician) now only wants greatness. Greatness for his country and for him. The remaing idealist (soldier) holds true to his ideal of a better government, but his honor ("We hold true") binds him to his liege, even if he is betrayed by him. Only in the end of the second book he breaks his vow. But by then it's too late. He chooses the best of two bad solutions.
Anyway, so far on the content. Chris Bunch has again proven to be a fantastic fantasy writer. If you want to read a fantasy story, the seer triology is one of the best you could choose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Spend your money elsewhere, 25 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Seer King (The Seer King Trilogy) (Paperback)
I found the book quite dull and the plot line a re-make of a history text with a little magic and sex thrown in to fill up pages that lacked ideas/content.
If you want to know about the start of the Roman empire, I recommend reading a true history of Julius Caesar rather than this half attempt to co-opt his story.
The magic was even more contrived and 'mysterious' than in usual sci-fi pieces. Magic was used in such a boring and 'God-out-of-machine' fashion that you knew the story was fake from beginning to end.
Additionally, at times it seems as if the author is confused regarding whether the protagonist is Damastes or Tenedos (the seer turned king). Probably because of that character depth was a bit superficial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seer King (The Seer King Trilogy)
Seer King (The Seer King Trilogy) by Chris Bunch (Paperback - 2 April 1998)
7.13
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews