Customer Reviews


241 Reviews
5 star:
 (176)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His Favourite
This was Dickens' own personal favourite of all his novels, and here we are presented it with an active table of contents. There is no doubt that this is a great novel and has been admired by Tolstoy and Woolf amongst many authors who have enjoyed it or have been given inspiration due to it. Of all Dickens' novels this is also his most autobiographical.

The...
Published on 4 Jan 2011 by M. Dowden

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars What can I say, a classic but...
A classic of course, but I could not sympathise with the protagonist... touched my intellect but not my heart....I will try something else from Dave...
Published 3 months ago by Bugiolacchi


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His Favourite, 4 Jan 2011
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Copperfield (Kindle Edition)
This was Dickens' own personal favourite of all his novels, and here we are presented it with an active table of contents. There is no doubt that this is a great novel and has been admired by Tolstoy and Woolf amongst many authors who have enjoyed it or have been given inspiration due to it. Of all Dickens' novels this is also his most autobiographical.

The story although long is simple in itself, it is the tale of David Copperfield from his birth through to his maturity, what obstacles he faces in life and what friends he makes. With a whole host of great characters there is nothing to dislike with this tale, and in the case of Betsy Trotwood, were inspired by real people. Betsy was based on Mary Strong who lived at Broadstairs and really did chase the boys and their donkeys off her lawn, resulting in legal proceedings being initiated. Other characters and events were based on real happenings.

If you like to read for pleasure and want to immerse yourself in something that is really great then you can't really go wrong with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Tale of Two Halves, 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Copperfield (Kindle Edition)
I've now read D.C. three times and it gets better every time. It was apparently his own favourite book and certainly seems to draw heavily on his own past at times. But ... there's always a point, just after the first half of the book, when it loses its initial momentum and brilliance - basically as David starts to grow up and become an adult. And at times it lapses into the mushy sentiment and melodrama that is always a bit of a mountain to climb for modern readers. In other words, it's at its best when David is a child, and the vulnerability that Dickens must have experienced so painfully himself, is always present. But there's always such a wonderful parade of characters throughout the book: Betsy Trotwood is one of the best female characters throughout his novels (and one of the few convincing ones to my mind) with her fear of intruding donkeys and blunt ways, and the sympathetically drawn mentally-fragile Mr Dick. The Micawbers, of course, and 'umble' Uriah Heap, who has to be one of the most loathsome villains in the history of fiction, and then there's the terrifying Murdstones, who never get the come-uppance you feel they deserve.
Although the narrator is the adult looking back, one feels that he never loses the boy he describes so well, and that I'm sure is probably true of Dickens, who unlike most adults, retained that inner child to an unusual degree. The caricatures that are such a hallmark of Dickens style, singling out oddities and building on them to create characters, is straight out of a child's mind, and never does he do it better than here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAGNIFICENT NOVEL, 29 Feb 2004
By 
Amazon Customer (Leicester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This book is amazing and touching. Normally I would not attempt to read such a big book but I felt like a challenging read and I can not put it down. It is the story of David's life and I would recommend it to anybody since it is the only novel that has ever brought a tear to my eye. For me, this is not a book that I can read and return to a library, I need a copy of the magic within. The language may be difficult to understand at first but if you are patient, you will get the hang of it and it will be many times more rewarding. When reading a book, I like to read the story and come to the end of the book so that I know how it ends but with David Copperfield, of course I want to come to the end, but I also want to make the book last. I have been reading it for a month now and I still have 1/4 of the book to read. Because it is taking to long, it feels to me as though I am following David slowly through his life and I believe that is how this novel should be read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is not just a book, 14 Feb 2008
By 
Justix (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not just a book, it's more of a whole of life experience. You will have to prepare yourself for the long haul and almost breathe your way through Mr Copperfield's life. But it is worth it because it is quite a life story and you will get to know and like or even dislike quite a few people along the way. I read it because I had enjoyed Oliver Twist and Great Expectations and love to understand and appreciate the simplicities and difficulties of the Victorian way of life and the great characters Dickens always invents.... and to be sure, he didn't let me down with this one either.

It's a long read and not for the faint hearted in any way. Some passages are long and by todays standards very cumbersome and long winded but if you like a good story, great characters and fancy a step out of the digital age for a while then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put it on your Kindle Library Today, 10 Jun 2011
This review is from: David Copperfield (Kindle Edition)
David Copperfield is the classic coming of age story, and supposedly Dickens favourite novel out of all his brilliant work. David as a boy grows up without a father and is raised by his mother and her loyal maid, Clara Peggoty. All is good until David's mother marries the indignant Mr. Murdstone. David is sent off to Boarding school, run by a cruel schoolmaster Mr. Creakle. David's mother dies and at the age of 10, the boy is sent to work in London. He runs away to search for his aunt, Betsy Trotwood, who eventually adopts him. The second part of this novel shows the grown-up David Copperfiel apprenticed as a clerk to work in a law firm. He meets his boss's daughter Dora and falls in love and we meet the infamous and revolting Lawyer, Uriah Heap. Disaster is around the corner but all will be re-deemed.

Superbly crafted classic that sits invitingly in my Kindle library.

Anon
The Spire Chronicle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Characters brought to life by a great reader., 7 May 2009
Despite a host of different characters, the reader manages to keep it all brilliantly clear, funny, tender and moving. Abridged to cut some of the description but little of the action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece!, 9 Jun 2001
By A Customer
My curiosity about the works of Charles Dickens drew me to this title. All I can say is that if curiosity killed the cat, than it must have been an extremely pleasant way to go! Dickens is a wordsmith of unquestionable mastery and I was astounded by his ability to draw the reader completely into the lives of his characters - to such an extent that we feel each set back and each triumph as keenly as they do. This is also a novel packed with emotion - anyone who can get through it without both laughing and crying must have a heart of stone. David Copperfield is an engrossing book that is rightly viewed as a literary classic - one that everybody should read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Copperfield, 4 Aug 2011
This review is from: David Copperfield (Kindle Edition)
After being traumatised as a 15 year old schoolboy , by being forced to read Great Expectations, a book I did not enjoy. I finally convinced myself that I should attempt to read another Dickens novel. I was captivated by the sheer brilliance of the book. Despite being extremely long compared to modern novels, it is enthralling and keeps your attention all the way through. It takes you through the full gambit of human emotions, containing; humour, pathos, sadness and hope. In addition some of the characters make you feel revulsion , anger, frustration and disappointment. If you have never read a Dickens novel before, read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dickens is not boring!, 6 Mar 2011
This review is from: David Copperfield (Kindle Edition)
Having resisted Dickens for most of my life I finally gave in and read Pickwick Papers and was blown away, but I would absolutely recommend David Copperfield. It is Dickens at his page-turning best with a host of memorable characters and places brought to life in a storyline that surprises at every turn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible and unparalleled reading experience, though very uneven., 27 Oct 2009
I first read "David Copperfield" several years ago, and since then it has remained my favorite book. This is based mainly on the early section of the book, the first 12 chapters, or 160-ish pages, detailing the earliest years of the title character, filled with events so vivid and moving and characters so alive that they can't be forgotten. Many are based on Dickens' own childhood experiences, such as David's employment in a blacking factory, which echoes Dickens' own fate after his father (the original of Mr. Micawber) was imprisoned for debt. Dickens seems to have been scarred for life by the business of the blacking factory, less by what befell him there than by the sense of being abandoned by his parents to a life of menial labour, and the sense of social shame, which was obviously important to Dickens, and is a central aspect of Pip's character in "Great Expectations". The immediacy and evocative power of many of the early episodes is unparalleled, in other Dickens books, or any books by anybody. It's genius without equal.

It must be noted that this is a highly uneven book. One cannot hope to divine the mystery of how the same mind who wrote of, say, David's "memorable birthday" in Chapter IX can also be responsible for the crass emotionalism that peppers the later part of the book (the character of Agnes Wickfield, especially, being the source of grave excesses). Alas, this dichotomy is only too familiar to the habitual reader of Dickens. His flaws are so great as would be fatal to almost any writer, but they are outweighed by his unique gifts, and these gifts are nowhere more in evidence than in parts of "David Copperfield".

Note: I also found Jeremy Tambling's introduction to this Penguin edition to be a particularly interesting and insightful specimen of its kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

David Copperfield (Everyman's Library Classics)
David Copperfield (Everyman's Library Classics) by Charles Dickens (Hardcover - 26 Sep 1991)
10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews