Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


174 of 191 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Overview on HOW to Keep Your Books
Run a small business or planning one? Need to build competence in setting up and running your books? Need to really understand VAT?
This book is the best of the many available. It won’t scare you - you’ll learn a great deal and build confidence.
It's clear and comprehensive. It also addresses finance and accounting matters and the record keeping you...
Published on 20 Aug. 2003 by Zordano

versus
81 of 84 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A document from the dark ages
Oh dear. There are three pages in the appendix that include "useful website addresses", "2005/6 tax rates" and "Computer bookkeeping software".
This is the almost the only evidence I could find that this book has in any way been updated in the last fifty years, although it was allegedly revised as recently as 2003.
All records are supposed to be kept in...
Published on 22 Jan. 2006


Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 84 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A document from the dark ages, 22 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Book-Keeping & Accounting for the Small Business: 7th edition: How to Keep the Books and Maintain Financial Control Over Your Business (Paperback)
Oh dear. There are three pages in the appendix that include "useful website addresses", "2005/6 tax rates" and "Computer bookkeeping software".
This is the almost the only evidence I could find that this book has in any way been updated in the last fifty years, although it was allegedly revised as recently as 2003.
All records are supposed to be kept in hand-written books of account, with the occasional reference to carbon copies. Spreadsheets? They don't even rate a mention.
As an accountant trying to help small businesses, I feel that HowTo Books should withdraw this completely irrelevant volume from sale, as anyone starting up a business who reads this will at best get a headache and at worst follow the instructions and waste a lot of time that should be spent in the 21st century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


174 of 191 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Overview on HOW to Keep Your Books, 20 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Book-Keeping & Accounting for the Small Business: 7th edition: How to Keep the Books and Maintain Financial Control Over Your Business (Paperback)
Run a small business or planning one? Need to build competence in setting up and running your books? Need to really understand VAT?
This book is the best of the many available. It won’t scare you - you’ll learn a great deal and build confidence.
It's clear and comprehensive. It also addresses finance and accounting matters and the record keeping you need in relation to both of these.
It also briefly addresses various available pre-printed paper record keeping books and book-keeping software and offers guidance on where to get these.
I found it invaluable when preparing to get my small retail business off the ground (I read it twice beforehand) and I still use it as a reference work.
This is a newly updated edition of a book I found indispensable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Typical archaic methods of accountants, 5 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book-Keeping & Accounting for the Small Business: 7th edition: How to Keep the Books and Maintain Financial Control Over Your Business (Paperback)
Example: He advocates using exercise books to keep accounts.
In 2006 this is unacceptable and possibly negligent advice.
Use a spreadsheet at a minimum, at least then you can create backups.
The book would be fine if you wish to have the pain of record keeping and accounts by hand, or it were still the 1950s, but it isn't and there is no need to perpetuate the out-dated and laborious methods cited in this book.
I'm going to look instead for a book about computerized accountancy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not realllly what I was looking for....., 19 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Book-Keeping & Accounting for the Small Business: 7th edition: How to Keep the Books and Maintain Financial Control Over Your Business (Paperback)
I'm starting a small business. I figured I'd best brush up on my book-keeping skills so I went to my local Boarders and ended up buying this.

Bit of a dissapointment. Admitedly I've only read the first two chapters in depth, but that's enough for me, and it obviously was for the author, because the first two chapters (well, just the second chapter really) are the only ones that brush upon pure book-keeping. And it doesn't even do that very well. The examples are vaugely supported, but have little to no explanation as to where some of the figures come from. I actually had to get a calculator out to understand exactly what they were trying to illustrate and still came up short.

Don't be fooled by the "Revised and Updated" seal of approval either. Supposedly having been revised in 2003, it only deals with cash or cheque payments, with no consideration of electronic or debit payments. Also in the tiny section on computerised book-keeping it recommends that your computer will most likely have a Windows based operating system which is (and I quote) "a graphical interface which provides an intuitive and efficient work enviroment for your personal computer", ha! Unbelieveable! I bought the book to learn about recording cash flow, not to learn the basics of Personal Computing! It gets better.... it recommends that this intuitive operating system will most likely be Windows ME! Laughable!

But I digress. This book was updated in the sense of a few extra paragraphs to include Limited Liability Partnerships and suchlike, and the rest of the book was obviously left without tweaking.

If your parents want to understand how to balance their cheques and maybe keep financial records of the logers rent then this is the book for them. If thats not what you're looking for (which let's be honest...it's not) then steer well clear!

I'm off to Boarders tomorrow to ask the nice manager guy if he would give me a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not comrehensive and at times confusing, 7 Aug. 2007
By 
F. Hamilton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Book-Keeping & Accounting for the Small Business: 7th edition: How to Keep the Books and Maintain Financial Control Over Your Business (Paperback)
I bought his book as a way to get a basic understanding of book-keeping. The first two chapters are useful if you want to set up a very simple system. Chapter three gives a good overview of VAT but doesn't give enough details about how to create a VAT return, which is not very helpful.

As your business grows, you will want to increase the sophistication of your book-keeping. Unfortunately this is a particularly weak aspect of the book. The chapter on double-entry book-keeping is very poor and I certainly couldn't follow it. You need a good understanding of debits and credits to be able to do double-entries, which if well-explained is easy. But the author doesn't explain it well and the examples confuse things further. By comparison, accountingforeveryone dot com provides a much better explanation and it may be worth buying the online book (though I haven't yet).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good insight, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book-Keeping & Accounting for the Small Business: 7th edition: How to Keep the Books and Maintain Financial Control Over Your Business (Paperback)
Useful book to show me not to be afraid of the number crunching involved in small business. One more piece in the jigsaw to owning my own retail business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book keeping, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book-Keeping & Accounting for the Small Business: 7th edition: How to Keep the Books and Maintain Financial Control Over Your Business (Paperback)
i can now manage my holistic therapy business because i can now understand what i need to do to run a small business, thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great item, 25 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book-Keeping & Accounting for the Small Business: 7th edition: How to Keep the Books and Maintain Financial Control Over Your Business (Paperback)
great item just watt I wanted help with my model making and add to my dvds I wanted for some time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book-Keeping & Accounting for the Small Business: 7th edition: How to Keep the Books and Maintain Financial Control Over Your Business (Paperback)
good useful hints for basic book keeping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very valuable reading., 11 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book-Keeping & Accounting for the Small Business: 7th edition: How to Keep the Books and Maintain Financial Control Over Your Business (Paperback)
Essential to get it right first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews