Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Complex characters
As one reviewer below has mentioned, this book does indeed take a while to grab your attention. For me it took at least 300 pages to really get going but once it did there was no putting it down.
Trollope's great trick is to get you to care about people you only half like and partially approve of. He very skillfully shifts your sympathies around from one...
Published on 9 Jan 2006 by bookpike

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of Penguin's worst e-book productions
Penguin should hang their collective heads in shame charging 7.95 for one of the worst printed e-books I have come across. I have complained to them on their website and received no response. Are they too embarrassed? Look at the alledged facsimile title page on the Kindle sample: riddled with misprints in a few lines. Every page of the book is awash with...
Published on 19 Mar 2012 by M. Scott Gray


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Complex characters, 9 Jan 2006
As one reviewer below has mentioned, this book does indeed take a while to grab your attention. For me it took at least 300 pages to really get going but once it did there was no putting it down.
Trollope's great trick is to get you to care about people you only half like and partially approve of. He very skillfully shifts your sympathies around from one character to another until by the end of the book you percieve them all fully rounded, with faults and virtues equally. You can even manage a small corner of sympathy for the most clearly 'bad' character in the book George Vavasor.
The other great thing about Trollope is his enormous understanding of women, their social position and the choices they face. What would he make of women today?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Passionate, wise and surprisingly entertaining, 23 Jan 2007
I started reading the Palliser novels after seeing a review describing them as "still the best description of British political life". They do, indeed, contain a lot of politics - particularly the later volumes, "Phineas Finn" and "Phineas Redux"; and this remains astonishingly contemporary. But the most up-to-date aspect of this extraordinary series of books is the sexual politics, as a series of vividly drawn women and men struggle to find happiness between social convention and sexual attraction. "Can You Forgive Her", which features the headstrong Lady Glencora Palliser and the intense Alice Vavasor both torn between desirable rakes and steady pillars of society, is to my mind one of the best of the series. It's also very funny, alive with irony and sophisticated wit.

For: beautiful writing, unforgettable characters, entertaining read.

Against: nothing. But it is quite long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An introduction to the Pallisers, 25 Feb 2001
By 
Mr. Mark Bannerman (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The central story of this novel follows the fortunes of Alice Vavasor as she wavers between two men and two lifestyles. The aptly named Mr Grey has the merit of truly caring for Alice rather than her money whereas her cousin George's suit seems based on ambition, freedom from debt and a desire to outdo his rival. The choices seem simple to the reader but Alice's stubborn nature is combined with a fickle moodiness that makes her follow a more complex path. Her attachment to her cousin thus seems harder and harder to understand as it becomes clear she guesses that a spiteful greed and hatred underlies his outer veneer. Later in the story, however, the light from the flawed character of Alice is almost lost in the glare from the vibrant Glencora, wife of the rich and powerful politician Plantagenet Palliser. Lady Glencora has already faced a very similar choice to that of Alice and is now trying to live with that decision. The Pallisers almost steal the show; setting-up the reader to enjoy the series of "Palliser" novels of which this is the first. This tale combines Trollope's excellent use of language with some memorable characters and events, all of which should hold the attention of anyone who enjoys classic satirical fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece! utterly brilliant!, 23 April 2008
By 
H. Lacroix (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Can you forgive her" is the best Trollope book I have ever read and although I am far from having read them all, I must have been through at least 12 of them. In "Can you forgive her?" spirited Alice Vavasor cannot reconcile herself to the idea of marrying the man she truly loves because his sedate style of life doesn't agree with Alice's idea that people who have knowledge and opportunity should make something useful of their lives.As a woman she cannot take an active part in political life and is therefore determined to be the helpmate of someone willing to take risks and to serve his fellowmen. She becomes engaged to her cousin whose political ambitions she respects but finds herself distraught at having promised herself to a man she cannot love... and then starts the long campaign of Mr John Grey, jilted lover of the resolute Alice, who is unable to come to terms with the fact that the woman he cherishes is not to be his and who is determined he shall overcome all obstacles and marry her after all.
The book is peopled with unforgettable characters from the wonderful aunt Greenow to the memorable farmer Cheeseacre who is desperate to get married but whose ideas of romance consist in telling the woman he covets how lucky she is to have been selected as his prospective bride...
And we meet Glencora Palliser, Alice's cousin, a young woman who has been married off to a prominent member of the establishemnt and who is deeply unhappy as she cannot forget the good-for-nothing but handsome and blue-eyed Burgo Fitzgerald her heart longs for...and a host of other people just as brilliantly sketched.
It is a very accomplished book, great fun and superbly written , with fewer repetitions than in other Trollope books, a book I have already read 3 times and which I will re read again as I find it incredibly good, and as its heroine, although complicated and sometimes annoying, is one of the best creations ever brought to life. You cannot help but feel for Alice whose unhappiness is all of her own doing but who will not resign herself to a life of empty social obligations and who yearns for more... and you have to respect her for that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Follow your heart, 13 July 2010
By 
Gregory S. Buzwell "bagpuss007" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
In this, the first of the Palliser novels, Anthony Trollope tells three inter-twined stories. In the first the lovely but indecisive Alice Vavasor dithers awkwardly between the two men in her life - the saintly John Grey (upstanding, respectable, wealthy and, yes, a bit dull) and her cousin George (dashing, charismatic, charming and about as acceptable in polite society as a nine-pound note). In the second the coquettish Mrs Greenow - perpetually dabbing at her eyes in posed melancholy rememberance of her rather uninspiring deceased husband - teases and toys with the affections of her two suitors: the wealthy but oily Mr Cheesacre and the charming but thoroughly shabby Captain Bellfield - hero of many non-existent battles in places no-one can ever find on a map. Finally, in the third strand of the narrative, Trollope tells the tale of Plantagenet Palliser and his efforts to rise in the government of the day while keeping his delightfully free-spirited wife, the very lovely Lady Glencora, under some sort of control.

As ever with Trollope the real joy of the novel lies in the characters. Somehow the people in his books are every bit as memorable as those in Dickens and yet they always manage to remain on the right side of caricature. My personal favourite in Can You Forgive Her? is Mrs Greenow, perpetually playing her two suitors off against each other. At one point Captain Bellfield goes down on bended knee and pursues the widow around her drawing room professing his undying love only to be met with Mrs Greenow's superbly withering comment 'You've pushed all the chairs about, you stupid man'. She's fabulous and she steals every scene in which she appears.

There is, however, a serious message beneath all the comedy. Trollope shows how a woman in Victorian Britain who, for whatever reason, does not have a husband could easily find herself in an awkward situation, both financially and also in terms of the role she plays in society. He also manages to highlight the corrupt nature of politics, where money speaks louder than good intentions, and shows, in the character of Burgo Fitzgerald, how a broken heart can more than off-set the advantages of birth and status. The financial aspects of society are shown in full, but equally Trollope shows how ultimately it is love and friendship that define our lives.

Can You Forgive Her? is a lovely book, full of humour and drama (the fox hunting scene is superbly dramatic, and Mrs Greenow's picnic with her bickering admirers is a comic masterpiece) but with an important message at its heart. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 6 Aug 2008
By 
Didier (Ghent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first book of the so-called 'Palliser-' or 'political' novels by Anthony Trollope, and if the next 5 volumes are as good as this one that would be nothing short of amazing. If you've read the Barsetshire-chronicles, you'll immediately recognize the inimitable Trollope-style, with its painstakingly detailed analyses of the characters' feelings and emotions. And therefore, remote in time as the settings of these novels may be, ever so much is recognizable and relevant even in the 21st century. I found myself constantly thinking 'I would have felt so too', sympathizing with some characters and disliking others because all of them are painted so life-like you'll feel you've met them in the flesh.

In this particular novel the heroine, Alice Vavasor, is torn between two lovers: her cousin George (ambitious and attractive but with a temper) and the stoic gentleman John Grey. She in turn accepts and then rejects both and is unable to forgive herself for being a 'jilt' (hence the title).

There's nothing much sensational about the plot (is there ever with Trollope?) and the pace is slow, much slower probably than what we've become used to, but nevertheless this is a book thoroughly to be enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful, 14 Sep 2011
By 
Stracs "Stracs" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
As a Trollope fan, I was keen to start reading the Palliser series and I have not been disappointed. Like some other reviewers, I found the start of the book a little slow and it took me about 300 pages to really get into the story. It was well worth persisting though, as once I got past this point I was utterly gripped.

I won't surmise the story as others have done so very well. I would say though, that this story has more twists and suprises than Trollope usually gives in my opinion. Usually the story is fairly simple and it is the characters that really occupy his and the readers attention. In Can You Forgive Her? the story is a little more complex than usual, but with the always brilliant Trollope characters alongside, and it really benefits from this. The story also provides a wonderful insight into the political workings of Victorian England and how our political system has got to where it is now, but is never boring for it. However, the main focus is the social and sexual politics of the age and this is acutely observed throughout. Trollope really manages to balance all of these elements of his story to create something really powerful and gripping.

The real strength of the book though is of course the characters, and in particular the Pallisers. Trollope manages to create such rounded characters that even for those who you really want to hate, such as George Vavasor or Burgo Fitzgerald, you still have a kernel of sympathy for them by the end of the book. None are completely bad, none are completely angelic and it is this which makes them so human and real. Trollope describes the characters motivations so perfectly that you feel like you know the people and can understand why they act the way they do, even if you cannot agree.

There is also a real humour and warmth about this book, and particularly so because of the Palliers. Glencora is a wonderful example of a Victorian heroine - witty, wry, passionate, articulate, self-deprecating, a keen observer of society. It is easy to see why Plantagenet falls in love with her so, and he himself is a literary hero to challenge Mr Darcy. I suspect by the end of the series I will be thoroughly in love with him, and want to be Glencora' best friend! These two characters are so wonderfully introduced in this book that I cannot wait to follow them through the series and see what lies in store for them and their marriage. This alone shows what a brilliant story teller Trollope is - he just keeps you wanting more.

I would thoroughly recommend this book to anyone - there is something for everyone here, be it story or character. Persist through the first section of the book, do not be afraid of the old-fashioned English (it is very easy to understand) and you will be well rewarded by a literary delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can You Forgive Her?, 3 Feb 2014
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Alice Vavasor cannot make up her mind whether to marry her cousin, George Vavasor or John Grey. They are two completely different men. Her cousin would spend all her money on furthering his ambition of getting into Parliament but John Grey would husband both her and her fortune. Alice engages herself to each of them in turn before she finally makes up her mind. Her friend, Lady Glencora Palliser is bored with her suitable marriage to rising politician Plantagenet Palliser and tempted by the importunities of her former lover, penniless Burgo Fitzgerald.

I love this author’s female characters. They are rounded believable people and if they walked into a room you would recognise them immediately. The dilemmas for all the female characters are similar to those still faced by women today in the twenty first century. Should they marry for love or for money? Will dull and reliable suit them better than wild and romantic? How should they occupy themselves in the everyday world when many occupations are closed to them?

Alice tries to live up to the prevailing standards of honour and she must forgive herself for not doing so before she can find happiness. Glencora needs to decide once and for all whether vows and responsibilities take precedence over the inclination to consider the world well lost for love. This is a long novel by modern standards but the nuances brought out in the text make it well worth the effort and time taken to read it. Anyone who thinks that the Victorians are humourless prudes would do well to read Trollope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trollope begins his Palliser novels., 24 Jun 2002
By 
John Austin "austinjr@bigpond.net.au" (Kangaroo Ground, Australia) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Having almost completed chronicling the ecclesiastical affairs of Barchester in 1864, Anthony Trollope began a further series of six novels, this time depicting the English political scene of his day in general and the members of the Palliser family in particular.
This one, the first of the six novels, carries a title that carries no hint of any political content whatsoever. Indeed, the "her" of the title is a perverse young lady, Alice, who refuses for almost 900 pages to marry the man whom all agree is so eminently suitable. Alice is one of at least four women that Trollope presents, all of whom struggle to answer the question, "What should a woman do with her life?" As usual with his female characters, Trollope is a sensitive, sure and unsentimental narrator. The business of the men, and the political issues they address, seem to consist in keeping solvent, gaining a seat and an office in parliament, and sniffing out any parliamentary intrigues. All of which might suggest that this is one early Victorian novel that today's feminists could pick up, read, and enjoy.
I enjoy any Trollope novel immensely. No matter how slow moving, no matter how often he intrudes to comment on his characters and tell us what he does and does not know about them, every page of his novels and perhaps every sentence carries the stamp of a great novelist and language craftsman at work. Nevertheless, I must admit that "Can You Forgive Her?" has featured by my bedside for more than a year. This is not, therefore, a recommendation for something to quickly and thrillingly absorb the reader. It takes a long time to get to the novelist's final words, "But as they all ... have forgiven her, I hope that they who have followed her story to its close will not be less generous".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first of the Palliser novels, 3 Mar 2012
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I always enjoy an Anthony Trollope novel. This is the first one in the series of Palliser novels (published in 1864), a series of loosely linked politically-based novels which all contain Plantagenet Palliser and his wife Lady Glencora, and various other characters who move in their world of Victorian England.

In this novel, we are introduced to Lady Glencora as she struggles with the necessity of her marriage to Palliser, who seems a cold man and not at all someone who she could be `in love' with. In parallel, we have the story of Alice Vavasor as she struggles with her own issues of love and marriage - can she be happy with her cousin George, or with the staid and apparently unemotional John Grey. We also have the marital (mis)adventures of Mrs Greenow, the coquettish widow attempting to put her own life plans in place, and organise those of Kate Vavasor, Alice's cousin and George's sister.

As always in a Trollope novel, the characters are beautifully drawn and the story is engagingly written; while not much happens in the way of grand action, the stories revolve around the characters motivations, emotions, attitudes and life decisions. Characters that are not immediately likeable are explained to the reader; characters that seem happy and carefree are shown to have deeper and darker depths in their psyches. These are real-life dramas that Victorian women (and men) had to live through in a society that judged their every move, and Trollope, as always, captures the atmosphere and the world about which he writes vividly.

A highly recommended Trollope novel, and a good introduction to the Palliser series - which continues in Phineas Finn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Can You Forgive Her? (Everyman's Library Classics)
Can You Forgive Her? (Everyman's Library Classics) by Anthony Trollope (Hardcover - 20 Oct 1994)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews