Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Humans and Aliens in Eden
This tremendous series continues with the third book in the Rama series. At the end of Rama II three astronauts we left trapped in a huge cylindrical spacecraft heading off towards one of our closest stars.
The first fifth of the novel is presented in the form of Nicole des Jardine's diary and is probably the highlight. It tells of their 12 year journey to "The...
Published on 5 Dec 2001 by Colin Neal

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars STODGY, DULL START BUT WORTH STICKING WITH TO THE END
It's often said of certain authors that they could write a shopping list and still get an advance of 100K for it. I must say this is not Mr. Clarke at his best and certainly this third instalment of the "Rama" series is no where near as good as the first book - however, it's still head and shoulders above "Rama II". The begining of this story of...
Published on 14 May 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Back on form....mostly, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garden Of Rama (Paperback)
It's safe to assume that if you're looking at buying this book then you've been through the masterpiece of the original Rama followed by, in my opinion, the absolute crushing disappointment of Rama 2. To cut to the point - this book, while far from perfect, is much closer to the original and is head and shoulders above Rama 2.

Don't be put off by the intimidating length - there's much more content, much less veering off into dream sequences (hooray!) and it begins in a way that really drew me in, just like the original. It maintains a fairly steady momentum despite becoming just a bit too far fetched in the middle in my mind. Without spoiling too much, I was quite let down by the explanation behind the Rama spacecraft itself, though there's plenty bigger places to explore.

The last third of the book approaches the quality of the original despite being quite different in tone and subject. It becomes much darker as the ending approaches, culminating in a great cliffhanger. Unlike Rama 2 this was satisfying given what had come before.

It would still benefit from some trimming down and a bit more explanation in parts though. But stick with it and you will be rewarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The story continues..., 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book. It was a long time since I read the original Randevous with Rama and Rama 2. The social implications of creating a 'new' society were sadly appropriate to current world activities and gloomy, but individual endeavours, love and Faith shine through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good value book, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garden Of Rama (Paperback)
A really excellent book, which carries on really well from the prequel. Well worth reading. Should be made into a film with the other 3 in series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Someone has tried to write a 'chariacter' novel- big mistake, 26 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: Garden Of Rama (Paperback)
Loved the first Rama novel; number 2 something of a disappointment- this one is a major let down. What I liked in the first 2 is the mystery and the sense of weird erieness; the inexplicable killings and the strange surreal architecture; also the loneliness and emptiness.

These elements do appear in the first half of this book- I loved the description of Nichole venturing ito the Avian lair and walking down miles of empty corridor before coming to a solitary door. Yup these bits make me tingled with anticipation...

However i was cruely let down because the 2nd half is a sort of commune experience in which 2000 people are crammed on board Rama and it becomes one of those 'all-the-characters-rub-along'. There's no sci-fi at all, it's all character unraveling done so badly as to be incredibly dull. I didn't care for any of these boring non-entities and found myself skipping huge chunks of back-story (which lost nothing as far as narrative was concerned)

And don't even get me started on the rissible HIV/AIDS analogue- talk about clumbsy preaching.

So- all in all a dud. Over long, boring. My editorial advice would have been cut out all the character work and stick with the sci-fi.

Could do better boys

Over and Out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Trilogy, 8 April 2011
This review is from: Garden Of Rama (Paperback)
As good as Rama II though still not as good as the 1st novel. I particularly enjoyed the accurate portrayal of the human species behaviour so true. Agent Smith was so right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST BUY, 11 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. R. M. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Garden Of Rama (Paperback)
The best and most beleivable sci fi I have ever read. A truly excellent book series.
ONE WARNING! Make sure you buy the 1st book Rama Revealed first. Stick with it because at the end of the 4th book you will be wondering whether you will ever be able to find such class again!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Least favourite of the series, 5 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Garden Of Rama (Paperback)
I would just like to reassure people wo are possibly reading the series out of order that this book is not representative of the others. This book starts off following the the same interesting premise as the others, namely the interaction of a group of humans with an adavanced society who is technologically and physically light years away from them, of whom they know little about but who they are prepared to trust with their lives. I personally loved the first book, liked the second one - more for the story than the actual writing, but this one was a disappointment. The beginning was interesting, the New Eden part book was rubbish and the ending really sparked my interest and made sure I will read the next one. I disliked the New Eden part so much as I thought it became a book about politics and petty humans who had no point in the book, it lost the sci fi track that I enjoyed so much in the other books and could have been set in any town in the world. I appreciate that the authors may have been making the point that the humans were not yet ready for extra solar system travel and contact with other species but this wasn't where I thought the book was going and for me it seemed to get a little more on track at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Rubbish (and that's putting it politely!), 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While "Rendezvous with Rama" was ground breaking science fiction, I can only describe the sequels as Tedious and second rate sleaze novels. Don't waste your time or money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Getting better, 30 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Garden Of Rama (Paperback)
I would say, read this book if you have read the first two. The first is a masterpiece, the second is almost junk. This is an improvement. You have to read it if you intend to buy the fourth and final book of this saga. Mind that the book number 4 is quite good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome! to say the least, ACC at is best., 5 Feb 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Garden Of Rama (Paperback)
READ THIS BOOK , if you have read the first two in the series then read this book if you havent then read it anyway, Tells the tale of how three humans got stranded on a alien spacecraft, or was it alien?? shows how they come across all kinds of mystrerys that have to be revealed, it is really awe inspiring, second to none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Garden Of Rama
Garden Of Rama by Gentry Lee (Paperback - 6 Dec 1999)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews