Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite Vintage
The book is not quite up there with Ringworld and The Ringworld Engineers. The book is still worth it, especially for vintage Niven fans.
Published on 22 Sep 2003 by Benny

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing.
This is a book of two halves, The first half barely merits 1 star, its got too many characters with poor characterization, few new ideas and poor plot which is nearly irrelevant to 2nd half. It also appears to contradict and undo some of the previous book. The 2nd half is slightly better, if only because it returns to some of the more interesting ideas in the earlier...
Published on 9 Aug 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing., 9 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ringworld Throne (Paperback)
This is a book of two halves, The first half barely merits 1 star, its got too many characters with poor characterization, few new ideas and poor plot which is nearly irrelevant to 2nd half. It also appears to contradict and undo some of the previous book. The 2nd half is slightly better, if only because it returns to some of the more interesting ideas in the earlier books. It still has a poor and over complicated plot which is difficult to follow due to the large number of characters.
Niven could have probably written a far more interesting sequel if he had concentrated on the invasion and defence of Ringworld.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars don't ring us..., 27 Feb 2006
By A Customer
Larry Niven (in my humble opinion) is one of the premier writers of science fiction, up there with the Heinliens and Clarkes of the SF world. His ideas are without parallel and the "known space" franchise is one of the best imagined and constructed since Tolkien created middle earth. On the down side, he has a habit of writing in a fashion that keeps readers at arms-length and makes them feel as they they are constantly missing important directions to plot and character development. Nowhere is this more apparent than in "the ringworld throne". Even after 300 pages, I was still left wondering where the story was going and what it's focus was. This book is a real disappointment after the ultra-brilliant "ringworld" and it's worthy successor "the ringworld engineers". It's lack of direction and "in the know" writing style still leaves me frustrated and unfulfilled even after having read it several times. Read the first two books and stop there is my advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incomprehensible, 22 Jun 2009
This review is from: Ringworld Throne (Paperback)
Let me start by saying that Larry Niven is one of my favourite SF authors and that Ringworld is in my opinion his best work and one of the best pure SF books out there. I enjoyed the whole Known Space sequence hugely, with its wild inventiveness combining wilful implausibility with inarguable possibility. Niven always seemed to say, "wouldn't it be interesting if THIS existed???" - the more odd the better, as long as there was a grain of scientific plausibility to it. Mount Lookitthat, The planet of Jinx, the Puppeteers and the Ringworld itself are all good examples. His early work seemed full of energy, of the joy of possibilities.

So why is this book SO bad? So VERY bad? It's a total pointless mess from start to finish. Ringworld was ten out of ten, the sequel a solid eight - this book not only fails to live up to that high standard, it's a sad stain on their brilliance. I read it with a feeling of mounting frustration, neither understanding not caring what the hell was going on. I reached the end and goggled in disbelief. What happened?? I don't know and I didn't really care - I was just glad it was over for me. some of the other reviews of this book are far too polite and loyal to the Author. He's great. This is NOT! Avoid at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 21 Jan 2008
By 
D. J. Brown (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ringworld Throne (Paperback)
Definitely the third best of the "Ringworld" books. A potboiler cashing in on the merited success of its predecessors. Too long, repetitive, too many characters, but no charaterisation. If you have trouble sleeping, buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but unrewarding, 21 Sep 2008
This review is from: Ringworld Throne (Paperback)
The Ringworld Throne is the third instalment of Larry Niven's Ringworld series, published in 1996.

This is a very strange book, it's a book of two halves which are barely related; and both of them seem to be simply chronicles of events rather than an actual story. Very few new ideas are brought into the picture and the effect is one of bemused disappointment come the end.

The first half follows various species of hominids as they attack and destroy a shadow nest (a vampire den) below a large floating city. In my opinion this is the better half of the book - there is a section where this city is explored by one of the protagonists - and it is found to be ancient and ruined within. It really does provide an enthralling read for a few pages at least.

The second half focuses more on the Pak Protectors of various races and their struggle to save the Ringworld. The main problem is that even towards the end, there is no real single story thread - instead the book seems to take a sort of "wait and see where this goes" approach.

Although I enjoyed reading it, I found the lack of purpose or direction frustrating and disappointing. Hopefully the next instalment will be better. If you enjoyed the first two, read this one, but heed warning that it's not in the same league.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Larry, what have you done?, 1 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Ringworld Throne (Paperback)
Over the years I have read many Niven books. Mostly I have been captivated by his ability to introduce staggering ideas or just follow seemingly simple premises to surprising conclusions.
Sadly Ringworld Throne is not one of his better efforts. There seems to be little focus, an unnecessary proliferation of characters, and a meandering plot. There also appear to be anomalies that are not explained. Maybe Ringworld's Children will make up for it . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A sequel to a sequel; not as good as its predecesors, 20 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Ringworld Throne (Paperback)
More adventures on ringworld. All the usuals; the puppeteer, the human and the kzin, with assorted ghouls, vampires, giants and a protector or two thrown in. It seems to have a rather weaker plot than the first two books. Admittedly the ideas aren't so original any more, but even allowing for that things don't seem to mave along as well. I can't decide whether the ending just peters out on purpose, or if it's setting the scene for another sequel.
If you haven't read ringworld or ringworld engineers, then buy one of those instead of this book; if you have read them, then you'll probably want to read this too - it may not be original any more, but it's still much better than a lot of other SF books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite Vintage, 22 Sep 2003
By 
Benny (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ringworld Throne (Paperback)
The book is not quite up there with Ringworld and The Ringworld Engineers. The book is still worth it, especially for vintage Niven fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear......, 6 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being an avid Larry Niven fan who count's the two preceding Ringworld books ('Ringworld' and 'Ringworld Engineers')as 2 of my favourire SF books.I was looking forward to reading 'Ringworld Throne' but what a disaster....
two virtually seperate plots that may as well have been two seperate books.......
the first half devoted to a conflict between Ringworld inhabitants was not exactly page turning stuff...the second half although marginally better had me skipping pages and speed reading to get to the end of the book which turned out to be confusing and just plain dull............ Read this instead Protector
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Utter nonsense - avoid, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ringworld Throne (Paperback)
The previous book (Ringworld Engineers) demonstrated exactly how a competent sequel should be done. It was not only a great book by itself but it also bolstered the original and made you optimistic and hopeful for the future of this fantastic setting. What does Niven have in store for us with this book?

By 50 pages in, the same point where Ringworld and Engineers had well gripped me, I was on the verge on tossing the book and having just finished it that would have been a wise decision. You begin to wonder exactly what has happened to Niven to be able to write in such a manner as to make Ringworld a boring place. Actually, that's half the problem of the book - Ringworld itself barely gets a mention, my heart would leap whenever 'the arch' or a spillpipe or a shadow square was mentioned, because I assumed that meant the story would finally get going. No such luck.

The entire first half of the book seems to be an exercise in introducing as many flat, lifeless characters as possible and making them all have 'rishanthra' with each other, believe me you will come to dread the sight of that word. Somewhere in there is a potentially interesting plot involving a vampire nest and various species of different tech levels having to ally themselves to fight it, but it's lost beneath awful writing and dull, tedious progression.

There's one standout scene involving the taking over of an old floating factory to conquer the vampires, and honestly, it's great. It takes you right back to the wonder and adventure of the first books. Here's the Ringworld we know and love.

Having had your little share of excitement, let's introduce the second half of the book, which is theoretically more interesting as it at least involves Louis Wu. For a while it seems there is a decent conclusion coming. Once again, don't get your hopes up, as the writing and plot becomes confusing to the point of complete bewilderment. I don't know who most of the characters are, what they're doing here, or any number of other pertinent questions.

It's not just that this is a bad and barely readable book, it's that it seems determined to ignore every last thing which made the previous 2 so great. Having seen many bad reviews as I bought it I had foolishly thought that the setting of Ringworld would make up for any amount of other flaws. As I said, that's bunk, as almost all of this book could be set anywhere and it wouldn't make the slightest bit of difference.

Ringworld deserved so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ringworld Throne
Ringworld Throne by Larry Niven (Paperback - 3 July 1997)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews