Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long overdue read of a classic
It is interesting that my reading of Mark Twain's classic stories has coincided with a literary argument about a newly published version that has censored some of the terms that are not politically correct in the modern world (I should emphasise that this is the original version with the naughty words). I am sure opinion is divided about such a move, but I cannot help...
Published on 13 Jan 2011 by N. Butt

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great story but sections missing
Excellent story but half way through Huckleberry Finn sections of text are missing. Had to buy a diffrent version from Amazon to continue reading.
Published on 11 Mar 2011 by A. Watkins


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars 4 stars for Tom, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this on recommendation of a friend.....Really enjoyed Tom Sawyer ( gets the 4 stars) which I thought was well written and enjoyable to follow.

Not so with Huck Finn. Laboured through it, got there in the end, so your possibly aware that I didnt quite enjoy it as much.

Probably sacrilege to criticize Mark Twain, but, hey, thats just my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book on my Kindle and it gives me so many memories of the first time I read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Engaging and witty book, a little like an American version of Just William but with less refined social niceties.
The author writes from the child's viewpoint so the reader almost becomes one of the gang, but is an outsider looking in.
A recommended light read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic literature, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I hadn't read these books for many years, the opportunity to have both in one volume was too good to be missed, and the stories are as interesting now as they were 50 yrs ago when I first read them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FREE E-BOOK, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
FREE E-BOOK

This is a Free e-book. Therefore anything that has my interest and is free must deserve a 5 star rating even if I never get round to reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars why I love huckleberry finn and tom sawyer, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it reminds me of an American Jennings book anf i really like them both both are very much a typical boys and it makes me wish that my childhood had been filled with adventure, I love the twisted realism of the way tom thinks thye arew projects of there time and so fun to read loved every minute i read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mark Twain, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have not read this since school days. It was a fantastic read then and as soon as I finish Tom Sawyer I will read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The joy of reading books !, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Sawyer And Huckleberry Finn (Everyman's Library Classics) (Hardcover)
This was a birthday present for a 12-year-old boy. I am hoping the book will excite him enough to get him away from his iPad, Skype and Facebook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tom Sawyer, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A classic that is beautifully written and a poignant reminder of times gone by, It is one book I will read many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tom Sawyer and Hucklebury Finn, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book came promptly and is as described.I've been meaning to read this for some time so looking forward to a good read this winter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tom Sawyer And Huckleberry Finn (Everyman's Library Classics)
£11.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews