Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very handsome edition
Dante is a must. The Divine Comedy is fascinating, incisive and reads like a real adventure.
About this edition:
* Allen Mandelbaum's translation is simply wonderful.
* Top marks for accessibility: The book reads very easily and is very well annotated (some 250 pages of notes)
* This edition is highly practical (it contains all three parts), durable...
Published on 9 Mar 2005 by steven134

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars This is the Longfellow translation - not Mandelbaum ...
Once again, I'm led to a Kindle version different from the hardback/paperback version I was considering. Please, Amazon, fix this
Published 2 months ago by NickG


Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very handsome edition, 9 Mar 2005
This review is from: The Divine Comedy (Everyman's Library Classics) (Hardcover)
Dante is a must. The Divine Comedy is fascinating, incisive and reads like a real adventure.
About this edition:
* Allen Mandelbaum's translation is simply wonderful.
* Top marks for accessibility: The book reads very easily and is very well annotated (some 250 pages of notes)
* This edition is highly practical (it contains all three parts), durable and aesthetically pleasing.
* Contains 42 of Boticelli's 15th century illustrations
Simply great value for money
If you want to get acquainted with this masterpiece then this is the edition to go for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Direct and Lively Translation, 13 Mar 2007
By 
Paul D "Paul" (Darwen, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Divine Comedy (Everyman's Library Classics) (Hardcover)
Dante was an exile in his own time. In his great work, he descends to the underworld where he encounters his poetic hero Virgil who guides him through the circles of Hell, up Mount Purgatory, and to the gates of Paradise, where his role is taken by Dante's vision of the Ideal, Beatrice. In Paradise Dante meets the spirits of the blessed.

This is a magnificent work, considered by some the joint centre of the Western Canon along with Shakespeare. It is peerless among works of literature, offering a lifetime of deep reading. Mandelbaum is to be congratulated on producing a direct, lively, musical translation which leads the eye and the mind ever onward. The presentation is first-rate, pleasing to the eye and hard-wearing, and comes with many of Boticelli's illustrations. I have tried and failed with other translations, but Mandelbaum's is eminently readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard work, but rewarding, 11 Mar 2009
By 
E. A. Parfitt (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Divine Comedy (Everyman's Library Classics) (Hardcover)
Reading Dante is never going to be easy. The book is 500 years old, written in a world very different from ours and for a very specific purpose and audience. Considered by many scholars to be the most brilliant book ever, bar none, it has a lot to live up to. And Dante delivers. His incredible knowledge of the classics and contemporary Florence mean you will have to look up many names and references in the notes at the back, and elsewhere -thank the lord for Wikipedia with all its faults. His erudite style and profound subject matter force you to take it slow, and this translation which appears both scholarly and artistic to someone unfamiliar with Italian or Latin has all rthe hallmarks of an almost impossible job well done. So yes, if you want to know why this work is ranked up there with Da Vinci and Michelangelo: take the time to find out. You will not be disappointed as you improve your acquaintance with heaven, hell and purgatory. And this particular edition is well presented, nicely bound and very fairly priced.The Botticelli drawings that are also included deserve better paper but are a welcome extra. For anyone with more than a passing interest in the renaissance, Dante is a must-read, and this edition should provide hard-back enjoyment at a paperback price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the only book of this length that is worth finishing., 14 Jun 2011
By 
Paul Tighe "o the humanities" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Divine Comedy (Everyman's Library Classics) (Hardcover)
Firstly -the physical book: It's hardback, with crisp, clean paper and a bookmark sewn into the spine. Good production.

Secondly -the story: Before boring you with how much I treasure this book (and the epic twin visions of the march of history and life in the afterlife it constructs) I want to look at some of the things that other reviewers might miss.

This book will lead you to other classical works. It is heavily referential i.e. it refers to the works of other writers before Dante, many of them writing thousands of years before Dante wrote. Virgil, Homer, Augustine, Cicero -the author refers to the theories and mythologies laid down by these earlier writers, so that a close read will bring you on a mini-tour of classical and pre-classical writing. Some is scientific, some is mythological, some religious, some historical -the breadth of literature that Dante draws upon to construct his own epic is vast. I found that by the time I had finished, I had resolved to read a half dozen or so other books which I thought would interest me. It has cemented my interest in the classics.

Also, though Dante sets out a very precise blueprint for what the afterlife is like, the state of religion etc.: That does not mean that the reader cannot interact with the story to play with these questions today. Dante's story demands that the reader reflect on the great questions -Dante offers some answers, poses some questions, but most importantly is engaged with the key issues. His vision of the development of the world is at times absurd and parochial, and at other times majestic, but at least he did not back away from the big questions.

Finally, I want to simply state that I find the vast struggle with competing ideas of science, religion, history etc to be a rousing read. This is one man's vision of what underpins the world -it is not mine, it is probably not yours, but it is Dante's answer to the questions we all ask.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars everyman classic, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Divine Comedy (Everyman's Library Classics) (Hardcover)
I adore these books, they are beautifully made, and, if looked after, will last many years, and the price is very good. As for the content, well that I suppose is up to the reader. I like the classics. Is it a window into the past, or just like some old vintage car, quaint, but actually awful compared to modern cars. I know my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This is the Longfellow translation - not Mandelbaum ..., 20 May 2014
By 
NickG (Milton Keynes UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Once again, I'm led to a Kindle version different from the hardback/paperback version I was considering. Please, Amazon, fix this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I clicked on a link from the Everyman Dante Divine Comedy (Madlelbaum) Amazon page to buy that translation for my Kindle App, since I have it in hardback and like it. When it opened it was a translation by Longfellow - not for me I'm afraid. Bit naughty not to make it clear exactly what you'll get. I've sent it back and will hopefully get a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable, 7 Jan 2003
This review is from: The Divine Comedy (Everyman's Library Classics) (Hardcover)
Read it for its own merits - which are numerous.
But also read it to understand the myriad of references that you will have stumbled across uncomprehendingly in your reading to date.
It is a magnificent feat of imagination, of scholarship and of faith and one of the few books that can genuinely be said to stand unrivalled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 86 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book rules, 24 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Divine Comedy (Everyman's Library Classics) (Hardcover)
Basically,this book rules.I did it for an essay in English and I just got totally absorbed,I'm only 17 and haven't really read any other book like this 'cos I don't like them,but this one is my undisputed favorite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A plea for Dante's version, 14 Dec 2007
This review is from: The Divine Comedy (Everyman's Library Classics) (Hardcover)
Any English version that doesn't bother to print the parallel Italian text is to my mind a waste of time (and money). Dante's Italian is not difficult to grapple with for the semi-literate English reader, given a crib and a prompt, and his language is poetry, intended surely to be declaimed, sung (his word, "canto").
Why can't Everyman use the format of their old, turn-of-the-century Temple Classics edition, in three "vest pocket"-sized volumes, a vademecum for a generation? This is the working edition praised by masters such as T.S. Eliot, where a literal prose translation (now of course dated) faces the better craftsman's text, with a useful critical apparatus of footnotes and glosses.
We always have Charles Singleton's scholarly edition for serious study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Divine Comedy (Everyman's Library Classics)
The Divine Comedy (Everyman's Library Classics) by Dante Alighieri (Hardcover - 25 May 1995)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews