Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blown away
This series of books is mind blowing. Robert Jordan has created a world that feels so real, dangerous and awe-inspiring that there have been moments where I have literally exclaimed out loud as I have been reading. The tension he builds up in each story is quite simply brilliant- I couldn't put the book down, it was just so good. As you see Rand al'Thor go through his...
Published on 7 Aug 2002 by emmat79

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dragon Reborn - Part 3
Another good read by Jordan but one not without its faults. The main character practically disappears from the entire book and I found the climax, bringing together 3 or 4 main plot lines to be disappointingly underdeveloped. That's not to say it's not enjoyable, but as Jordan spent 600 pages plus getting there, it seems peculiar that the story threads were cut short so...
Published on 2 May 2007 by D. J. Matthews


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dragon Reborn - Part 3, 2 May 2007
By 
D. J. Matthews (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dragon Reborn: Book 3 of the Wheel of Time: 3/12 (Mass Market Paperback)
Another good read by Jordan but one not without its faults. The main character practically disappears from the entire book and I found the climax, bringing together 3 or 4 main plot lines to be disappointingly underdeveloped. That's not to say it's not enjoyable, but as Jordan spent 600 pages plus getting there, it seems peculiar that the story threads were cut short so suddenly! Rand proclaiming himself to be the Dragon Reborn is the ideal platform for Jordan's excellent desciptive narrative skills to come to the fore; instead we get a few lines, whereas 200 pages back we are fortunate enough to have almost an entire chapter on the workings of the White Tower's kitchens! (Perhaps a slight exaggeration!) This is perhaps something of a 'filler' book between the superior Book 2 -The Great Hunt, and Book 4 but in summary this remains a good book within a great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blown away, 7 Aug 2002
This review is from: The Dragon Reborn: Book 3 of the Wheel of Time: 3/12 (Mass Market Paperback)
This series of books is mind blowing. Robert Jordan has created a world that feels so real, dangerous and awe-inspiring that there have been moments where I have literally exclaimed out loud as I have been reading. The tension he builds up in each story is quite simply brilliant- I couldn't put the book down, it was just so good. As you see Rand al'Thor go through his reluctant rise to power- a power beyond any kind that I have ever read before- you share his fears, his weary resignation as he begins to accept that he is fated to be much, much more than just an ordinary shepherd, and you also share in his amazement as he learns exactly what he is capable of. When ignorant, arrogant people throughout the story (there are many) underestimate him and he shows them exactly what he's really made of and makes them wish they'd never been born you cannot help but think "yesss! Go Rand go!"- you cannot help but feel smug on Rand's behalf at those moments. The Wheel of Time is a thoroughly satisfying novel, more so because every single character is complex, and have faults and weaknesses as well as strengths. The scale of this story is so epic it will take your breath away. I enjoyed reading this much much more than Lord of the Rings and will likely read it over and over again. I cannot recommend this series of books too highly, they are fantastic, truly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the best of the set but does wet your appetite to continue on with the saga, not enough of Rand in this one and too much of the three women who are plain annoying most of the time. Will certainly read the next book to find out what happens to Rand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating, 27 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been reading the wheel of time series and its incredibly frustrating that the kindle version has so many typos and punctuation faults. Your trying to read as fast as you can as the book is so good but the faults slow you up and confuse you.
So great book but poor kindle version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story, poor e-book, 7 Mar 2011
This was my first e-book so I was really excited to begin it. I understand the prices for kindle books are set by the publisher, so amazon is in no way to blame for the price being the same as the paperback version, but I'd like to point out that for this reason the publisher should ensure the quality of the book is the same. There were so many spelling errors, not just names (Perrin spelt three different ways on the same screen, 'Venn' instead of Verin) but also random words or letters appearing mid-text. The story itself is great, and I'm sure if it was in paperback I would have rated it higher, just such a shame the kindle version was so poorly edited, if at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best in the series so far..., 16 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Dragon Reborn: Book 3 of the Wheel of Time: 3/12 (Mass Market Paperback)
... though obviously I'd recommend you read them in order.
Certain writers are fond of certain words and phrases, Anne Rice, for example has a fondness for the word 'preternatural' well it seems as if Robert Jordan has a fondness for bosoms.
He certainly doesn't mention them on every page, but since it was pointed out to me, I notice every time he mentions the phrase 'she folded her arms under her breasts.' Only a male fantasy writer would say that, as to any woman it would be obvious where you would fold your arms... but still, I'm enjoying the series immensely.
A disappointment is how little Rand, who seemed to be the hero/lead protagonist of the first two novels, actually features in the novel. His absence does give the other characters a chance to shine though, Mat in particular benefits from a move to the centre stage.
Robert Jorden is an often inventive writer and I particularly liked the idea of the Gray Men, but you'll have to read the book to find out who and what they are.
The climax of this novel is the best so far, after the rather tacked on ending of 'Eye of the World' and the too dream based confrontation of 'The Great Hunt.'
Here all the plot strands converge, and not one, but two, innovative and exciting use of dreams work well for me, in contrast to the previous dreams of the earlier novels. Not everything is resolved, but then that's the beauty of reading a series like this...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable chapter, 11 April 2006
By 
Mr. G. Battle (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dragon Reborn: Book 3 of the Wheel of Time: 3/12 (Mass Market Paperback)
The Dragon Reborn is an intimidatng fantasy book to emerge yourself in unless you've read the previous Wheel of Time books. Although the first fifty pages are a disguised recap, I'd seriously suggest starting with book one. The second book meandered along the story and in retrospect it was really a great set up for book three. Here we follow the divergent storylines of the company, which is fragmented and either running towards danger, running away from it, or just plain creating it. There's more urgent feel to the story here, especially in the last third of the book, where the entwined lives of the chracters create a web which draws the reader in. It's well written fantasy, further enlarging a world in which an epic battle between good and evil rages and creates a feeling of dread not apparent in the earlier books. It closes off a central storyline, to ensure the series is not just teasing the reader, and creates some more hooks which will leave you anticipating the following books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Dragon reborn: Book 3 of the wheel of time, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dragon Reborn: Book 3 of the Wheel of Time: 3/12 (Mass Market Paperback)
Part 3 of a very good series of books. Would captivate anyone who is into fantasy with magic.Buy all 13 books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliiant read, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really love this story and I love the excitement I feel as I get transported into the book and feel as if I am there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read, can see where recent series get their inspiration from. Took a chapter to get into and I didn't really put it down until I'd finished it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dragon Reborn: Book 3 of the Wheel of Time: 3/12
The Dragon Reborn: Book 3 of the Wheel of Time: 3/12 by Robert Jordan (Mass Market Paperback - 10 Dec 1992)
8.69
Usually dispatched within 9 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews