Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engineered to perfection
Ringworld Engineers is the sort of book that fans of Larry Niven would have pestered him via internet had it been around at the time Ringworld came out.

It takes the original ideas of Ringworld book and expands them subtly, working it into a small but important number of the other books Larry had written previously. This is important because what fans of SF...
Published on 5 May 2012 by Mr. G. Earley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent follow-up to Ringworld
As sequels go Ringworld engineers is a good book, but it's not as engaging a read as Ringworld. Most of the characters from the original are back for this follow-up, but it does feel very much like it was never intended and it's an add on rather than the conclusion of, or continuation of the first. After reading some of the reviews for later books i decided not to go any...
Published on 17 April 2012 by Codz


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engineered to perfection, 5 May 2012
By 
Mr. G. Earley (Wimbledon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ringworld Engineers (Paperback)
Ringworld Engineers is the sort of book that fans of Larry Niven would have pestered him via internet had it been around at the time Ringworld came out.

It takes the original ideas of Ringworld book and expands them subtly, working it into a small but important number of the other books Larry had written previously. This is important because what fans of SF really want is for the story to make sense and fill us with wonder, in this case Ringworld Engineers certainly does that with a little hep from the other books of Known Space.

Larry Niven even managed to work in some of the issues of the day such as Racism and Drug Addiction, which were popular causes of moral panic at the time, especially of the white conservative establishment.

A worthy continuation of the Ringworld story, perhaps slightly less original than the first, but entertaining none the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable Continuation, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ringworld Engineers (Paperback)
But that's it - reasonable. It's certainly not so incredible as the first, which brought in the mind-boggling concepts, interesting technologies and depiction of the future of civilization (as all sci-fi books should). The book's slightly better written than Ringworld, but occasionally still struggles with proper description of characters and slightly bizarre speeches, not to mention the strange fixation of sex with aliens. The main problem is that it simply couldn't hope to achieve the sort of impressive blitz of genius Ringworld did; it's a sequel, and carries on its predecessor's themes and ideas, exploring them a little deeper and giving people a bit more of a look-in to the universe of Known Space. Don't get me wrong, though - it's a good read with plentiful twists and turns, interesting characters, plot and some nicely explained cosmic archetecture that boggles your mind. Just don't expect the world - or rather, Ringworld.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars readable yet disappointing sequel, no new ideas, all old stuff recycled, 14 Feb 2014
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ringworld Engineers (Paperback)
Written at the time when Larry Niven had become something of a commodity rather than an "creative artiste", the Ringworld Engineers returns us to to one of his more interesting scientific speculations, and utilises his long-winded approach first developed for Mote In God's Eye. Everything that happens is planned out meticulously in the prose and then diseccted endlessly after the event. A novel half this length would have been twice as interesting and four times as appealing.

Basically, his "Known Space" concept has topped out. He's written its history in his previous works and can do little more than experiment with glib-sounding precis of historical events forming the background of this novel. He does this in all his Known Space novels, has to retell the entire history for the benefit of anyone who hasn't heard of him before. Gets dull the second time it happens, and this is now well down the line of repeats.

The denoument of this novel is discovering who actually built the ringworld, and it's just stuff that's cropped up several times before, so it won't blow you away or even surprise you. One gets the impression Niven has a full deck of cards and is just shuffling and re-shuffling them for each sequential novel he writes.

The writing itself is smooth and fluent and just zips along in front of your eyes. Shame it's just such a pointless storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A decent follow-up to Ringworld, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ringworld Engineers (Paperback)
As sequels go Ringworld engineers is a good book, but it's not as engaging a read as Ringworld. Most of the characters from the original are back for this follow-up, but it does feel very much like it was never intended and it's an add on rather than the conclusion of, or continuation of the first. After reading some of the reviews for later books i decided not to go any further than this book as I didnt want to ruin what is essentially a great story. If you liked ringworld, then you will like this, if you though ringworld was ok, but nothing special then i wouldnt bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ringworldengineers, 14 Feb 2012
This review is from: Ringworld Engineers (Paperback)
I first read Larry Niven's Ringworld'Forty years ago and I passed it on to my son who was twelve years old at that time and like myself he became an avid SF fan.
So when the chance came to read it again i was delighted and i phoned my son and he asked me to save 'Ringworld and Ringworld Engineers'for when he next visits me.I am sure i am not alone in marvelling at the tremendous scope of Niven's imagination.
I would definitly recomend to any SF fan to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exellent book that deserves to be a bestseller, 7 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ringworld Engineers (Paperback)
The Ringworld engineers is a fantastic book in evey sense of th word. The plot keeps you gripped to the edge of your seat, the characters are imaginative and well designed and the technical details of the Ringworld itself are impressive to eveyone who understands suspension bridges. Larry Niven, I congragulate you on your writing skills!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic read, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ringworld Engineers (Paperback)
A great book got through it in 3 days though *spoiler alert* had a quite sad ending.........

A great sequel to ringworld! =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible follow up to Ringworld, 17 July 2011
This review is from: Ringworld Engineers (Paperback)
While Ringworld was a great book - adventure, suspense, that didnt reveal everything and kept you thinking, this is one of the worst sequels ever written. It looks like Larry saw many episodes of Buffy the vampire slayer and the newer Star Trek, and wrote a book based on it. Why else would he put in interspecies sex - every time the hero meets another specie, they want to have sex with him. Oooh, what a stud. And there also vampires who, yes you guessed it, want to have sex with you.

While the original story was a great book about the fall of a civilization, this is a cheap book in the vein of soap dramas. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as good as Ringworld, 9 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ringworld Engineers (Paperback)
This is a very good book with plenty of ideas and a good plot, although its not quite as good as its predecessor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the best, 22 Sep 2003
By 
Benny (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This is the sequel to Ringworld. It is an absolute must to read. One of the best books I have read.
This is truly vintage Larry Niven and one of the reasons he's so popular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ringworld Engineers
Ringworld Engineers by Larry Niven (Paperback - 12 Aug 1982)
7.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews